We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at James bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   257 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X1, Canada (James Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place at James bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great location, walking distance to almost all the places in Victoria BC. The room is very spacious, clean and with a view of the bay, also has a full kitchen. Free parking and no charge for the roll out bed a very nice when you need more sleeping space. But no fitness center or swimming pool. Overall it is a great place to stay in victoria, BC.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. I am sure it will help others when choosing the right place to stay for their particular needs. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. For next time, although we do not have a pool or fitness center in our building, we have an agreement with a place across the street and they give reduced rates to their center and pool. On your next visit, let us know and we can make arrangements before hand for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    84
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
49
75
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We decided to book a Best View room in the Admiral Inn for 3 nights to explore Victoria and we did not regret a single moment of it.
The hotel has a bit of a motel kind of look, especially at the backside and it could use a modernization. But in the end the location and the value for money easily made up for this.
Due to its location next to the Victoria harbour, you can easily leave your car at the (free) parking and explore the city by foot or bike. The hotel provides bikes with helmet & lock on a ‘first come – first serve’ base and with trails like the Galloping Goose starting in Victoria, I can only recommend to make use of it.
The room we got came with a separate living room and kitchen which felt as we rented a small apartment. Walls are thin so hope for quiet neighbours and as said before, a facelift could give the place a less ‘old people’ feeling.
Breakfast is served next to the reception. It’s small but we found it very tasty, with everything available we needed. As the place is not big and there are also sofas, the number of tables to sit on is not big, so now people are forced to improvise at rush hour.
In summary, if you plan to stay in Victoria and don’t want to spend a fortune to sleep in the Empress Hotel, don’t look further. At least it did pleasantly surprise us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and made good use of the free bicycles. I agree, Victoria is a great place to explore on 2 feet or 2 wheels. Your comments sum us up perfectly. Older style, clean with a great location and value. Thank you for taking the time to let others know that you were pleased with your choice of a place to relax after full day of sight seeing. Hope you come back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Even though it is not the most "modern" hotel, it has a clean bedroom, bathroom, living room, dining room, and kitchen. The kitchen comes with a stove, oven, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, necessary cooking utensils, including pots and pans, service for 4 including plates, bowls, glasses, mugs, silverware, a dish draining board, and kitchen towels There is also an iron and ironing board. along with the television......all very comfortable, The balcony seating is great, as the location is near the main street in Victoria, and you can watch the activity in the street.The continental breakfast was very adequate....toast, muffins, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. The rooms were non -smoking . The only thing that could be improved upon would be to have king sized beds. The queen sized beds were fine, but King sized would be nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed everything. Thank you for taking the time to let us and other readers know you had a good stay. Next time you come, please let us know you want a king bed. 12% of our rooms are able to accommodate the larger bed and they are very popular, I must admit.
We will do our best to accommodate all requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Admiral Inn is a friendly, independent property. My wife and I stayed there twice in June 2014 both before catching the Coho ferry to Washington State and afterwards. Although we had only booked a basic room for the return visit we were upgraded to a rather nice suite with well-equipped kitchenette, balcony wit seating and separate bedroom.

The reason I picked The Admiral Inn was its location - within easy walking distance of the Coho ferry terminal, the Pacificcoach bus station, Budget car hire, the BC Museum, Jamestown and Victoria harbourside. In that sense it was the perfect place to stay.

The breakfast room is a bit too small for the size of the hotel but the breakfast fayre was perfectly adequate to start the day. Arguably, the hotel could do with some upgrading but the rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained. We slept well and the shower provided a reliable flow of hot water in the morning. Good value for money and nice staff who made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Consider one of the suites - a bit more money but it is nice to have separate living and sleeping ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We were happy to welcome you back from your adventures beyond the Coho Ferry and will be happy to do the same anytime. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to share your thoughts with others. The breakfast room can be very busy when we have a full house. There is a lovely patio area off to the side where many people enjoy their breakfast, or an afternoon of reading a book. When the weather allows, this really helps at breakfast rush 1/2 hour.
Hope the rest of your trip was filled with sunshine and fun adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The rooms are nicely equipped with kitchenette and sitting area + balcony. Easy walk to all downtown attractions and lovely staff. Great for families or couples, business or pleasure I'd return without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with everyone on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything about your visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to our end of the continent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the end of our Canada spring trip. Very easy to find, we arrived before official check in but the reception staff were happy to check us in early. The room was quite dated but comfortable with a little balcony which looked out towards the water. We had room 207 which had a little kitchenette which we didn't use but could have been handy. The fridge was very welcome though since it was high 20's everyday which we weren't expecting! Breakfast a bit basic but since I'm happy with a coffee and a muffin it was good for me. Everywhere in Victoria is pretty much walking distance from this hotel, whether it's the fish & chip eateries on the waterfront or afternoon tea at the Empress. And unless I could get an unbeatable deal at one of the 4 star hotels, I would happily book here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review letting everyone know of you very satisfactory stay at our Inn. You certainly did have great weather! Our cities beauty seems triple fold in the sunshine. Thankfully, that is most of the year.
I hope you do come back to stay with us on your next sojourn to Victoria BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Reserved this hotel because of location and reasonable cost in Victoria; read reviews and accepted that this hotel needed some upgrades . . . a bit retro but sometimes that adds to the appeal and works. Relied on the usual services of a room . . . comfy beds . . lots of pillows . . . sometimes a view . . but for many and for us, it was the television and cable that we required on our 1 nite stay to connect with what we wanted for our late evening in Victoria. TV did not work; on site representative for the hotel came to room to try to fix . . didn't work and no alternative - no offer of another room, a reduce in rate of room. . . it was just the way it was. Next morning, manager said 'give you 5 bucks off' with no interest in client satisfaction. More interested to have to spend $$$ to fix for next customer. will think twice to stay here . . .

Room Tip: Check out what works and what does not and ask for a room that does! Apparently its not a given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I am pleased that the overall reviews on TripAdvisor lead you to consider us as a potentially wonderful place to stay. How unfortunate that the buttons on the cable remote did not work.

When I tried the TV in the morning, I clicked the remote's cable button so the light went on and then the TV button. All was well. Sometimes the TV channel buttons are manually pressed, and if this is the case, the cable will not work on any channel but 3 unless channel 3 is manually pushed on the TV itself. I know this does not help your stay with us, but hopefully it will be useful for you in future travels or even at home.
I am glad the front office manager was able to offer you a bit of a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Inn

Address: 257 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Victoria
Admiral Motel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.