We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront location with an awesome host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
1 Cook Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CAD110 (CAD)
Ranked #3 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great waterfront location with an awesome host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

A great B&B for enjoying Victoria. The Somerset room had a great balcony view. The breakfasts were better than any other B&Bs we've been to and Dave is very helpful. The location is within walking distance of everything. Only thing they could improve is to add a bike rack in the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    42
    3
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
211
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Before breakfast every morning, we walked out the front door to walk along the path by the water. A wonderful way to start a day in Victoria and work up an appetite for a tasty and filling breakfast. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. Wish there had been a larger room on the main level where our family of eight could have gathered. Loved being able to walk to the Inner Harbor through the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My parents used to stay here twenty years ago when they visited my familiy so I thought it fitting to spend a night here at the end of a trip to show two of my kids their birthplace of Victoria. The ownership has changed and I was impressed with what Dave and Sharon are doing with the B&B. We had the Fairfield and Camelot rooms and were very happy with the accomodations. Likewise, the breakfast was excellent. You choose the Dashwood for its prime location and the unsurpassed view of the Straits of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mountains, and you will pay a reasonable price, I think. I was very pleased with my time though, on a budget, I could not afford a longer stay... it is worth considering if you plan to stay in Victoria, expecially as Beacon Hill Park, Clover Point, the Dalles park walkway and the Cook Street community are literally on your doorstep.

Room Tip: For the prime view get a second or third floor room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We loved our experience at Dashwood! We went to Victoria to celebrate our 10th anniversary and this B&B was ideal. Loved that it was close enough but actually outside of downtown/Inner Harbour area. It's proximity to cozy Cook Street Village provided the necessities but a very do-able walk to downtown allowed access to all the other attractions. Breakfasts were beyond delicious, and most importantly the warm and helpful hospitality of the proprietors Dave and Sharon is the icing on the cake. Dave was always ready with input and recommendations when asked but was never intrusive or pushy. We hope this was the first of many return visits and would gladly recommend this for a place to stay for those visiting the Victoria area.

Room Tip: view in Chelsea room was gorgeous; plenty spacious, nice tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the beautiful Tudor room. We felt right at home entering Dashwood Manor with its very special charm. Dave was extremely helpful planning our excursions. Very important: do not miss the overwhelming breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Tudor room with a garden view (not like many other rooms with ocean view) was very calm and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The only thing I regret about having stayed 3 nights at Dashwood Manor is that it was not a much longer visit! Dave and Sharon were perfect hosts. The room, full of wood paneling and character, was a nice change from the cookie-cutter Hotels I was used to staying in on past vacations and business trips. Everything I needed for rest and to unwind from work. The proximity to Beacon Hill Park was fantastic and we found ourselves walking there daily. We also found ourselves looking forward to breakfast served each morning. A savory gift, delicious and well presented. I see us returning to Victoria in the future, and to the Dashwood Manor. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I went to Victoria for the first time and spent two lovely nights at Dashwood Manor B&B. The building itself is lovely. The location is fantastic - looks out at the water and mountains on one side, and is across the street from Beacon Hill Park on the other. We stayed in the Camelot room - I was spoiled by the amazing view and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Dave, our host, was gracious and full of wonderful information and recommendations (e.g., Eat dinner at Café Brio!). Breakfast was wonderful each day as well - and the dining room overlooks the water and mountains. If I could have, I would have stayed longer. If ever in Victoria again, I will most definitely want to stay at Dashwood again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1 Cook Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. Attentive, knowledgeable innkeepers with an easy-going, friendly manner. Inspected and approved by six organizations including Victoria's Historic Inns, BC Innkeepers Guild, Tourism Victoria, Victoria's Finest B&Bs and Tourism BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.