We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 4 day stay in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 4 day stay in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Victoria and Chateau Victoria was the perfect location. We loved being able to walk everywhere--all along the beautiful and interesting harbor and to various city neighborhoods and parks. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, going out of their way with directions, advice and umbrellas. We had breakfast each day in the top floor restaurant with its beautiful views and delicious offerings. Our suite with complete kitchen allowed us to prepare picnic lunches and eat in if we wanted to. An added bonus was free parking for our car. We would definitely stay there another time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review kassschwin2002. I wonder what is behind your special name. Victoria is kind of special to first timers and I hope you do make the effort to return. I am so happy to hear we help make your first visit memorable and I am sure we can do it again should you return. I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to my colleagues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    220
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
173
200
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in a suite on 2 different occasions for medical reasons in May 2013. The place was very clean, in a great location (downtown Victoria), close to parks, shops and the inner harbour. It was very quiet, room service was very accommodating and made me a special dinner on one occasion. Our car did not get broken into, so parking was very secure. The furniture was clean, comfortable and in good repair. The hotel restaurant was excellent. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We made our reservation over the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review mailing1.
It sounds like security is key for you and I am glad you felt safe with us. We do focus a great deal of attention on cameras and security measures in public areas and I am happy to say that incidents are rare. When you are here for a medical matter, you should only have to focus on getting well. I hope everything worked out for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I live in Victoria and rented a suite at this fine establishment for my sister's Bachelorette party. From the moment my reservation was taken over the phone to the moment I checked out, the staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. On the day of the event, they were able to accommodate a super early check in for me as I had a lot of supplies to drop off and decorating to do. In the elevator up, I met the Executive Chef of Vista 18 who was friendly and polite and wished us a nice stay. Once we got to the room, it was MAGNIFICENT! The room was everything I had hoped it would be. We had 2 clean spacious bedrooms, a clean organized kitchen with all of the dishes and silverware I could need (since I forgot mine), and a spectacularly HUGE patio with views of the straight and a bit of the inner harbour. We were blown away. On the way down the elevator after decorating, we met a friendly maintenance man who also inquired about our stay and wished us a good evening. The party went amazing! We fit 15 women into this suite with room to spare and, despite all of the laughing and games, did not once receive a noise complaint! My only assumption is that the rooms are insulated so well you cannot hear your neighbours! The next morning they were more than able to accomodate a late checkout for us, even though we didn't require it, and allowed us to park for free in their lot while we went for a late brunch. Having this suite made my sister's party memorable and I will never forget the service we received. Next time I need to rent a room in Victoria, I'm definitely coming here first! Cheers to all the staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review LindzSully.
We are glad the celebration was a great success and that others were not negatively affected from the party. The big Executive Suites have a little more space and are more forgiving for events like this. I hope you keep us in mind for those occasional retreats from everyday life too. All the best for a long and happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Of the 3 star hotels I've stayed at, this is one of the best. Service was really good, reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, and though noticeably not new, they were well maintained. I spent some time at the gym, which is small but has some cardio equipment and dumbbells so one can get a decent workout. We stayed with our 9 month old in a junior suite, which was perfect since it has a small kitchen and a separate living room.

Location is really good since the harbor area is only 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you Retski for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It seems families are drawn to us because of the location and size of our suites but return for the service. I sure hope you keep us on your list when you return to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Spent one night only at this hotel, it was clean throughout and the pool was of high quality.
We found the staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The restaurant on the top floor was outstanding with fantastic views over the city and the of course the food was also of a very high standard. We have stayed in many hotels on our trip over the past two weeks and this was one of the best.
Brian Harrod

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review Mr. Harrod,
We just love it when we are rewarded with 5 stars and especially when we can stand out as the best on your journey. We hope can return to Victoria soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathurst
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, staff, restaurant,suite everything was just excellent. Never been o/s before and our first stop has impressed us. Close to downtown shopping, museums, Parliament House etc. nothing is too much of a problem for the staff. If we come to Victoria again this is where we will stay

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite on 15th floor for views over looking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review rechargedbat
I'm glad you enjoyed your Victoria getaway and that our staff help contribute to your enjoyment. Please keep us in mind when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is basically a three star, but might be considered three and a half on some scales. Definitely enjoyed my stay here, although it was only for one night. We upgraded to a suite on arrival (it was really not much extra)— I would say it was better than your average Holiday Inn Express or similar. The room was comfortable and spacious; I found the beds were particularly comfortable and the room had two televisions. Air conditioning was provided by a standalone unit, which was a welcome addition to the room. The location of the hotel could not be any better. It is within a 5 minute walk of almost everything in downtown Victoria.

The room was a little strange. It gave me the odd feeling that it had been an apartment or something before. Portions of the hotel have been renovated more recently than others, so the entire building suffers from a little bit of inconsistency in the decor. Nevertheless, if 3.5 stars is sufficient for you and you get a good rate here I would definitely recommend booking it. I'd just say there isn't much of a reason to stay at this hotel versus another one in the same class.

Apparently you can get free parking if you book through their website, so take that into consideration. Otherwise it's pricey. You can park in a city-owned parking garage one street over for about 65% of the cost the hotel charges, for what it's worth.

Room Tip: The hotel is tall. As always, higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the review James B.
You are correct in thinking the building has a feel of an apartment to it. It was always a hotel but early plans were to have both hotel and apartment incorporated into one building. The suites are bigger as a result and many like the space over a regular hotel room. We have been doing extensive upgrades to rooms and public space in the winter months so you are correct in observing that some the hotel is newer than other parts. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location and overall value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Address: 740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Multistory Hotel located downtown; near harbor, Conference Center, Provincial Parliament; 6 blocks to train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.