We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is located in a beautiful spot very close to central Victoria , actually walking distance or take a water taxi ($5) . Rooms are rather small and the walls between them seem to be very thin. You can actually listen to your naighbours. In fact we had very noicy ones which kept on making banging noices until late after midnight. We complained to the front desk and nothing happened.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello Billy D,
Thank you for your comments.
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a restful evening due to noise from the neighboring room. I completely understand that this is a frustrating thing to have happened
Noise complaints do not happen in our hotel often but when they do, It is our standard procedure to investigate all noise complaints and to log them for future reference. We will first call the room to ask that the noise stop and then check back via walks of our guest floors throughout the evening. If the noise persists, we then knock on the door to check the state of the guests and the room and will then make a decision to either ask them to quit down or ask them to leave. Generally there is no need for a third visit.
I am truly sorry that noise from another room disrupted to your evening, and I will be sure to reinforce to our evening security that persistent noise cannot be tolerated under any circumstances.
Thank you again for your comments; I hope you had a safe and enjoyable journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    230
    54
    30
    8
See reviews for
125
276
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were here for a couple of nights towards the end of our trip to Canada and this certainly is one of the better Hotels we have stayed at.
The Hotel is in a great spot - we preferred it as it was a little way out of the centre of town, but still easily within walking distance. We liked the fact we were on the harbourside, near Fisherman's Wharf and next to a stop for one of the little water taxis.
The room itself is not massive, but clean and fully equipped with everything you need to ensure your stay is more than comfortable. The bathroom is really good.
We didn't eat in The Blue Crab, as it looked pretty costly, but did have a bar meal, which was really tasty and good value. The view from the bar area overlooking the harbour was great too.
As another reviewer has said, the fact that the Hotel has a shuttle that will take you into town whenever you want is also a really great idea.
The thing that narks me is that you get charged for parking your car - not the most expensive we had in Canada, but I still begrudge paying it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have great views at all - if you want a view of the Harbour, best to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years for business and pleasure.  Like my experience with all Coast hotels, they are very reliable with value for the money, great friendly and attentive service, and great catering and meeting rooms too.  The Harbourside just re-opened after being completely closed for several months for building remediation work.  It's maintained very well and the harbour views are beautiful.  It's a 10 minute walk into downtown, so if you don't mind that you will be rewarded with a quiet and relaxing location and wonderful views.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view room overlooking the inner harbour. Even if you have to pay for the upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have been coming to the Coast for years and this year was the biggest disappointment of all. I have never had an issue paying the rate at this hotel but this time was not worth it and I had to remind them of the 3 night package deal they were offering. This hotel is in desperate need of repair and the service has fallen so far below par. I was not expecting shiny and new but at the very least I think a good steam clean of the carpets would not be too much to ask for. The bathroom we had was so dingy that I asked for it to be cleaned because I thought it was not done yet. The additional cleaning was no help. The Blue Crab lounge was always a great place for a cocktail and now they did not even have one type Port on the shelf. What lounge does not have a cheap Port sitting on the shelf? I am sad to have to write this review because of my previous love for this location and what it used to be.

Room Tip: Every room on the 4th floor was old and dingy and it is very loud so expect to hear all aspects othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastVictoria, General Manager at Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. I'm truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations It is so important that we please our returning guests on each and every one of their stays. I'd like to hear more about your experience, so please contact me directly either via email; s.quinney@coasthotels.com or by calling 250.940.1123, as I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you. I hope to hear from you soon.

Scott Quinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruardean, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is located next to Fishermans Warf, and just 10 minutes walk from the tourist area along a harbour-side path. Great room overlooking the bay. Clean, tidy, comfortable and spacious. Nice breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband, 2 teenagers, and I stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Victoria. Have been to Victoria 3 others times & found this hotel to be the best one that we have stayed in, by far!! Clean, comfortable, large rooms, friendly & helpful staff, and couldn't ask for a better location!! It was just a 5 minute walk to waterfront, Parliment Buildings, etc on a nice/safe pathway by the harbor. The pool/hottub were a nice appreciated bonus. We have stayed in other hotels in Victoria that offer pools that were outside so never able to use them since the weather isn't really hot enough. We hit a sale rate so the rooms were very affordable but I have since looked & the prices are more expensive. Still I wouldn't hesitate to stay here because of the hotel condition, location, staff, and secure (inexpensive) parking. Close enough to walk anywhere downtown and can bypass the parking fees they charge for downtown attractions.

Room Tip: At check in ask if any view rooms available. They upgraded us for free & watching the sea plane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel was well located, had the most comfortable bed I've ever had at a hotel, very clean, friendly, and the shuttle that would take you around was a nice perk. The restaurant has a beautiful view and the food was yummy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina

Address: 146 Kingston Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#16 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.