We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Admiral Inn to your Saves list
Admiral Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   257 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X1, Canada (James Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location and very nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The inn was very OK and the Location great to visit Victoria
Rooms comfortable and ok, and the people at the front desk where very friendly and helpfully.
In the morning they serve a small breakfast.
We also used the bikes of the hotel to make a little trip (free).
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are glad you had a great stay, and had enough time to take a spin on our bicycles. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Hope to see you soon. It's still biking weather, but you definitely need gloves now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    82
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
48
72
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Admiral Inn for 3 nites. As this was over a weekend -- with great weather forecasted -- room availability in our desired price range were few. Going on the favorable views found here, we grabbed a room with 2 double beds. We were pleased to find the room very clean, mattresses comfy, nice kitchenette (which we didn't know would be so complete), and nice views from a small balcony, on which we had our breakfast in the morn, wine and cheese in the afternoon. WiFi worked fine. The breakfast is basic, but acceptable. Loved the free parking, which was ample. And location is perfect, easy stroll along the wharf to 'town' in one direction, and to fisherman's wharf in another. And not that far to walk to the James Bay neighborhood. And we had no issues washing a few dishes to comply with the hotel's request to do so before leaving, as one silly reviewer was so aghast to find. This is an older facility, so it is a bit dated, but certainly quite acceptable. Staff was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone that staying with us added to your perfect weekend getaway and budget. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Admiral Inn provided us with a pleasant place to stay in Victoria on a trip during the Classic Boat Show in the Inner Harbour. It was close to the harbour, museums, and Fisherman's Wharf. We rented a suite with a complete kitchen and access to a terrace. There is seating scattered around in nooks on several levels of the hotel, and loaner bicycles available at no extra cost for guests. The dining room has books and board games, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is an elevator, so second or third floors are OK even for those with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Your taking the time to let everyone know that your had a pleasant stay at our Inn is very much appreciated. I know you were busy with all Victoria had to offer. Hope you had time to try out our board games, books and bicycles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Location, price, & staff were fine. Older, "worn" hotel with small flimsy towels. The shocker was when we read the sign above the kitchenette sink: "You're required to hand wash your dishes before checking out!". Really?! We're on vacation!!! We've stayed in other hotels with kitchenettes before and have NEVER had to wash our dishes. Shouldn't that be one of the maid's duties?! And, I don't want to use dishes that another GUEST has washed since I have no idea of their interest level in handling this required task, nor do you know their standards of what's "clean."

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
I am so glad that you took the time to let us know how you felt about the 'request' to wash your own dishes. For many many years we did not imagine this could offend anyone. Rest assured we always check the dishes. We have very high standards and if they are not met, the dishes are redone. The "Please wash your dishes before check out" has been removed. Thank you for this advice. We want our guests to enjoy their stay with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location, price and appreciated the helpful, friendly staff. Now that you know the dishes are always up to standard, I hope you will let us welcome you back to the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are dated but well-maintained and very clean. Awesome location on the inner harbour, close to many restaurants, main attractions and whale watching. Staff were very friendly and the complimentary continental breakfast was an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are pleased you took the time to let us know that you felt we offered Value, had a great location, enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and cleanliness. This means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Comfortable, convenient to inner Harbour. Knowledgeable and kind staff...all of them. Many good restaurants in walking distance. Carriage tours set off very nearbby.the weather was also incredible sunny.Ample parking if you are driving or have a rental - vendor nearby also.

Room Tip: If you want super quiet, Ask for room not facing street. Balconies are tiny but cosy and fun to watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
I loved the title you gave the review. It says so much. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our Inn on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like the other reviews say - the location is great, the staff is very helpful, the rooms are large, and the price is less than other hotels in the neighborhood (and includes parking). Some rooms come with a kitchenette. Ours had a microwave and fridge and enough dishes to warm food in the microwave. It also had 2 double beds and a hide-a-bed, which was nice so our kids could each have their own bed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBCAdmiral1, General Manager at Admiral Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. It means a lot to us. We hope your children enjoyed their stay with us as much as you did. Please come back to visit us again sometime. You will always be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Inn

Address: 257 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Admiral Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Victoria
Admiral Motel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.