We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous three day stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Green and be rewarded
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous three day stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We absolutely loved the Hotel Rialto and especially the staff and the wonderful food from both the cafe and the restaurant. Everyone was so friendly and kind and we really loved your city. My only small complaints were the low water pressure in the sink, but Alex said he will get that fixed and also needed a little more reading light. We will tell all we meet where to stay if they venture up that way. So close to everything and the renovations are superb. Alex, Bobby and Maureen were fantastic. Thank you for the great time.

Room Tip: The front rooms could be noisy so I would ask for the quiet side or the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    230
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
111
433
57
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I make it a point to get away to Victoria once or twice a year and have stayed in pretty much a different hotel each time. That has now changed. We enjoyed the Rialto so much we will not even consider staying anywhere else. It's a freshly refurbished older building which has been tastefully and comfortably updated. Everything about this European flavoured boutique hotel was excellent but the real standout was the service provided by the front desk staff; they were uniformly the best we have ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, with easy walking to the scenic downtown area and waterfront. There are also a number of restaurants nearby, also easy to walk to. The hotel itself is rather small, and the staff is helpful and attentive. We stayed in a "Superior Handicap Accessible King Room". The room was larger than I expected, and had a small couch, coffee table, and desk in addition to the bed. There was no view to speak of from the windows, but we didn't spend much time in the room. The bed was very comfortable, and the blackout curtains kept the room pretty dark. The only issue I had was the bathroom. The shower was one of those modern design 'walk-in' showers with no door or curtain, which I find odd but doesn't bother me. Unfortunately, this particular shower was rather poorly designed, and so water splashed out and got all over the bathroom floor, making it rather wet. This was a little annoying to me, but may be more so to others. Other than that, the hotel was excellent.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The service and the hotel staff were amazing! Attentiveness to our needs and right-on recommendations made our stay superb. The room, a queen suite, was clean, roomy and well-decorated. We needed an iron and it was delivered within minutes.

Like other reviewers, we too loved both the café and the bar. The bartending staff were fabulous! I cannot remember the name of the female bartender that made our drinks -- but she was truly an artist. I truly have never had a mixed drink as good as the one she created for me!

Even if you don't stay at this hotel, you need to stop in at the bar and tapas restaurant for a drink!

We loved Victoria and this European-style boutique hotel in a beautifully renovated building. Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Victoria at the Hotel Rialto. The only thing that bothered me slightly was the small shower stall in the bathroom. Other than that it was perfect. Maureen at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us with our travel arrangements. The hotel is walking distance from inner harbor. We were given vouchers to get a beverage and pastry for each morning of our stay. Their muffins were wonderful! each room had a microwave and fridge, Overall, it was a really comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

You know how there are certain hotels that are just...well...right? And when you find one, it's where you land whenever you hit that town? We have found our home away from home in Victoria!

Hotel Rialto is a beautifully restored heritage building right downtown. The Euro vibe is really well done. The rooms are small but well furnished, the fixtures and features well thought out. Microwave, small fridge and too large flat screen TV. Beds firmer than the true European experience (thank heaven). Bathroom thoughtful and usefully appointed.

Desk and housekeeping staff was exceedingly helpful, friendly, accommodating.

The Tapas restaurant in the hotel is busy, well designed and trendy. The dishes were variable - some excellent and some not so much - but were all well presented. Our server needed a little encouragement to be flexible and think outside the menu but the kitchen responded well once agreement was reached. A plaintive late-night request for a 'take-away' version of their lovely cheese tray was met with quick action and lovely presentation. The bar (and bartenders) are art in motion.

The lobby café (also the breakfast room) is awesome - the food well prepared and the service appropriately friendly and breakfast-like. We weren't planning to eat breakfast there but ended up doing so each morning of our stay.

Parking is just around the corner in a secure street-level lot. Victoria is pretty small, so walking to anywhere downtown is at most a ten minute deal but the Rialto is pretty quiet for being right in the thick of it. It is a boutique property - maybe 50 rooms - so you quickly become a known person and the greetings of staff are more personal than you'll find at larger or franchised hotels.

All this at a price more in line with cookie cutter chains. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I traveled with a group and stayed at Hotel Rialto and had a fabulous experience. The room was beautiful, the bed was great, food in both the cafe and the tapa lounge was fantastic. They have the World's Slowest Elevator; otherwise this place is perfect. Best of all: every staff person we encountered, from the maid to the manager was supremely hospitable.

Room Tip: Some rooms experience street noise. We were in an interior room, so no view at all, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.