We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter in Victoria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter in Victoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I like to travel with our dog, who loves road trips, and it can be difficult to find a nice place to stay that welcomes dogs. This place was great. We had a nice, comfortable, quiet room, and our dog was welcome. The view of the harbor is great, and there are nice walkways along the water. There is an indoor / outdoor pool, which is nice to use in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    197
    44
    28
    7
See reviews for
108
222
23
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, BC
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great to stay here when in Victoria ANY time of year.
Inner harbour rooms are our favourite. Dogs are allowed, kids love the pool, we love the martinis!
Great food both in restaurant and rooms service. The bathrooms are the only thing I could complain about. Tiny tubs, cracks here and there, and no fan.

Room Tip: Take the harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and just loved it. Great staff, AWESOME restaurant, comfortable beds, well appointed rooms (and bathrooms) and an awesome view of the outer harbour. The complimentary shuttle to anywhere in downtown came in very handy in inclement weather, but most everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to the Harbour View room, it's worth the added money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stay here twice a year when we vacation in Victoria and always get the king bed with a harbor view. It's fun to watch the ferries and seaplanes, and we always enjoy a lovely, leisurely walk to town along the harbor. The room design makes it a very comfortable space to live in, but I noticed during our last visit that the furniture is showing a bit of wear and the toilet ran. The staff is very friendly, and I especially appreciate Judy, the head housekeeper, who retrieved items that I left in the room and sent them to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is the beginning of a beautiful and memorable stay. Upon entering there is a sense of "welcome and relaxation." The rooms are spacious and calmly decorated, not overpowering. The restaurant staff is genuinely pleasant and the food arrives quickly and hot. It is nicely flavoured and served in acceptable portions. I highly recommend a visit to the fitness centre and of course the pool, don't miss it. Make sure you swim outside at night to enjoy the stars.
This hotel is my "go to hotel" each time I go to Victoria.

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms and I was happy with all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Coast hotel for 6 nights. We got a king bed room with a juliette balcony facing the harbour. The room decor was average and the view was amazing. The restaurant and lounge/bar was excellent and we were there multiple times. The staff were top notch and I would recommend the hotel for service quality and staff. A few items in our room were not working correctly however they were minor items (bathroom fan, tv movie ordering). The price was right for the area and view. The pricing for food is a bit high but it's worth the price. It's about 15 mins to walk to the main downtown core which is perfect because it's a bit quieter and your not fighting traffic in and out of the hotel, plus the sidewalk/path is a beautiful stroll along the harbour.

Room Tip: Read the details of the rooms very carefully on their website because there are a few balcony option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Location is okay if you do not mind the 20 minute walk to downtown. Prices for food are exceptionally high.

What they can do for you should you have very loud neighbors, move YOU not the loud people. After two hours of constant bass from the room next door, after requesting them to keep it lower myself. Got fed up, could not relax, rest or un-wind down from meetings all day.

Complimentary Shuttle, well thats only on a first come first serve bases. The younger driver, tells you where to meet him when you want a ride back to hotel. Now if you have trouble getting around this does not work. After calling for a drive back, waited for over 30 minutes in rain and cold, and he insisted he drove passed were I was waiting twice. Not true, sat on bench and watched every van that went by. However did follow me back in the cab I flagged down.

Really disappointed with the time spent here. What is happening to customer service.

Needed to vent, however will not be staying at this hotel anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello WE2TCB,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can improve. It's through our guest’s feedback where we find opportunities to improve our levels of service and continue to build upon our strengths in service.

I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a restful evening due to noise from the neighboring room. I completely understand that this is a frustrating thing to have happened
Noise complaints do not happen in our hotel often but when they do, it is our standard procedure to investigate all noise complaints and to log them for future reference. In terms of asking our valued guests if they’d like to move. We want to offer an immediate resolution if possible. We, of course will always ask the offending parties to quit down regardless. The offer to move guests happens as an additional way of trying to ensure they’re totally satisfied with our response to any concerns. I am truly sorry that noise from another room disrupted your time to relax after your meetings.

I am glad you were able to make some use of our complimentary downtown shuttle service. It is a great amenity for all of our guests to use. Due to the shuttle delivering and picking up guests at the location of their choice, including many of our amazing local restaurants, shops and activities, we often find that we have to ask people to meet us at specific, close by location because of parking or no stopping challenges. We do try and minimize this as much as possible for our guests. I apologize if this was inconvenient for you in the rain; I completely understand why you may be frustrated by that.

Thank you again for your comments and I encourage you to contact me directly at any time to discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Address: 146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.