We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed the room and the location of this hotel. Very comfortable bed and pillows, really good coffee, and free wi-fi. The front desk staff are helpful and polite. The housekeeping staff are also very nice; however, they begin their room cleaning at some ungodly early hour and by 8 am are happy to be very loud in front of doors with Do Not Disturb signs out, slamming doors and speaking to each other quite loudly. So much for not being disturbed...Our visit included being out at the Theater at night, so it was important to be able to rest in the mornings. All in all though, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Lori H, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my apologies for noise outside your door early in the morning. I will share this with our housekeepers this morning so not to wake others. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    220
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
173
200
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I got a traditional king room, which was nicely renovated.

Fridge in the room, coffee and tea, but no microwave, which is fine because there were plenty of places to eat out at.

The pool, spa and fitness area were a nice touch since some older hotels in Victoria don't have one.

The only complaint was that the room was close to the elevator and overlooking the parkade.

A newspaper was delivered in the morning and there were Deserving Tyme products in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Speedy688, I liked that you used one of our marketing messages right in your title. It always adds some authenticity when our guests say the same things as we do. It is true that the view in the traditional rooms is not as nice as the ones in the suites higher up the building. If view is important, buying up t a one or two bedroom suite is a must but if you are here just to get out there and enjoy our city, the traditional rooms have everything you need. I hope you make a point to return form Vancouver one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just spent a weekend at Chateau Victoria. We stayed in a traditional room. It was clean and met all of our needs. It is nice to have a fridge. The staff was really helpful and nice. We had dessert in the rooftop bar which was expensive as expected but very tasty and with a nice evening view. The hotel is located right in down town and we were able to walk to everything. Pool was also nice. There was some road noise that was annoying but not all the time. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Annachloe.
I am glad you enjoyed our traditional rooms. We renovated them in January this year followed by the hotel lobby in April. We will continue our renovations up the building when it slows down in November. I am glad to know you enjoyed your downtown experience and the noise of the downtown wasn't to distracting. After the busy summer season, the town takes on a different feel and can be much quieter as people leave the patios for restaurants, Spas and some of the great Arts presentations we have. We hope you make your way back form Seattle soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago and were impressed enough to dig through our old travel literature to find it again. We made our reservations directly with the hotel, when we arrived they had honored our special requests and we had a very nice room (suite, high up with a view). The staff was very attentive and helpful. It's in a great location, we walked to it from the Victoria Clipper dock and, except for the Butchart Gardens, walked to everything else we wanted to see. If you have never been to Victoria, GO!, and when you do stay at the Chateau Victoria.

Room Tip: High up, facing Burdett Ave. gives a good view of the inner harbor and Olympic Mountains across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear borisoscar, I must say you nailed this review when it comes to helping people really enjoy our city without their car. Everything is at your doorstep in this walkable city and for things like Butchart Gardens, the buses practically pick you up at the door and delver you to and from these attractions. there is now a free bus that take you around to many of the attractions in Sydney and the Saanich Peninsula. Do what borisoscar did and you will enjoy your Victoria getaway that much more. My green is showing a little in this response. Sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just completed our weekend stay and loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the lobby, felt very chic but comfortable at the same time! The room itself was very comfortable, clean and roomy. We arrived from Seattle and took the Clipper into Victoria. The dock itself isn't to far from the hotel. Location of this hotel was great as it was close to everything... marina, lots of shops and many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Marita_Sempio,
Thank you for your review. The Victoria Clipper is a fantastic way to enjoy both the journey and the city of Victoria without the burden of a car. We hope you make our city by the sea a frequent journey from Oregon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with spacious suites. The overall hotel is a little dated but the location couldn't be any better. You can walk to most major attraction including the marina. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist in whatever way you needed. The only issue I would mention is the terribly long wait for the elevators. There are only 3 elevators for over 18 floors of rooms. Try to get a room on the lower floors so that if you have up walk up you can.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Susangock. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you noticed we had updated our lobby and are about to take that new look to our corridors in the fall, once things slow down. I must apologies for the slow elevator service while you were here. The hotel has been full in July and August and one of our elevators has been notoriously unreliable. Our contractors has been on the case almost daily for about a month. It didn't leave anyone inside but sure has been a challenge for them to figure out what components are causing it stop at a floor open up and shut down. As I write you today, we have gone several days without a shut down so I think they have found the solution. When you have full house and a roof top restaurant with a view, you really notice when one elevator is not in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The 16th floor penthouse suite was totally adequate for our group of six to spend the night. I was disappointed that there was not a direct view to the lighted Parliament Buildings. We saw much of the back side of the Marriott, Executive House and a bit of The Empress. Large balcony - would be great to have a party there. (Had stayed in the Executive House prior and that view was amazing.) Clean and lots of room to spread out.

Room Tip: Need to go higher to get a view. Understood the Queen Suites are a good buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Cooper1941,
The falls condominium cut some of those harbour views off our lower suites but it shielded much of the street noise from Douglas Street. the best views can be found in Vista 18 so no matter what room you are in, you have access at breakfast lunch and dinner. I am glad you enjoyed your group in one of our two bedroom suites. I think the Executive House have closed their big suites and are converting them to another use so please keep us in mind if you return to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Address: 740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Multistory Hotel located downtown; near harbor, Conference Center, Provincial Parliament; 6 blocks to train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.