We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. Very nice room, bathroom a decent size. I would have liked a few "grab bars" around the tub, those are always handy even if you don't have mobility issues. Bed was comfortable. Wifi was excellent, didn't require logging in every time you left the property and came back. In room coffee was only average. When I come back again, I'll definitely bring my own!
My worst quibble is that the bathroom is so far away from the bedroom, not handy for when you get up in the night!
But all in all, a great place to stay, within walking distance of a lot of attractions and shops.

Room Tip: try for a room facing the harbor for a nice sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the review. Grab bars are certainly an idea when we tackle the suite upgrades so will keep that in mind. I can't do much about the distance of the bathroom from the bedroom. Interesting about your note on coffee. It is a premium local coffee roaster and generally gets rave reviews. Perhaps it was a bad batch but we will monitor comments. thanks again and we sure hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    290
    71
    22
    12
See reviews for
219
271
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the Chateau Victoria this past weekend with 5 members of my family (girls weekend!) and we had the most amazing time! We were also celebrating two big birthdays (50 and 70) and the hotel went out of their way to make it special. The birthday girls received a bundle of chocolate when we checked in and we were upgraded to nicer rooms on a higher floor! We had two rooms and they made sure they were right next to each other which was so appreciated. The shuttle drivers were awesome as well! Thanks Braden and Keith!! They were prompt and super friendly. We were picked up from the Clipper terminal when we arrived on the ferry Saturday morning, taken to Fisherman's Wharf on Sunday morning for our whale watching adventure and then when Keith picked us up from the Wharf afterwards we were talking about where might be a good place to go for lunch and he not only offered suggestions, but drove us there too! Also, we were going to Butchart Gardens on Saturday and there was going to be a concert and fireworks show on the grass. After speaking with a hotel manager (Debra Jackson), she arranged with housekeeping to have blankets available for us to take. The level of customer service we received far exceeded our expectations and I know where I'll be staying anytime I'm in Victoria! A huge thanks to the Chateau Victoria staff for making our weekend an absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
What a great story. I am so glad the hotel and the city stepped up to make your celebrations special. I hope you come back for the next big celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the location of this hotel. The room was clean and well kept. We all enjoyed to pool & hot tub, which were nicely maintained. A couple notes; first, no fault of the hotel...we were facing a parking lot and it got VERY loud after "last call" time at the local bars. The hooting, hollering & screeching going on was very disturbing to a good night's sleep. Second, our queen bed was very uncomfortable; very hard, flat (felt like plywood!) and dipped down in the middle. Finally, now I know this may seem nit-picky, BUT I feel I have to mention it....in the morning two of the housekeeping staff decided to have a loud gossip session in the hall outside our room and the doors aren't that thick. Standing in the bathroom I could hear them loud & clear! It was before 9am, and although I enjoy a good gab with my friends too, there is definitely a "time & place" for such conversations. These things aside, it's a nice property in a fantastic location. You can walk anywhere downtown and it is a pleasant, safe area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have had a good chat with our housekeepers and I make a point to walk up to the second floor before 9am to check on them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I researched hotels in Victoria and this one had the best reviews on Trip Advisor. Though a traditional hotel room with 2 queen beds, the price was very good for such a popular tourist destination. The beds were firm, the bathroom vanity was sized well, and the location was perfect. This floor of the hotel had been recently updated and was very pretty. The room had a portable floor air conditioner, which I thought was fine because though nights are cool in Victoria, getting airflow through the windows that will open didn't work so well. No breakfast was included, which we knew in advance, so we stocked our small fridge with some breakfast items.

The staff was very courteous and helpful. They had a pad of city maps they would write on as I asked questions about particular attractions. They tore off this map for me and underneath was a clean map for the next person!

Our parking was free because we had booked directly through the hotel (actually it was through AAA), instead of through a service like Expedia or Travelocity. This was very interesting and so from now on, I will always book directly through the hotel in case this saves me money.

I highly recommend Chateau Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear PadmajaLoo,
We just love to see a perfect score on these reviews so thank you so much for that. I suspect you are the guest in 415 that Marion Ann Berry was chatting with and am so happy you decided to tell the world. We are all as happy to work here and serve as you were to receive our service. I guess that's the magic we strive for. We certainly hope you can return one day to enjoy our city and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The lobby and restaurants of this hotel are modern looking. The rooms appear to be older, but refurbished. The beds were nice and the rooms were clean. An additional mirror with good lighting would have been a plus, but it was a pleasant stay. We ate in several restaurants, but the hotel restaurants were the best food of the trip. Vista 18 on the top floor had especially good breakfasts. The shuttles from the hotel to the pier were very prompt and the drivers especially nice, as was the staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: We selected a traditional room. Those are on floors 2-4. Perhaps the upper rooms are more modern a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments Jeannie W. Our Vista 18 crew will be happy to hear about your experience so will share at our am meeting today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fabulous location. The front desk staff are sooooo friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and updated. The free parking is a huge perk. I also got a cheaper rate by calling the hotel directly. We will definately stay here again. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, General Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Great comments Kylesmama, Thank you. The free parking is a extra incentive to book directly with us so thank you for helping us by booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed the room and the location of this hotel. Very comfortable bed and pillows, really good coffee, and free wi-fi. The front desk staff are helpful and polite. The housekeeping staff are also very nice; however, they begin their room cleaning at some ungodly early hour and by 8 am are happy to be very loud in front of doors with Do Not Disturb signs out, slamming doors and speaking to each other quite loudly. So much for not being disturbed...Our visit included being out at the Theater at night, so it was important to be able to rest in the mornings. All in all though, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Lori H, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my apologies for noise outside your door early in the morning. I will share this with our housekeepers this morning so not to wake others. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Address: 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Multistory Hotel located downtown; near harbor, Conference Center, Provincial Parliament; 6 blocks to train station. Top ten view Restaurants in BC on top floor. Award winning cocktail lounge off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.