We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Green and be rewarded
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellingham, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for Hotel Rialto many months ago. After we booked our reservation, they contacted us to let us know about the renovations and that we would have to reschedule our trip. We already had pet-sitting lined up and were pretty disappointed. Boy, did they turn a negative into a positive. We made a new reservation once the renovations were complete, booked a ferry trip and lined up the pet-sitter again. We're here now and we've had the most wonderful trip. At every point from check-in through our dinner tonight at Veneto Tapa Lounge, we have been nothing but impressed. The staff is all smiles and so eager to help. Our room is fantastic, roomy, modern, bright, and comfortable. There was even a vase of fresh flowers waiting for us when we arrived. I had read about the street noise before we came, so I wasn't surprised by it. It's just like staying in a hotel in any big city - the location is fantastic, and that's going to go hand-in-hand with some noise at night.

Service? Outstanding. Room? Comfy cozy. Location? Couldn't be better. Ammenities? Wish there was a gym on-site, but they do allow access to a gym nearby. The weather was so nice, we ended up exercising outside instead. Very content with the little breakfast cafe/coffee bar. Also, we were a little bummed to see scaffolding outside our big, beautiful windows on the 4th floor as we thought the renovations were complete. But, it wasn't that big of a deal. Overall, we were quite happy and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get a little bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    229
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
110
433
57
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful spot, good location, our room was very spacious, newly renovated. Very classy decor, absolutely immaculate. Bed was SO comfortable. Front desk staff very friendly, coffee shop staff as well. Convenient location. Look forward to going back again. The only downside was parking was not terribly convenient, but that's not unusual for downtown Victoria. They have limited parking in their lot about a block away, so had to park a couple blocks away. Worth the walk though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the Rialto, to the moment we left, the service provided by the front desk receptionist, Karina was first rate. Not only did she have a welcoming manner, but she actively worked to provide us with information on a range of matters that we sought her advice on. This included places to visit, bus timetables, and of course check in and check out.

We travel a lot and based on the wonderful service provided to us by Karina we will recommend to our friends that when they visit Victoria, they consider the Rialto as a place to stay.

We were also impressed with the room standard, and the friendly nature of all your staff.

In summary, thank you for making our stay such a great experience.

Room Tip: If you could get one at back of hotel would be good - road noise is the only negative aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Rialto in August 2012 for our honeymoon. We were so happy with the service from the moment we arrived. The friendly staff greeted us and congratulated us on our wedding and made us feel extremely special. The room was a king room, which was lovely and the modern bathroom and amenities were great!
We loved enjoying some tapas and cocktails in the lounge in the evening after sightseeing in the day. the location was perfect for being able to walk everywhere in the city!
The staff were great, especially Alex, who was very knowledgeable on what to do in the city and local areas and through the concierge we were able to book many excursions and rental cars, with ease.
Each morning of our 5 day stay, we started with breakfast in the bright cafe and enjoyed coffee and pastries and were greeted with a smile.
The hotel also participated in a green program and use green products, which is a great thing to see!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanted to experience Victoria!
Great stay on the honeymoon and thanks to all the friendly staff for making it a fantastic time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Two days stay after the west coast trail, smelly, carrying backpack but still welcomed in this classy hotel. A little pricey but you get quality service and very friendly helpfull staff. Great comfortable beds and very good complimentary cheese plate. Well located close to harbour front and chinatown..
Guy L, Ottawa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a great stay at hotel Rialto after a long day of trip. The hotel is very clean, cozy and convenient. It is located in between the downtown Victoria and historical Chinatown and they are all within walking distance. Our front desk service Michael is a very passionate and friendly guy. He suggested us several nice italian restaurants and some must see scenery in Victoria, especially during the night. Oh boy, it is amazing and me and my girlfriend really loved it. To be honest, I haven't visited Victoria for years but this time is truly unforgettable. The hotel is great, the food is excellent and the scenery is amazing. I highly recommend Hotel Rialto and its front desk guy Michael as he provides friendly services and excellent suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Recently renovated, modern and very quiet, considering the downtown location. Very comfortable bed. Michael and Kelly at the front desk were amazing. We stayed 2 nights and the first morning at breakfast we waited more than 20 minutes after ordering juice and coffee and then decided to leave to eat elsewhere. I returned the breakfast voucher to Michael and explained why were not having breakfast in the hotel. The second morning Kelly apologised for the first morning delay and informed us that breakfast this morning was complimentary! We had outstanding service and a very tasty breakfast. Our waiter explained that they had been short-staffed the previous day.
This to us represents excellent and personal service, not something one always sees from larger hotels. We left with good feelings and will return. We highly recommend the Rialto, Victoria, B.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.