We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and city view of Victoria.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Executive House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Executive House Hotel to your Saves list
Executive House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and city view of Victoria.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Nice location along with spacious and clean rooms!
We loved the separate bedroom area in our suite.
Good size kitchen. Lots to do within walking distance of hotel.
The living room had a sliding door with balcony so you could see the city life below. Lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    44
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
208
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campbell Ri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Executive House is located in downtown Victoria, walking distance to many great restaurants, shops, and museums. The views from higher floors can be excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean. Parking can sometimes be a bit awkward as the spaces are quite tight.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This year was our second year going to Victoria for New Year Eve. We enjoyed our stay so much the year before that we decided to rebook the same hotel.
Easy to find, very close to the ferry terming (coming from Seattle) and very easy to go around.

Overall our stay at the Executive House Hotel was very pleasant. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and if you get a room with a view that will make it an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlell, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It's not like I have been to every hotel in Victoria but I do spend quite a bit of time looking at reviews and prices and locations and this came out on top. I am not disappointed. I have stayed here a number of times and will come back. It feels five star and the views can be great. The location is perfect, pretty much right downtown. Friendly service. I feel like opening up champagne and throwing rose petals on the bed when I get there. The bed and robes are fantastic. Love it!

Room Tip: room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Love feeling like a high class traveller once in a while? I usually go for more budget places but this is worth the extra bucks for a real treat. So close to downtown, you can see everything from a patio. Clean, so clean. Comfy. Relaxed. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasebo, Japan
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

he Executive House is a family owned business that has been in operation since 1965. They always seem to be updating the rooms to make them more comfortable, although I wouldn't call them luxurious. They have yet to install air conditioning, which is not usually a problem unless you are there during the height of summer.

I've stayed at this hotel 5 or 6 times over the years. Their convenient location just one block from the Inner Harbor and their affordable prices make it an easy choice. The hotel is 100% Non-Smoking. I also appreciate the speed of their wifi which is a must for me when travelling to another country.

The only major drawback is that there is an additional charge of $16 a day to park your car in one of the four small parking lots situated in different areas around the block. There are times when you have to drive by all four before you can find a spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for an extended conference (nearly two weeks). And, it became our little home away from home.
We had a comfy bedroom, living room and a small kitchen. The front end staff and management could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The concierge manager was a hospitality superstar.
The only challenge we faced was housekeeping. Despite leaving a nice tip each day (for the first several days) we could never seem to coordinate cleaning with our activities. The cleaning staff arrived at random times and had a "now or never" approach to their duties. The times when they agreed to come back later, They never did, Unless their idea of later was....the next day.
Overall, it's a very good place to stay. Great location and overall awesome staff.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room as high up as possible and facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive House Hotel

Address: 777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to announce that the Executive House Hotel is being re-branded as DoubleTree by Hilton™ Hotel & Suites Victoria. Total refurbishment of the entire hotel is currently under way and upon re-opening, in Spring 2015, the hotel will be the first Hilton branded hotel on Vancouver Island. Travellers to Victoria will soon have access to the acclaimed Hilton HHonors Rewards Program, where they can redeem points towards hotel stays, vacation packages, air miles and a host of exclusive benefits. The addition of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria to Hilton's portfolio of international hotels opens the door for loyal Hilton travellers to explore the sights of British Columbia's capital city and the natural beauty of Canada's Pacific Northwest. The hotel remains locally owned by the same family, as it has for over 49 years. We will continue to offer a warm friendly welcome and the same dedication to customer service that makes you feel right at home; the DoubleTree by Hilton culture shares the same values that the Executive House Hotel has delivered for years. Victoria and Vancouver Island will welcome a reputable, dynamic, global brand known for its commitment to the highest quality of guest service. And so, although the hotel will undergo some changes, the commitment to our guests and the local community remains the same. We look forward to welcoming you with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.