We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm - New World Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Old World Charm - New World Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Tastefully redecorated old building in an excellent downtown location. Large rooms were well appointed with high ceilings and well chosen fixtures. Hotel includes a breakfast/lunch bistro and a vibrant tapas bar/restaurant. Great place for business and/or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    145
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
69
291
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When I arrived, I was promptly greeted. He asked if I had had dinner as it was the dinner hour, recomended a choice of places, asked about my return to the airport the next day and arranged transport for me by the time I reached my room. The room was clean, bathroom large, had easily accessible computer ports and chargers. Very Modern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business. We were facing Douglas Street. It was extremely noisy ALL NIGHT with people yelling, police car sirens, and activity. There are quite a few homeless people on this street. It was one of the few "worst sleeps" I have had. I guess I should have clued-in when I saw the "complimentary ear plugs" on my night stand. :(
On a brighter note, the hotel is beautiful and it is very clean.
If you stay, request a court yard room. It may be a bit quieter. You will definitely want your rest if you are on business.

Room Tip: Without my sleep, I cannot add "value or sleep quality" to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was initially attracted to the hotel by the name, as I was recently in Venice, Italy. The central location of this hotel to the waterfront, downtown and an assortment of great restaurants was perfect, as we did not have a car. Upon arrival in Victoria, after a long day of travel, we were pleasantly surprised by the very clean and modernly furnished rooms. The sheets were crisp and the bed was super comfy! The rooms are not huge, but were more than adequate for 2 people. After a good night sleep, we went downstairs for our complimentary breakfast which was a very fresh muffin and latte, just perfect. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were super friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Picked the Rialto because it was a 10 minute walk to Save on Memorial Center. Was very pleasantly surprised.Room was lovely and very clean. Breakfast was also good and service excellent. Have already booked for next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute trip to Victoria this weekend and took a chance booking this hotel as I'd never heard of it before. We were pleasantly surprised with the building, staff and the rooms. The rooms are well appointed and clean. My only comments are that internet service was sketchy, and there was no mini bar. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel, the room was so nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, huge and I especially loved the amazing roomy bathtub. The location and friendly staff made it the perfect one night getaway and I would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.