We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Green and be rewarded
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having stayed in almost all of the higher end hotels in Victoria and Vancouver, I find myself becoming very disillusioned with the state of cleanliness in the rooms and halls. We recently stayed in one of the most expensive hotels in Van and the carpets were literally crusty! SO, it's nice to stay in a hotel that is clean!! I'm sure this is due to the fact that it only opened in June, but still......
The location is great and we had no problem finding parking. (which was free for us as we arrived on Saturday at 6pm) There is a hotel parkade a block away if street parking is not up your alley. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were (as I said) clean, pretty plain Jane but fresh looking. No mini bar but there is a fridge. The linens are wonderful and the pillows were so good my sister and I each bought 4 before we left! ($25 each)
You get a coupon for a free cheese plate in the bar/lounge which was delicious, and the muffins at the free Continental in the morning were gigantic and home made looking! The table next to us did order a hot breakfast and have to say, it looked and smelled wonderful.
My only complaints were the TV - it was old, the sound was terrible, and the remote sensor was kind of dangling over the top of the tv, and I wish the bathroom had a bigger shower.
All in all though, for $100? Two thumbs up. I'll be staying there again next time I'm in Vic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    230
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
111
433
57
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently spent a Girls Weekend in Victoria at the Hotel Rialto. It's centrally located to lots of restaurants and shopping in the downtown area. It was also directly on the BC Transit bus line that comes right from the ferry at Swartz Bay, saving us a $70+ cab ride each direction.

The hotel itself is really cute - boutique at its best. It's bright and modern, while having that elegant retro glamour as well. We really enjoyed our room - nicely appointed with a large bright warm bathroom, two comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. One item we found lacking in the room was the little binder you usually get that lists where to get ice and drinks, facts about the area and hotel, hours of operation for the lounge etc.

Our room rate included a free breakfast of coffee and a muffin/pastry. The staff were happy to pack ours up to go when we had to leave early in the morning. We also had a welcome cheese platter in the lounge. Unfortunately, we didn't get the chance to check it out but the lounge was super busy when we arrived and looked like a great place!

Although the rooms were definitely clean, we found a few items overlooked (movie ticket stub on the floor). Overall though, we got a great deal on the room through Expedia, at over half off the hotel direct price. We were extremely pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to return again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked this hotel for December 4th. I was looking for a central location We wanted to be walking distance to the shops, restaurants and The Save On since we were in town to see a show that evening. Hotel Rialto was perfect. The price was excellent and the room superior double queen was very chic, comfortable and extremely clean. The check in was fast and the young man at the desk was courteous and friendly. (can't remember his name). My friends were really impress by the vibe and quality of this Boutique Hotel. We all agreed that we will come back and stay here again. We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant or try a cocktail at the lounge but will definitely give it a try on our next visit. Thank you for this fantastic girl's night out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is older but has had significant upgrades in the past couple of years. The lounge/restaurant is quite nice and lobby entrance up to date. The rooms are smaller in size (as with all hotels of the original build) but adequate for the need. I had the "Superior Junior King" which included a nice size washroom, bedroom area (no closed door to next room) and a small entrance/living area with small kitchenette. Everything was up-to-date. Any issues were resolved quickly (no ironing board and remote batteries missing were quickly delivered by front desk person). I was located on the north side of the hotel on the second floor. Both evenings I stayed (Wed/Thurs) the traffic from Douglas Street was noisy - especially BC Transit buses. I had asked for a quiet room at check-in because of previous ratings and was told this one was quiet - not. I received a welcome "cheese plate" coupon for the lounge and a coupon for each morning for a continental breakfast (muffin and coffee or juice) - nice touch.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the higher floors on the back (west) or south side of the hotel - hopefully it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Seems like the rooms, bar and common areas have recently been remodeled. Very modern, yet comfortable. Great and helpful staff. Price included a great cheese tray as a welcome gift and a coupon good for continental breakfast.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This Edwardian Hotel, in terms of what you get for your money, is in the same class as the Fairmont Empress. This is what a first class boutique hotel is all about & I cannot envision how the current owners could have done any more to provide their guests with a truly unique experience. Beautiful appointments & an attention to detail that would normally cost twice what you pay. I could go on however I would just be repeating myself based on what other reviewers have said.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I adore the Hotel Rialto for so many reasons: The owners commitment to resurrecting a beautiful example of Canadian heritage architecture to it's original glory with fresh new amenities is first and foremost. Secondly, the staff is so nice, the fantastic bedding - best pillows ever! had to order some for home! and best of all, my day starts with a perfect latte in Breve and ends with a perfect cocktail or glass of wine in Veneto - accompanied by friendly and super skilled servers with great music in the back ground. If I want a glass of something in my room - Vintages is there with helpful and knowledgeable staff offering a great selection of local, old world and new world beers, wines and spirits. PLUS - it's walking distance to Ulla and Brasserie - 2 of my favourite restaurants anywhere. Thus, the Hotel Rialto is my favourite place to stay in Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.