We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Jenick44
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for a weekend getaway with my husband and wow what a great place this is. We've stayed at the Empress and the Marriot and this hotel is equally as nice if you are looking for a basic room.
Pros:
Located in the James Bay area (oldest neighbourhood in Victoria)
Property is fairly new so the rooms feel updated compared to the Empress
Hotel is right on the water, sea wall walk is nice
Walking Distance to downtown (shuttle until 11pm if you don't feel like walking)
Walking distance to Beacon Hill Park, shops
Balcony
Dog friendly $20/night
Comfy bed
Clean, basic room
Beautiful restaurant
Fridge in room
Neat indoor/outdoor pool

Cons:
A bit far from downtown - give yourself 25 minutes to walk

Stay here if you are looking for a clean, basic hotel with all the amenities. A great place for families and puppies!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    210
    49
    30
    7
See reviews for
115
248
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel about once a year - always with my children. It never disapoints. The rooms are smallish but adequate and very clean and nicely decorated. The pool is great - it's an indoor/outdoor that my kids love - and a good size. I don't eat in the restaurant with my kids because it's expensive for a large family but there are many family oriented restaurants in easy walking distance. The town is also easy to walk to and since the hotel is on the waterfront you can take long and wonderful walks watching the water and wearing out the kids! I highly recommend this hotel for everyone.

Room Tip: The vies are great from every room but water views are unparalleled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We tried their "Valentine's Special" course menu at Blue Crab and must say - it was one of THE BEST dinner that we ever had! It's been a while since we visited the restaurant and heard they renewed the menu, so decided to try them out. The quality of the food was excellent... everything was cooked just right. Not only that, the presentation of each plate was so nicely done. and there were so much food!! We loved the steak which was super tender and lobster tail, and of course the dessert! We got to try 4 different kinds of dessert which were all delicious. We ate them all even though we were already full from main course. The service was great, and our server, Mike recommended a great wine to go with our dinner. Every single staff was nice and friendly, even though the restaurant was quite busy. We will definitely come back to try their regular menu for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed in the Coast Victoria Harbourside overnight after attending a lecture at the University of Victoria. As my wife had originally been scheduled to join me, I had booked a Superior room with a king bed and kept the room even though my wife was ill. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was excellent, the bed was all I could have asked for and the coupons I got with the room more than paid for my breakfast which I had in the Blue Crab Room at a table overlooking the Inner Harbour. My only niggle was the parking charge.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights over New Year's. We were very pleased with the rooms and the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room & bathroom were both very spacious and clean. The decor in the rooms was a bit boring.

My only complaint about this hotel is surrounding the parking and pet fees. Upon checkout, I was given a bill for $143 to cover pet and parking for 4 nights.

The parking fee was $12/day. While this may not sound like much, it becomes immediately evident that there is street parking everywhere surrounding the hotel, and on weekends, it is free. Unfortunately, we arrived late Friday evening & did not discover until the next morning that the virtually unlimited street parking was in fact free. I would recommend for the sake of fairness at minimum a reduced parking rate on weekends.

I also found the $20/day pet fee to be excessive. Most midrange hotels that I have stayed at or looked at charge a flat pet rate of $50 or so (some even $25). This makes far more sense than charging a daily fee. The hotel only cleans the room once after the pet leaves, regardless of how many nights the pet stays, so I fail to see the need for a "per day" pet charge. If the hotel for some reason disagrees and feels that a "per day" pet charge is necessary, at least providing a maximum pet charge would seem more logical and fair.

We were quite pleased with the rooms and would certainly stay here again if traveling without a car or a pet. However, if returning to Victoria again with our dog and auto, we will most likely look for another hotel in which we will not have to pay $143 in pet and parking fees upon checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great value for money with very helpful,friendly staff. There is a shuttle available to take you to town if you dont want to make the ten minute walk. The view from the room was fantastic and there was a real balcony to step out onto to see the water. There is also a beautiful view from the restaraunt and bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just spent 12 knights at this hotel whilst visiting family over Christmas.
The hotel reception hotel reception staff could not have been more helpful.
There was a small problem with our allocated room upon arrival - this was very quickly dealt with by a very helpful member of staff called Vladimir and rectified by a complimentary upgrade.
The room was very large with excellent furnishings and a very comfortable bed.
Will definitely use this hotel again when in Victoria.

Room Tip: If possible request a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Address: 146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.