We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, tired interiors, bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Executive House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Executive House Hotel to your Saves list
Executive House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
AK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location, tired interiors, bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Well, the first room we were given here had real bed bugs behind the headboard. A second room was bug free. The location is wonderful - right in the middle of downtown Victoria, but it is surrounded by construction on three sides. One notable day, construction noise didn't cease until well after 10 pm, and started again before 7 am. The interior furnishings are worn, but they work fine. It was an okay place to stay - but I definitely felt like it cost way too much for what it was. There are a lot of hotels within a block or two - and although I didn't go in their rooms, their lobbies certainly seemed more clean!

  • Liked — the location is great
  • Disliked — bed bugs present, and overall cleanliness wasn't so good - there was dust and grime in too many places.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    44
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
208
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

Despite the neglected external appearance of the hotel, the interiors were very cosy and well-kept. The room was spacious, very clean, pleasantly furnished and equipped with cable TV, coffe machine, electric kettle and iron+ironing board. The lighting was cosy as well and the king size bed very comfortable. Moreover an entire side of the room had a huge window facing a nice terrace.
The toilet was very simple, but clean.
The only negative point was the noise due to restructuring work of the opposite building.
Private parking only 2 CAD per night!!!

  • Liked — cosyness and central position
  • Disliked — a little bit noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at this hotel from August 7th -10th. As previously stated, it’s situated with building construction on all sides, so if noise bothers you, this would be a problem.

The accommodation is pretty standard. Clean, but uninspired decoration. King size bed was very comfy.
My sister had a suite with full kitchen that was reasonably well equipped.

Helpful staff. Did not eat in the restaurants.

Location is excellent, which is why we chose it. Just behind the Empress and close to good restaurants and all activities.

All in all a good basic place to stay.

  • Liked — Location - close to all amenities
  • Disliked — Close to building site
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of our two week self drive holiday around Canada.

We found it easily enough, but were dismayed to find building works on both sides of the hotel. They were carrying out blasting on one of the sites when we arrived and noise from both sites started (as others have said) very early in the morning. Not what you want at the beginning of a holiday when you are suffering from jet lag, and trying to get sleeping patterns sorted out! Our room was on the 6th floor and I have posted a photo of our 'view'. Not exactly picturesque. If we had been staying longer then I would have asked for a change of room, but for two nights it didn't seem worth the hassle to be honest.

If it wasn't for the building works the location of this hotel would be absolutely excellent. A few minutes walk from the harbour - good for your whale watching trips etc, and the shops, and the coach station where you can get a bus to the fantastic Butchart Gardens.

Our room was very average and singularly uninspiring. The decor was in need of attention - badly faded prints of Canada Geese adorned the walls, and it was all very plain and uninspiring. We were also given a twin bedded room, not what we really wanted. Two of us could just about squeeze in one bed but it wasn't comfy.

There were the usual room facilities, coffee maker, hairdryer, fullt functional shower, small bath ( how I long for a deep bath policy in North Ameracn and Canadian hotels - not the puddle holders that they offer as an alternative!) and adequate wardrobe space.

As for food, we very much enjoyed the pub/oyster bar situated below the hotel - great atmosphere, friendly staff. One bar tender spent ages explaining all the different beers to my husband, it was great. Food portions were generous and the food was reasonably priced. Don't quite understand the passion for Hollandaise Sauce on everything, but some people woud llike all that. We didn't eat in the other restaurants in the evening.

Breakfast was fairly typical. Combinations of eggs, hash browns and even hollandaise sauce. (weird!)The fruit platter consisted merely of three types of melon cut into chunks, adorned with four black grapes - so if melon isn't your thing, don't choose this!

To be honest, what rescued our experience at this hotel from complete disaster was the attiude of the staff; friendly warm, welcoming and kind. They truly couldn't do enough for us, booking taxis, reservations in restuarants, advice for our onward drive to the Vancouver Island Ferry. It was a wonderful welcome to Canada, they were truly great.

Sadly, I would have to say that despite this I would avoid the Executive House until the building works have calmed down, especially if you don't like noise. The Marriott next door is also badly affected.

One last thing.. if you are in Victoria and want a truly special restaurant experince, excellent service, great food and fantastic views, eat at The Blue Crab Bar and Grill in the COast Hotel. FAB!!

  • Liked — The wonderful staff
  • Disliked — The noise, the noise and the noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

There is extensive building work going on on 3 sides of this hotel. This is set to continue for at least the next two years. The noise commences at about 07.00 hours and continues all day. The hotel has no double glazing which means that noise from traffic invades your room throughout the night.
My travel agent -Thomas Cook- made no mention of this - either they did not know or have a policy of not alerting customers of such matters.
After a 10 hour flight from the UK the last thing you wish to meet is difficulty getting to sleep.
Also there is no air conditioning and summers in Victoria can get warm - opening a window lets in more moise !! A fan is provided but is barely adequate.

  • Liked — reception
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

If this hotel had double glazing and air conditioning it would have rated excellent.
We stayed in second week of July, right in the middle of a heat wave and only had fans (which were thoughtfully left in room) but it was like sitting in front of a hair drier. Having arrived from an airconditioned room in Vancouver, it was disappointing to be in a stuffy room. You might say "open the windows", we did, but only to be faced with the noise from the building site next door. "So move to the other side of the hotel" I hear you say - oh! you mean next to the other building site!!!! Both sites started work at around 7:30 each day. The only day they didn't start early was on the Saturday of our stay, when we had to be up at the crack of dawn to catch a ferry....So, as I say, double glazing and a/c need to be installed.
Couldn't fault the room on 15th floor with superb views over Empress hotel into the harbour. We were given a suite - lounge, kitchen, two big bedrooms and dressing room.
Couldn't fault the location. Park car in hotel carpark for the entire stay and walk around Victoria - so much to see and so little time...
Couldn't fault the food from any of their restaurants. Very reasonably priced and good quality.
Slight downside was the reticence of a couple of the reception staff to smile. When asked a question they gave one syllable answer.
But, hey! I am on holiday to enjoy myself, not complain. Overall well worth staying at Exec for many more positive than negative reasons.

  • Liked — The Views from higher floors
  • Disliked — External noise and no a/c
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issaquah, wa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked this hotel through the Victoria Clipper. The location of this hotel was great - close to the Empress Hotel, Government Street, Harbor, etc. There is a condo project that is being built across the street and the noise from this project is very hard to ignore. It started about 7:30am. I'd recommend bringing earplugs if you want to sleep in. We were on the 15th floor and directly across from the construction. It may help if you can ask for a room on the opposite side of construction.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive House Hotel

Address: 777 Douglas Street | at Burdett Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
#23 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to announce that the Executive House Hotel is being re-branded as DoubleTree by Hilton™ Hotel & Suites Victoria. Total refurbishment of the entire hotel is currently under way and upon re-opening, in Spring 2015, the hotel will be the first Hilton branded hotel on Vancouver Island. Travellers to Victoria will soon have access to the acclaimed Hilton HHonors Rewards Program, where they can redeem points towards hotel stays, vacation packages, air miles and a host of exclusive benefits. The addition of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria to Hilton's portfolio of international hotels opens the door for loyal Hilton travellers to explore the sights of British Columbia's capital city and the natural beauty of Canada's Pacific Northwest. The hotel remains locally owned by the same family, as it has for over 49 years. We will continue to offer a warm friendly welcome and the same dedication to customer service that makes you feel right at home; the DoubleTree by Hilton culture shares the same values that the Executive House Hotel has delivered for years. Victoria and Vancouver Island will welcome a reputable, dynamic, global brand known for its commitment to the highest quality of guest service. And so, although the hotel will undergo some changes, the commitment to our guests and the local community remains the same. We look forward to welcoming you with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie in Spring 2015! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Executive House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.