We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Executive House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Executive House Hotel to your Saves list
Executive House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location and amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel towards the beginning of June and had a very pleasant stay. We had a room on one of the higher floors that had an amazing view of the harbour, mountains and parliament buildings. As previous reviewers have mentioned the hotel does not have air conditioning and it was warm during our stay as the weather was good. There were two electric fans in the room and a breeze from the open windows so it wasn't too uncomfortable. The noise from the street wasn't too bad either.
The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the town and the staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable.
We had no issues with the parking - we didn't actually use the car at all during our stay so it was parked in the hotel car park next to the main entrance for two days with no issues (we did remove all of our belongings from the car though, so there was nothing to be stolen).
The hotel breakfast was also good and reasonably priced. Free wifi was readily available and worked fine. Overall, I would stay here again it is clean, spacious and comfortable and the view from the room was just amazing day and night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    44
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
208
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Executive House is a older apartment style hotel. It was originally built as a high rise apartment building. The rooms themselves are quite spacious and from the 15th floor, it afforded us a nice view of the downtown and harbour views. All the staff were very accommodating and friendly, they seemed to want to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

The bathrooms in our hotel room were nicely appointed and modern. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was simple in its design and functionality. The housekeeping staff insisted that they wash our dishes, even though I said that we were more than capable of cleaning our own cups. I was so impressed with the housekeepers on the 15th floor, they went out of their way to meet our needs.

As previous contributors mentioned, the hotel rooms do NOT have any air conditioning. The windows do open and there are balconies. The blackout curtains are effective at keeping the sun and heat from streaming into your room, it also has the negative effect of inhibiting cooler sea air from circulating through the hotel room. Additionally, because you really need to keep the windows open at night, the noise from the street below can keep you awake.

The hotel does offer free internet. The wifi however, is intermittent. Most evenings, I could barely log onto the internet and maintain a connection for more than 4 minutes at a time.The best time to connect to the internet was very early in the morning between 0500 and 0930 hrs. This would indicate that the hotel and its ISP are throttling the available bandwidth during the peak evening hours.

It's unfortunate to read about a guests experience with having their vehicle broken into. The hotel has four parking areas. We found the best secured and lit parking area to be the parking area adjacent to the main entrance as well as the upper parking deck. I would avoid parking in the lot off Penwell, we tried parking there and saw individuals rummaging through trash.. we immediately decided to park elsewhere.

I probably would not stay at this location during the summer. I value a cool room and a quiet sleep far too much. The hotel management should take a look at replacing some of the furniture and carpets in some of the rooms; as they are very worn and dated.

Room Tip: If possible, try and get a room on one of the higher floors. You'll get a better breeze from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled from Seattle to Victoria for a getaway weekend and we were very pleased with everything about our stay at the Executive House Hotel. Walking distance from the Victoria Clipper, we carried our bags the short distance from the dock to the hotel. Everyone we interacted with on the staff was friendly and super helpful. And we soon discovered that the outdoor patio at Bart's English Pub is a great place for a nightcap before heading up to your room for the night.

We walked into a one-bedroom suite on the 16th floor with ample room and all of the amenities for a comfortable weekend stay. It was really the view, however, that sold the room. The entire weekend we enjoyed sweeping views of the Inner Harbor, the Parliament building, the Royal BC Museum and the Empress Hotel. We visited at the warmest time of the year so we kept the windows and sliding glass door open whenever we were in the room and the sounds of street-side buskers and music from the carillon bells drifted into our room on the breeze.

The location of the hotel is just about perfect. Downtown Victoria is immediately accessible just outside the front door. We were mere blocks away from the Inner Harbor, major museums, tours, and the Royal Theater (where we caught part of the Victoria International Jazzfest). We were also conveniently near Beacon Hill Park and some beautiful residential neighborhoods that were great for my morning runs - both of which led to an amazing waterfront trail with sweeping views of the Washington Peninsula and the Olympic Mountain range. Tip: if you have a dog, bring him with you! The hotel is pet friendly and the south end of Beacon Hill Park has an off-leash area with beach access - just a one-mile walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fergus on
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I arrived late at night and asked about vehicle parking, is it safe etc we had a rental car.We should have been warned that thiefs operate in this area.There is a notice saying the area is patroled, randomly.We lost all our luggage and my guitar and found this out at 9.30 in the morning glass all over the underground parking area CCTv shows it happened at 3.30 3.45 early hours of the morning yet no one patroled the area. The hotel is not responsible for anything happening to guests property while in there parking area (there is a notice).While dealing with our issue and a not very positive manager who said this had not happened before and the police might not even bother to come and see us, another guest was complaining about a rat that had joined him for breakfast.We returned the car to Hertz rental so they could change it for another one and was told this is the second car broken into this month(July) same window and everything. Mr & Mrs Booth. Ontario.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarenExecutiveHouse, Manager at Executive House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Booth,
We are extremely sorry that this terrible incident occurred while you were staying at the Executive House. Our lots are patrolled and we do stick by the fact that this is a first-time occurrence in one of our parking lots, however, I assure you that we are taking every precaution to ensure that it does not happen again. As part of the multimillion dollar renovation that will commence this Fall we will be adding secure locking gates to all of our parking lots. We hope you will consider staying with us should you come back to Victoria. Again, we are incredibly sorry for your loss.

Sincerely,
Taren Phillips

Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, friendly service, and is very clean... This is all great except a small but very important thing is missing- air conditioning! Even with being so close to the ocean, the little window you have to open- and little fan in the closet- doesn't quite cut it. It's extremely uncomfortable and we had a very hard time going from the heat outside to the heat inside with little to no relief. I would consider staying here again in the winter when this isn't a concern but I couldn't believe the price I had to pay (170$ night) for a couple bad nights sleep and no fridge to even keep a cool beverage around. It's rumored that the hotel will be putting in AC in the fall of this year- a little too late for people wanting to stay in a nice location down town this summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarenExecutiveHouse, Manager at Executive House Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Caylareine,
Thank you for your comments. We have been experiencing some very hot weather in Victoria these past few days and we understand that our rooms do overheat under these conditions. Unfortunately there is not much that can be done at this point, besides keeping the blackout curtains drawn and the windows open. Guests can also request rooms on the "shady" side of the hotel if they are unaccustomed to the heat.

We are very much looking forward to the addition of in-room air conditioning as it will greatly enhance the quality of our guests' stay. Fortunately we only have one more summer to wait, and in the mean time we appreciate your understanding.

Thanks again,
Taren

Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Executive House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of June and was really impressed with this hotel. Our room was on the 15th floor and the views were fantastic over the harbour to the Olympic Mountains beyond. We had a separate bedroom and living area which was very clean with a handy kitchenette. Lovely thick fluffy towels in the bathroom.

Had dinner in the hotel's Cafe on 2 nights and really enjoyed the food both times.

All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and would definitely stay there again. Get a room on the higher floors if possible.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were able to walk from the ferry dock, with suitcases, to the hotel with no problem. The room was comfortable. The sofa bed was no better than average, but I have rarely slept in a comfortable sofa bed. We were easily within walking distance of the sites, and the buses we needed to more distant locations were not far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive House Hotel

Address: 777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to announce that the Executive House Hotel is being re-branded as DoubleTree by Hilton™ Hotel & Suites Victoria. Total refurbishment of the entire hotel is currently under way and upon re-opening, in Spring 2015, the hotel will be the first Hilton branded hotel on Vancouver Island. Travellers to Victoria will soon have access to the acclaimed Hilton HHonors Rewards Program, where they can redeem points towards hotel stays, vacation packages, air miles and a host of exclusive benefits. The addition of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria to Hilton's portfolio of international hotels opens the door for loyal Hilton travellers to explore the sights of British Columbia's capital city and the natural beauty of Canada's Pacific Northwest. The hotel remains locally owned by the same family, as it has for over 49 years. We will continue to offer a warm friendly welcome and the same dedication to customer service that makes you feel right at home; the DoubleTree by Hilton culture shares the same values that the Executive House Hotel has delivered for years. Victoria and Vancouver Island will welcome a reputable, dynamic, global brand known for its commitment to the highest quality of guest service. And so, although the hotel will undergo some changes, the commitment to our guests and the local community remains the same. We look forward to welcoming you with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.