We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Upgrade!!!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My friends and I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Rialto and absolutely loved it! The man who works the evenings at the front desk was AMAZING and recommended quite a few places for us to eat at, all of which were delicious. He also recommended trying the Chinese Night Market which was so much fun! The rooms are pretty spacious with a mini fridge and microwave, and more importantly very clean. The location is perfect with very little street noise. All in all I would absolutely stay again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    212
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
101
398
52
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Rialto. We stayed 2 nights and booked the Islander Special package which included free parking and a $30 voucher to the Veneto Tapas Restaurant which is on the main level. It was absolutely delicious. We also received upon arrival vouchers for free coffee and pastries each morning or a discount off of a full breakfast in their bistro, a 10% discount on the liquor store next door and we also saved $10 if we did not need our rooms to be made up between nights. The staff made us feel extremely welcome and the hotel was one of the quietest I have ever stayed in. Our room was on the 4th floor at the far end overlooking Pandora street. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria and wanting to park their car and walk for the weekend. Excellent location to EVERYTHING downtown!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I enjoyed an excellent stay at the Hotel Rialto this past weekend. The reception staff are very friendly and informative, the room was spotless and the location works well if you plan to walk everywhere. There is a lot of street noise but it does quiet down later in the evening. It was Pride weekend in Victoria and the only thing missing from the hotel was some notice of this. Would have been nice to have some info about the parade route which started right out the front door. The hotel could have supported the event in some way. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the visit. Jake, who waited on us in the dining room was very attentive and the breakfast was very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay in the Junior Executive suite. A king bed is my favourite option and the room is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location to everything in downtown Vic. Room was clean and quiet and front staff friendly and helpful. I was able to check in early as well which was great! Easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the inner harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

For our one night in Victoria, we chose Hotel Rialto because of the location. Indeed, it is a small hotel right in the midst of the several blocks of shopping and restaurants near the harbor. Parking is available two blocks away. The Rialto has given great attention to details and has many nice touches, from complementary cheese platter in the evening to pastry and a beverage in the morning, to the ear plugs on the bedside table. The latter was a telling nod to the wee-small hours trucks that grace the streets of Victoria even on a Monday-Tuesday morning. The rooms are very smartly appointed, linens and bedding quality is high. There is no fitness center on site, but a complementary pass to a gym three blocks away was much better than most hotel facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel which has large, comfortable rooms - all recently refurbished. Our bed was large and comfortable and the air-con worked efficiently and quietly - a real bonus. It was in a good location with lots of restaurants and shops nearby but the hotel was quiet and restful
The hotel had some good deals with money off or free breakfast in their cafe bar and if you opted not to have your room cleaned and bedding changed (which we did for the 2nd day of our 2 nights there) you could have $10 off a meal in the hotel tapas restaurant.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We can 100% recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in Victoria.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room away from the front as recommended by previous Tripadvisor reviews and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was SUPER clean and comfortable. Nice big TV. Great clean and sunny bathroom. Very helpful and thoughtful staff. Cool hallways. Feels historic at the same time as feeling very modern and clean. Was surprisingly impressed!

Room Tip: If you are an exerciser, don't forget to ask for free guestpasses to the nearby gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.