We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not much service,failed to provide adequate accommodation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Executive House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Executive House Hotel to your Saves list
Executive House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, not much service,failed to provide adequate accommodation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is centrally located, clean and room was in good condition. We booked one bedroom suite with king bed in the bedroom and queen pull out bed in living room. When we got to the room, the pull out bed was very small, basically a love seat sofa. When I called the front desk I was told that even though my reservation says queen sofa bed, hotel doesn't show that detail. In future I should only book through hotel and not via Expedia. Really? Then I was told if I need bigger sofa they can upgrade me to a pent house suite for $350 more. My room already is costing me $370, so I passed on the bargain price of additional $300 to get queen sofa bed.
I must say, given the cost of the room, I did hope for a better response.
There is full kitchen but there is no room to cook. There is hardly any room between the stove and the sink.
I will not recommend this hotel, especially with the bizarre explanation and suggestions I received from the not so helpful staff.

Room Tip: Once you book your room, I used hotels.com, call them to ensure you will get the type of room you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    44
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
208
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was chosen by our tour company. Very pleased to stay here two nights. The hotel is old but very well updated. The bedding and linens were top of the line. Rooms extremely clean. We had a room with a small balcony and one of the few with a add on air conditioner. Enjoyed breakfast at Caffe ad'Amore, dinner at the English pub Bartholomew's, and a drink in the Doubles Lounge. Slow elevator service during busy times. Easy to walk to the Harbor area.

Room Tip: Air conditioning not often needed in Victoria, but ask if you want it. Lots of street noise with ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location in downtown Victoria. Lots of resturants and pubs around as well as a Rexall and 7 11 within a blocks radius. Pub at base of hotel had great food and atmosphere. Loved the patio. Very close to the harbor and Government Street.
We Spent two nights at the hotel. Beds and pillow were very comfortable. Room very basic. No AC but fan provided did the trick and blocked out any other noise that we may have encountered. Did not get a room with a balcony or a view as requested. We were offered an upgrade to one for a price. I understand paying for a view of the harbor since it was the weekend of the symphony but not to have just the room next door with a balcony. Disappointed on that front. Staff was pleasant but only dealt with them during check in and out. We used self parking which was fine but the stalls were very tight.
Good option for a quick trip to the city but would probally try one of the other many hotels in the area that offer upgrades and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sister and I have just spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is in walking distance to the town and the harbour. The beds are comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It was great to have free wifi in our room. We did not have a view but that did not matter. The food in the restaurant wa s excellent and the pub downstairs sold nice cold beer and wine. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I am usually pretty picky when it comes to staying in hotels, but this place was great. The place is busy, but they have enough staff to keep the line moving. My room was fantastic, with an amazing view. This was supposed to be my 1 year anniversary getaway but my husband had a last minute call and had to go to work but I decided to go to Victoria anyway, and the only reason this trip was not awful was because of the hotel. It was very relaxing, quiet, clean and the amazing view was the cherry on top of the cake. I usually go to Victoria twice a year, and I like to try different hotels, but I think I found the one I will be staying from now on…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Location is excellent.Close to everything, but showing signs of poor management.Gym & spa area unsupervised.Light out, fitting off toilet, water out in dispenser...small things in themselves, but tacky.Reception staff not real welcoming as there have been changes since last year. My wife wanted a fridge if it was possible, but there was not one available.Attitude of lady welcoming us very poor for a top hotel.In the breakfast restaurant I wanted another pot of tea and asked if they put fresh tea bags in the pot, and the waitress said,'No, they are too expensive'.I did pay a breakfast tab of $35!! By the way don't order the corned beef hash, it was terrible.This hotel used to be really good.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Friendly service was missing for our stay. Front desk staff basically too disinterested make us feel valued, when we arrived. Then subsequent contact was the same. No smiles, no interest in us, no recommendations in the building for food etc. The concierge seemed to be doing a lot of customer service with one group for about an hour, but not the front desk staff. We had 2 eight yr olds with us, no info about the hot tub. When I enquired about anything at the front desk, the quick reply was : "the info is all in your room in the book". Walking on the mezzanine level tried a door thinking it was the stairs, but it was an admin office. Instead of a smile and redirection, the girl in the office gave me an annoyed look and no info when I said I was trying to find the stairs. Friendly service was missing for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive House Hotel

Address: 777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to announce that the Executive House Hotel is being re-branded as DoubleTree by Hilton™ Hotel & Suites Victoria. Total refurbishment of the entire hotel is currently under way and upon re-opening, in Spring 2015, the hotel will be the first Hilton branded hotel on Vancouver Island. Travellers to Victoria will soon have access to the acclaimed Hilton HHonors Rewards Program, where they can redeem points towards hotel stays, vacation packages, air miles and a host of exclusive benefits. The addition of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria to Hilton's portfolio of international hotels opens the door for loyal Hilton travellers to explore the sights of British Columbia's capital city and the natural beauty of Canada's Pacific Northwest. The hotel remains locally owned by the same family, as it has for over 49 years. We will continue to offer a warm friendly welcome and the same dedication to customer service that makes you feel right at home; the DoubleTree by Hilton culture shares the same values that the Executive House Hotel has delivered for years. Victoria and Vancouver Island will welcome a reputable, dynamic, global brand known for its commitment to the highest quality of guest service. And so, although the hotel will undergo some changes, the commitment to our guests and the local community remains the same. We look forward to welcoming you with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.