We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Girls Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Green and be rewarded
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tofino, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Girls Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thank you Hotel Rialto for a perfect fun two night stay! Staff were friendly and helpful our room (a Superior Junior King Suite) was clean with beutiful details and all the amenities you could ask for. Do you want breakfast in bed well there is a breakfast in bed tray with a cusion in a drawer. We ate at Veneto Tapa Lounge the first night which was delicious, very up scale drinks which were fun to try. In thwe morning we ate at Café Veneto also delicious food. This hotel has really done well matching their brand to each aspect of the operation. I hope to stay their again and will not hesitate to recomend it to anyone looking for 5 star service and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    230
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
111
433
58
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 12-night stay in the Hotel Rialto and would definitely stay there again. The hotel is spotlessly clean, stylish and comfortable. The staff are friendly and professional. The beds are extremely comfortable and the housekeeping standards consistently high. The thermostat in our room worked very well, so the air conditioning was always comfortable. We enjoyed many good breakfasts in the friendly atmosphere of the Cafe Veneto so made great use of our coupons! We also visited the Veneto Tapa Lounge on the night of our arrival to enjoy the free cheese platter. The Hotel's downtown location was very convenient for us and was a key reason why we decided to stay there.

Room Tip: When you are booking, email or talk with the helpful front desk staff. They will help you identify a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were so lucky to have Michael greet us at the desk as we checked in. He is extremely knowledgeable of everything downtown Vancouver. Not only did he help us get out of a parking ticket fine, he helped us with our bags - car parking - and directions, he recommended an all vegan Chinese restaurant and wrote down an item for us to try that isn't even on the menu, but a dish they will serve on request. The hotel is new, modern, and tasteful. We had two great days and nights there. By the way, the Chinese restaurant was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Our room was very nice and we really enjoyed the authentic espresso drinks each morning in Cafe Veneto; which is a very popular place for locals who work at city hall across the street. We also ate an Veneto Tapas Bar, the hotel's restaurant and enjoyed our meal and the special and refreshing non-alcolholic drink they concocted based on my chosen flavor profile of sweet and tart. We also enjoyed having in/out access to their secure parking lot, which is a block away from the hotel. A lovely stay stay and a well run and modern-styled boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Victoria is such an amazing place and our visit was made even more wonderful because of our stay with Hotel Rialto! I highly recommend this boutique hotel whose location is just perfect! The amenities are new, quiet, beds are clean and really comfortable! We missed the cheese platter though because the bar opens at 5pm and by then we were busy roaming around Inner Harbour. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This small hotel could not have been more delightful. Great location away from the busy harbor area that is run over with tourists.
Everything is within walking distance and the city bus stops across the street. The room was bright and the bed was comfortable. Our room was clean and the bath was well lit and roomy.
Now the staff...patient with a tourists questions and very friendly. I'd stay here again. Loved it.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor above street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a real find of a hotel because it delivers so much more than expected. The rooms are lovely, and it's conveniently sighted but it there's so much more. The bar is trendy and clearly attracts locals. The barman is great fun and the voucher for a free cheeseboard is a masterstroke. Likewise offering vouchers towards breakfast in the hotel's cafe is an inspired touch; and I have to say the food was fantastic. We tried both the full breakfast and the lighter version - terrific. The parking is across the road and at check in we were given careful directions about how the negotiate the one way system to reach it. We managed to miss a turn so it became a longer trip but we soon recovered the directions and once we’d found the car park, thought it was great. All members of the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.