We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon Weekend 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marathon Weekend 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

I have been coming to Victoria for the past few years to run the Goodlife Fitness Victoria Marathon. I was super impressed with this hotel immediately upon arrival.

We arrived at 2pm and were told that our room was not ready yet. They graciously held our bags for us until our room was ready.

When we arrived in our room on the 12th floor we were impressed. It had a full kitchen, separate bedroom, a living area and a wrap around balcony with GREAT views.

The bed was amazing and I got a great night sleep the night before the run because of it!

The staff were SUPER NICE.

The only downside to the room was the shower. It was difficult to operate and kept of going from very hot to very cold.

My boyfriend and I were so impressed with the hotel that we are going back to Victoria for our anniversary on new years weekend and I hope we get the same room!

All in all this hotel was Great and centrally located.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Victoria!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
I must say we just love our annual return of the marathoners. One of the most focused group of people we get all year and they are very respectful of other guests. Thanks for a great review. The shower issue has been mentioned by a few reviewers. We installed even flow values but I think we must have a few that are failing. Can you send me your room number or confirmation number off line to mpaul@chateauvictoria.com ? We will keep on them until the issues is resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    253
    64
    21
    11
See reviews for
202
231
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this one is tops in service by literally ALL the staff. Even friendly and helpful when we bumped into them in the hallways. We booked 2 king rooms and the Penthouse to accommodate all my family and one 2 year old grandson for my son's convocation (5 minute walk). One lady brought not 1 but 2 cribs/playpens to ensure one was perfect for our grandson. Each time we met her over the weekend she would ask if more little blankets were needed or if we needed anything else. Room service for breakfast was quick and totally satisfactory. Even the Vista restaurant for the celebratory dinner worked well with a waiter who quickly served the grandson to ensure we all had a good time. The final touch was the young man tending to the cars helping us to load and making sure we knew we could leave the car as long as we needed. Service is everything in the hotel business and this place has it nailed. Pool and hot tub impeccably clean and well maintained. Yes this is an older hotel but everything is being done to maintain it as well as possible.

Room Tip: 9th floor King rooms with small kitchen areas/separate bedrooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our staff Deelite_T....
I am always so glad to see a review like this because it makes everyone know their service attitude makes a difference. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed in king suite , was very clean, showing age a little, reported this to maintenance and offered to come immediately and replace light bulbs and fix slow draining sink. Noticed when I was in Elevator, staff taking food bowels and blanket for someone travelling with a dog, thought that was very nice.
For younger children the pool was not to family friendly, (no shallow end).
Great location and very helpful staff.
Went away for a day on Clipper vacation and left the car parked there, This was very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your review,
We have worked with the Clipper for 25 years and love the way they keep the guest interest top of mind when combining transportation with accommodation. We are glad to see you had a good time in Victoria and look forward to your return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

We had a one bedroom suite here over Thanksgiving weekend. I booked the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and they were quite accurate. The rooms are definitely showing their age and the sofa bed was a bit old and thin. Room service quickly provided a couple of thick blankets, which made it much more comfortable. Although older, the suite was spacious, bright and comfortable with 2 large flat screen tvs. It was also lovely and quiet. Amazing, since it was full that weekend. Cleanliness was definitely acceptable, although I wouldn't say spotless.
We used the pool and hot tub, which were in a bright room with natural light. The hot tub was dirty but someone came to clean it as we were leaving and explained that it had been very busy that day due to the Marathon.
We also ordered from room service who very kindly gave us a full bottle of wine for the price of the half bottle we wanted, which was unavailable.
We ate in Vista 18 for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was excellent quality but the portions were very small. I'm 125lbs, so hardly a big eater! The view was nice though.
All in all a good experience. I prefer it to the Parkside.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your review,
It is always great to share with our employees about the service moments that were recognized in guest feedback. We also do use these reviews to guide us on capital expenditures in the coming year and I do believe we plan to change a number of sofa beds that were noted from our housekeepers and people like you so thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Three of us stayed for one night in a wheelchair suite. The suite itself was a great size for us, with 2 queen beds, one in separate bedroom. It had a little fridge and a microwave (which we were not told about, even when I asked). Wheelchair parking space was ridiculous! Let the person in wheelchair out at the entrance and then go and park. In the suite, the bathroom was SO not proper for anyone in wheelchair. Our daughter could not go in and use the toilet or tub/shower on her own. Door could not shut behind her, no bars of any use to get on /off the toilet, toilet paper holder was totally out of her reach, shower wand was not reachable and even once I took it down for her, it was too short, and there were no grab bars in tub. Then, when we were leaving we saw a storage room open and saw a bunch of handicapped bath equipment stored there. Someone should have told us!!

Where are the good wheelchair accommodations n BC?? We had much better experiences in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear about your difficulties with the bathroom mobility for your daughter.
We are a level 1 Access Canada hotel which by definition is as follows:

Access 4 For people with severe disabilities
Access 3 For people with advanced agility, hearing, mobility, vision disabilities and independent wheelchair users
Access 2 For seniors and people with moderate disabilities
Access 1 For active seniors and people with minor disabilities

We do know that a significant investment is required to bring our access level up for people with limited or no mobility and we are generally very open about this at the time of reservations. Did you explain your level of mobility when making the reservation? I would like to look at your reservation is determine how you booked and what room you ended up staying in. My direct email is mpaul@chateauvictoria.com Perhaps we can make this better for the next guest with mobility issues if we work together on solutions.

Access Canada is a program designed to meet the needs of seniors and people with disabilities using accommodation in B.C. Participating establishments will display the Access Canada logo with their designated level.

For further information regarding Access Canada please contact:
Ministry of Small Business, Tourism and Culture,
1117 Wharf Street,
Victoria, B.C. V8W 2Z2
250 387-6309.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

When we checked into this hotel, one of the first things we were told was that we had to pay $12 for overnight parking because we booked through hotels.com. We didn't really care but it was the first thing that the check in lady told us and it seems like we were being reprimanded for not booking through the hotel itself. Not sure hotels. com would be excited to hear that. Otherwise the room was fine, no view but over clean and efficient. Very well located.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry about the way we addressed parking at the front desk. Our partners at on line travel companies have requested us to provide un-bundled room rates so parking was removed this year. We will address this issue in our on going training so thank you for pointing this out. We are generally considered one of the friendliest hotels in the city and will certainly rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is very old, the room are full of humidity and mushy, good luck to get hot water in the morning, Air Conditioning doesn't work,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear 613orlif,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are known as a comfortable hotel, providing good value in a great location with friendly, knowledgeable employees and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your room. I trust you contacted the front desk regarding your hot water or air conditioning issues but if you did not, perhaps you can send me either your name, your confirmation number or your room number so we can rectify this for future guests. You can send this information directly to me at mpaul@chateauvictoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Address: 740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#10 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Multistory Hotel located downtown; near harbor, Conference Center, Provincial Parliament; 6 blocks to train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.