We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Clean Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Just returned from a two night stay at the Chateau. Yes, the lobby and hallways could use a little updating, but the rooms were comfortable and exceptionally clean. We travelled with our 2 small dogs, and the staff was very happy to see them - they were greeted and petted by everyone we met in the halls/lobby. My only complaint was with the first room we were put in (216). We had requested a pet friendly room with a king size bed. Unfortunately, the only "room" that fit that description was right next to the fitness room on the 2nd floor. Needless to say, listening to someone jogging on the very loud treadmill on Sunday morning @ 7:00 am is not what I expect to hear in the morning.. When I mentioned to the front desk staff, they offered to upgrade us to a suite on the sixth floor. The hotel provided us with keys before we left for the day and moved our luggage and dog kennels while we were out. The suite was very large, comfortable and very quiet. Furnishings in both rooms were very nice, incluiding the duvet covers and sheets - not what I was expecting given the look of the lobby and halls. We will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    274
    69
    22
    11
See reviews for
208
255
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

The best part of this hotel is the location. It was nice to walk in this wonderful city.
The hotel itself: charming lobby, nice employees, rooms are not spacious but we don't mind, cleanliness is more important to us and we had no complaints.
On the other hand, this is an old building and I don't know about the other rooms but ours (312) was very noisy. We didn't hear people talking at all but we heard the guys from upstairs using the lift rod/drain valve and things like that. But above all, the pipes into the walls (by our beds) made a repetitive noise, even in the middle of the night. Quite upsetting...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010 via mobile

Nice to the kids. Staff seem to enjoy themselves: smiles, happy, toys for the youngsters. Rooms are good sized. The hallways and rooms can use some serious modernization and tips from an interior designer. The bedspreads are old and tattered, ceilings cottage cheesy and you fear flakes may fall on you as you sleep. Location is good, although at night you may hear the chorus of drunks as they stumble out of the nearby pubs.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Ok so I have a son in Victoria and for the past 10 years I have been visiting him every couple of months. I have stayed in many, many different hotels in the Victoria area. I have found the Chateau Victoria to be absolutely the best value for your money with a fantastic location.

This is not a brand new hotel. However most of the rooms are large one bedroom suites with small kitchens. The new hotels don't have large balconies like this one has with some good views. Free parking and you won't even need your car. This hotel is rite down town on a quiet street in the middle of everything and I mean everything. The end of the bus line in Victoria is just outside of the hotel for most roots and is not a busy place because it's the end of the line and no people are on the buses. You walk outside the hotel and around the corner and BOOM! all of the sights and sounds of Victoria are at your doorstep. The hotel even has a shuttle so if you pick up a bunch of food for your kitchen they will come and pick you up and help you take it to your room for FREE.

The lobby is large with a very luxurious feel. The hotel staff are very friendly and almost tripping over each other to help you. Clive's lounge is just off of the lobby and is an excellent sanctuary to have a drink. Clive's is very upscale yet relaxed atmosphere and has a unique and delicious menu. It's all done up in kind of an ocean under water seen. The staff in Clive's are very talkative and attentive and at the same time will leave you alone if you are doing business or romancing:)

Vista 18 is the restaurant on the 18th floor which is the top of the hotel. It's a little pricy but the food is divine and they serve some of the best Wines BC has to offer. The view from Vista 18 is amazing and is an excellent place to take a date even if your just out for the evening.

The indoor pool again has a very luxurious feel to it with a hot tub but is not for small children as the shallow end is 5 feet. There is a small workout room off of the pool with some equipment.

I recently stayed in one of the two bedroom penthouse suites and had a birthday party for my son. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies, living room, full kitchen and lots and lots of storage. NICE! VERY NICE!

As compared to all the rest of the hotels in Victoria that I have stayed at, with all things considered, I really can't give the Chateau Victoria a high enough rating!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I took my 2 children to Victoria for a weekend and stayed at the Chateau and what an unbelievable value! It's located within walking distance to everywhere downtown and has all amenities close by. Views are awesome from the room we had and we only paid $95 for a suite on the 14th floor. Pool,hot tub and exercise room were very clean and well kept. The staff was more than helpful and very friendly and we look forward to staying there again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009 via mobile

We stayed here on business for three nights and I would have to say I truly felt at home. The rooms are very spacious and clean, you would think you are in an apartment.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

I have stayed at the Chateau Victoria several times. The staff are very friendly, and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. No problem getting extra pillows & blankets. The housekeeping staff is awesome, rooms are cleaned quickly and expertly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Address: 740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Family Hotel in Victoria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Multistory Hotel located downtown; near harbor, Conference Center, Provincial Parliament; 6 blocks to train station. Top ten view Restaurants in BC on top floor. Award winning cocktail lounge off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.