We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comp Cheese Plate!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our room was the smallest on the floor, but comfortable and exceptionally clean. Staff were warm, friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate recommending people stay here. I need to fill out a 200 character minimum, so this sentence will hopefully fulfill that obligation... :)

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room--the smallest rooms on each floor are little, although they are still comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    205
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
389
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friends and I chose the Hotel Rialto through a Clipper Ferry package, and could NOT have been happier with our decision! The staff was knowledgeable and friendly throughout our stay. This includes the front desk, cafe, and adjoining restaurant. We used the downtown gym which was a convenient 5 minute walk (complimentary daily visits per guest) and had a GREAT yoga class! We received great restaurant recommendations and only waited 5 minutes (or less) for our taxis after calling from one of our rooms.

The rooms were clean, up-to-date (iron & board, bottle openers, temperature control in both the main room and bathroom), and had the BEST BEDS ever. One friend has a Tempur-Pedic at home and lamented that it wasn't as nice as her hotel bed! While we could not get adjoining rooms, the hotel staff did put all four of us on the top floor. Hot breakfasts in the cafe ended up being free of charge, as "Going Green" each day gave a $10 credit for a room. Breakfast drinks and pastries were complimentary, and the coffee was outstanding! We're spoiled in San Francisco and Seattle, coffee-wise, but all agreed that the black and espresso cups were delicious!

Victoria is a beautiful and relaxing city to stay in, and the Hotel Rialto only made our trip all the better. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hotel Rialto was a home-away-from-home for a week. Conveniently located, beautiful rooms, friendly and accommodating staff. I recommend you ask specifically about what your room contains. Each of our rooms (I was travelling with colleagues) was a little different, so if it's important to you to have a bath, you should say so. My room had a shower stall instead, beautiful big windows and a nice view. My colleague's room was bigger, with more amenities, but with an interior view. The restaurant downstairs, Veneto, was superb, and our stay included complimentary pastries and coffee from the breakfast cafe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is a nicely located boutique hotel in downtown Victoria. Good access to public transit. If you are a light sleeper, you may wish to request an interior room however the outside ambient noise did not keep me awake.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may wish to request an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have never felt so welcomed by hotel staff. they were so courteous. the parking is 2 blocks away which was no problem for us...but is secure!. The hotel is very well located...we walked everywhere. our room was small but beautiful. It was perfect for us. we were on the side that was adjacent to a bar...if you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the night club. the bar attached to the hotel was pretty pricey but upon check in you get a coupon for a nice cheese plate and free breakfast. wonderful choices of pastry and any coffee drink you would like. the price was awesome!!! stay there for sure !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is indeed a nice little boutique-y hotel (that regrettably self-promotes itself as "Boutique Hotel") with a European feel. Nice rooms and hallways. They must save money through slightly inconvenient efficiencies (e.g., I had to ask at the front desk for an iron and ironing board; now and then I was annoyed that there seemed to be no tissue box in the room; don't expect breakfast service at 6:30). I was afraid of street noise, especially when I saw earplugs supplied beside the clock radio; there was a bit of late-night exuberance and some early morning truck noise, but not a bother for me. The Pandora/Douglas location is fine in Victoria's compact and walkable downtown.

Overall, I was pleased that TripAdvisor steered me to this attractive and interesting hotel. Not perfect but a good choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A great hotel in a convenient location for a fair price (although certainly not budget pricing, but still, a good value for this kind of place). I've stayed here twice now, once in the fall, this time early summer, and have been happy both stays (both were post-renovations). My room this time was comfortable and included a small kitchenette, which I didn't make use of. This is not the place to stay if you prefer a full-service hotel (gym, pool, sprawling rooms, etc), but if you like a place that: feels hip and looks refined (but without getting in your face with it's hipness ... Doyle hotels' offering in Dupont Circle, Washington DC? I'm looking at you!); has a cool bar/restaurant; a modest continental breakfast included and served in a bright, comfortable cafe section; and is staffed by professional, friendly staff? then I cannot recommend the Rialto enough. Of this genre of hotel (the small urban boutique inn), it's among the best I've stayed at in several cities, in Canada, the US, and abroad. It's an easy walk up to the harbour, and buses elsewhere (UVic, Schwartz Bay, airport) stop right out front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.