We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. it is well kept an d friendly. Well helpful with recommendations and has a shuttle. We had a room with a view of the harbor. Small balcony, but view of sunrise and sunset. Harbor is beautiful and you must take the Water Taxis. Recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: get a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear rphrun,

It was a pleasure hosting you during your visit to Victoria. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that mother nature co-operated and displayed her magnificent sunrise and sunsets. It's always worth the upgrade to harbour view!

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    224
    53
    30
    7
See reviews for
120
267
25
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very nice hotel at reasonable price. Great view of the marina/harbor from the bar and restaurant. Water taxi pick up is right there from the dock. There is a good whale watching outfit right below the hotel, and you board the boat right there. You can walk along the water to the inner harbor/ downtown/Empress in 10-15 minutes. Front desk staff was wonderful. We arrived early in day (noonish) and they were able to get us right unto our room. Gave us all kinds of advice on where to go and how to get there. Emilio was also wonderful, and drove us to several places downtown for dinner. Rooms were nice and clean. Ours didn't have much of a view (roof and back of airconditioning unit), but hell - there are 4 sides to a building - SOME rooms have to have less than a stellar view. We weren't there to spend time in our room looking outside the window anyway, the room was not advertised as having a great view, and I have the feeling that had we asked, they would have switched us if they had another room available. But we didn't ask because it wasn't important to us. All good. Very convenient location as I said. And Fisherman's Wharf is literally a 5 minute walk nextdoor. Just a great, convenient location, very nice accomodations at a reasonable price, nice bar and restaurant, great view by the marina, and very nice staff. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Well done Coast Victoria.

Room Tip: Avoid west side 4th floor if a view is important to you - roof and back of A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear 358Michael,

Thank you very much for your visit to Victoria, and the Coast Victoria Harbourside. I was happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, specifically with respect to the location of the hotel and our Front Desk team. Emilio was thrilled to hear of your compliments.

Although our 3:00pm check in time is one of the earliest in Victoria, it is our pleasure to provide an earlier check in if the room has become available earlier.

We look forward to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were impressed by the look of this hotel but when we got our room we were a bit disappointed. It was only average and it is the first hotel we have stayed in for ages that has not had a room safe to keep our passports etc in. The room was kept lovely and clean but in general it looked a bit tired and in need of updating. There was nowhere to sit and relax outwith our room except for the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Scotty538,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. We are always sorry to hear when we fall short of expectations. Although your comments with respect to room cleanliness were appreciated, I was troubled to note that you were unable to find anywhere relaxing to sit apart from your room or the lounge at the Blue Crab Seafood House. Many guests enjoy relaxing on the outdoor ocean-view patio, in our lobby observing our Resident Artist, or in the more private Lower Lobby.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Victoria, you will be pleased to note that we do offer a complimentary safety deposit box at the reception desk.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we arrived on the Clipper we were directed to walk along the Harbor Path to the hotel. It was the opposite direction from town and a long walk. We finally found the hotel. When checking in as usual I asked for a room on an upper floor, but was informed since we booked with the Victoria Clipper only rooms on the lower floors facing away from the magnificent view were what the hotel's agreement was with the service. We could upgrade for forty dollars more. Since it was my birth day weekend I considered it, but when the desk checked all the rooms were taken. They asked didn't the Victoria Clipper tell me about upgrading!
Our corner room was very pleasant with comfortable furnishings. It did overlook the front entrance and the air/heat plant, but there were no disturbing noises.
We ate breakfasts and dinner in the dining room and the views were wonderful. The staff was great and they did have a van service that took us into town with our luggage when we left to board the bus for our ferry ride to Vancouver.

Room Tip: The Harbor side is a newer hotel and very well maintained. I would pay extra for a room with the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Travel Bug from Tampa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Coast Victoria Harbourside, and for choosing to celebrate your birthday weekend with us. We have partnered with Clipper Vacations for a number of years and the process is generally very smooth. In fact, a number of different room types are available when booking through the Victoria Clipper - including Harbour View options at the same upgrade pricing. I suspect that, as you found upon arrival, these harbour view rooms may already have been sold out upon making your reservation. As you may guess, this is our most popular room category and will oven book well in advance of our other room selections. Nonetheless, I have passed your feedback along to the Victoria Clipper booking office to ensure that room selection is not overlooked when available.

I was happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Blue Crab Seafood House and our complimentary shuttle service, two of the amenities that make our property unique in Victoria. Many of our ambassadors peruse our hotel's online feedback and they will be happy to see that you thought they were great!

We look forward to the opportunity of be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We happened on this hotel on our way into Victoria and were fortunate that they had a room available for us. Lovely view of the harbor, room was clean, clean, clean. Had a spectacular dinner in the restaurant --best food so far on our trip and the prices were reasonable. On the water taxi route so if you don't want to walk into town or back, just grab a taxi and enjoy a little harbor tour. We saw three Orcas on our return to the hotel. Don't miss the little houses at Fisherman's Wharf. So cool!

Room Tip: A view of the harbor makes for a delightful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear degarden_girl,

We are glad you happened upon the Coast Victoria Harbourside and were able to enjoy our hospitality. Our team at the Blue Crab Seafood House will be so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food; I hope you had an opportunity to experience Crab Fest!

Our Executive Housekeeper Judy, and many of housekeeping team, have been with the property for many years and they will be so happy that the pride they take in the cleanliness of the room is noticed and appreciated!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent hotel and a good value. Nice size rooms with water-views and balcony. On the water but about a 15 minute walk to the inner harbor. Hotel has a shuttle van and Kevin will drive you into town or pick you up in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for selecting the Coast Victoria Harbourside for your stay in Victoria, and for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Although many are smaller Juliet-style, we are so fortunate to have balconies on each of our water-view rooms. Kevin, an east-coaster like yourself, is one of the more recent additions to our team and was happy to see your comments. We think he's a keeper!

We look forward to the opportunity of be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the coast Victoria harbourside for my 1 year anniversary. The hotel is close to the wharf and about a 15 min. walk into downtown and the walk is nice. It's great if u want to be a bit outside of the busy area of downtown, but there aren't many places to eat nearby, more options within 5 minutes would've been nice. To take full advantage of the hotel, upgrade to a harbour view. It's worth it. We had 2 windows, one a small balcony that had fantastic views. The seaplanes can be a bit noisy, but all is quiet at night. The noisiest thing was the refrigerator in the room! The staff is accomadating, don't be afraid to ask for anything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Address: 146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.