We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, comfortable central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“Fine, comfortable central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Ideal for downtown, close to waterfront. Couple of eateries close by . Car parking. Good bar on the corner. Top floor restaurant with great views. Bit pricey. Good size rooms, comfy beds. All usual mod cons .Two weird things, portable air con units that copiously leak and the strangest wall decorations that could be made of flooring tiles. Bathroom fine. Reception good, friendly. Yes, good hotel ,enjoyed staying here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you Pedroofpobla for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suties and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated. We are pleased that you had a positive experience during your stay with us and we appreciate your observations regarding our air conditioning and the new artwork in our traditional rooms. We have also taken the liberty of sharing your kind feedback regarding our employees to the entire employee team – everyone enjoys a good review.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    342
    87
    26
    14
See reviews for
258
319
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here one night and loved it! The location is excellent for walking everywhere around the harbor area. The room was quite small, but the beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. They use a portable air conditioner for the room that was kind of noisy, but worked well. Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were wonderful. They also have a fantastic shuttle service that took us back to the Clipper so we didn't have to pay for a taxi.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you rainlvr for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated. We are pleased that you had a positive experience during your visit to Victoria. We have taken the liberty of sharing your gracious comments regarding our bellmen – everyone enjoys a great review. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night as attending wedding in Victoria. Staff great, bed very comfy, room sufficient. Loved the Deserving Thyme bath products. Outside our window we could see the nearby bee hives and the honey is used/sold at hotel restaurant. One thing that gave us a bit of a jolt....2 bottles of water in the room with a price of $2.00 each. Thought this was a bit much.......comp bottle of water should happen here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you Josie K for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated. We are pleased that you had a positive experience during your friend’s wedding celebration. Thank you for noticing our bee hives – we are very happy to hosting over 120,000 bees to maintain the sustainability of Victoria’s beautiful flowers. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Terrific staff at hotel. Stayed in 1403. Great view of the Empress Hotel, the Legislature and the waterfront. It was grand to sit on the balcony and watch the planes take off and land.

From the moment we checked in, the staff opened the doors for us and provided good, timely advice on what we wanted to see. Very good in supporting local businesses. We received a discount coupon on the whale watching tour and they booked a tour for us. Excellent local knowledge by staff.

Room was a king suite complete with separate bedroom, full kitchen (sorry min fridge only), but it was nice for the 3 days we stayed there. New tv, good wifi and comfortable.

Thanks to the Chateau staff for helping us get the most out of our vacation experience!!

So this is what life was like before kids.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view - Chateau Victoria delivered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you Rick W for your very gracious review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suties during your visit to Victoria.
We are so pleased that you had such a positive experience staying with us - please be assured that we have shared your courteous comments regarding our employee team to the entire team - everyone enjoys a great review.
Thank you again for your positive notes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel goes out of its way to help the customer. When we saw our room we found it bit small so asked front desk if bit larger room and Peter the receptionist put us in a one bedroom king bed suite with living room and kitchen and great view. and didn't charge us more for the upgrade. I definitely would stay there again and highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know. The only down was the large air conditioner in the bedroom which we shut off at night as it was bit noisey but otherwise it was perfect. The staff are the nicest friendliest people and semm to really enjoy their jobs. LOved this place and stayed two nights here.

Room Tip: It seems the king size bed rooms are bit on small side and not much room to move around in so best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you sandy17Calgary for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria.
We are so pleased that you had a positive experience with us during your stay. We have taken the liberty of passing along your gracious remarks regarding Peter on the front desk ~ he was thrilled by your recognition!
Thank you again for your positive notes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Staying here for 3 nights. This hotel is excellent. Not far from the main harbour, shops and restaurants. The hotel staff are very friendly and keen to advise on places to go and chat about your day. The hotel is clean and comfortable and I would definitely come back/recommend to others. The kids have loved the pool at the end of the day. The free wifi was a brilliant bonus as we were able to google restaurants and places to see etc. Thank you for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Beki64 for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria.
We were pleased that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us and you have certainly pointed out the key amenities of our property, location, guest service and comfort. We have also taken the liberty of sharing your gracious comments regarding our front desk team – everyone enjoys a great review!
Thank you again for your positive notes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Was booked at this property on a Business Trip, I choose to upgrade, and it was worth the minimal cost. Upon entering the Hotel is beautiful, it is not a huge, enormous foyer, yet the elegance and welcoming is grand. The staff ( sorry I don't remember all of your names) was outstanding. I witnessed a ridiculous request from a guest and was amazed and impressed how the front desk handled it, even after the guest demanding their calm professional demeanour was awesome. It is within walking distance of restaurants and shops, transit buses are right out front. I will be back and will be bringing my family next time and staying in the same room I was in!

Room Tip: I stayed in 704 2 beds, compact "kitchen" microwave, mini fridge, toaster, kettle and dish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you li2000nks for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay.
We were pleased that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us; We have also taken the liberty of sharing your gracious comments regarding our front desk team – they were thrilled by your recognition! Everyone enjoys reading a great review.
Thank you again for your positive notes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#16 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Harbour Towers
#22 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#8 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,577 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 58 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Address: 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Multistory Hotel located downtown; near harbor, Conference Center, Provincial Parliament; 6 blocks to train station. Top ten view Restaurants in BC on top floor. Award winning cocktail lounge off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.