We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay and Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here recently and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and the staff were very friendly. You cant beat the location. Right in downtown close to many restaurants. I look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The suite is great with lots of room and a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks Ben! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel. Our location is wonderful, right in the heart of downtown Victoria. We are walking distance to most sites and attractions, and local transit to attractions out of town is just around the corner from our front doors. We also have 4 bikes available for guests to sight see with, for three hours at a time during daylight hours. Please consider us again on your next visit to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    265
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
187
262
63
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughter and I took her 2 little boys to Victoria for the weekend. The staff at the Carlton Plaza were all so nice and treated us really well. We ran into a few challenges traveling with little ones but found the staff to be quite accommodating and very helpful. Thank you for contributing to a very memorable getaway!
Wendy B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks Wendy for taking a few minutes out of your busy day to leave us this nice review. We loved having you both, and the boys in the hotel! (it's always fun to recommend good spots for kids to visit) We're very close to the Bug Zoo- a hit with the little ones, as well as Beacon Hill Children's Farm, Fisherman's Wharf (where the Harbour Seals rest and play) as well as some amazing restaurants, and other attractions. Come back and bring the family any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

located in the middle of downtown victoria, close to great restaurant, plus local stores if you forget something from home. checking was fast and enough staff working to help guest. very clean room and gave us a suite (reserve for a regular room) with full kitchen and living room and dinnette. close to a lot of the attractions in the city. definitely coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Good Afternoon! We appreciate the time you took to leave us this nice review, it was wonderful having you at the hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed the upgrade from a traditional to a studio suite. The suites are a bit more spacious and offer a full kitchen (with the required utensils and accessories!) as well as a pull out sofa and seating area. We look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Clean, well-appointed rooms. Coffee maker and refrigerator in room. All staff were courteous and friendly. Beds were very comfortable. Definitely recommend for a family trip. Stayed 07-06-14 through 07-08-14.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you KW for this to the point and great review! Our comfortable rooms are equipped with a tea and coffee station, mini fridge, complimentary bottle water and much more. For families requiring a bit more space, or those hoping to do a bit of cooking on their vacation we have suites available for $20 more per night which boast a full kitchen and pull out sofa seating area.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When I booked, the hotel was described as "not central" to Victoria's most popular attractions. And the rate certainly showed it--the rate was nearly half of some of the waterfront options I considered. I was very happy to find that the location was perfect. So, I didn't have a view of the harbor. Instead, I had a lovely suite (with fridge, stove!? and large kitchen sink), on a relatively (for a city) quiet intersection for a very reasonable rate. My family was within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbor area, the museum, all the sites I wanted to see, and a nearly straight drive of 30 minutes to the ferry terminal Who could want more? The check-in staff were helpful, friendly, and competent. Our room had 2 full beds and a pullout sofa,and was very roomy for 4 people. Valet parking is the only option, but was a reasonable $13 per day and the valet service had full in/out privileges. On a very pricey trip, this was the best value we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and in Victoria. I'd like to thank the reviewer for pointing out, that while we are not a waterfront hotel- our location is a major positive point for us. We are walking distance to great restaurants, attractions, the inner harbour, as well as city transit to Butchart, Craigdarroch Castle and much more. If you have a question about our location or transportation in and around the hotel- we encourage you to call us directly at 250-388-5513 so that we can help you best plan your trip. Thanks again for choosing our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were very polite and respectful of our belongings. We arrived too early to check in and they held our bags for us. The room was HUGE and very accomodating to the whole party of us. I have zero complaints about any noise or disruptions. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends and family and I will definetly be returning for future visits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for this great review! Our check in time is guaranteed at three p.m, though if you do arrive in town earlier- please stop by the hotel and we will see what we can do! If it is not possible to move things around, or find a clean room for you immediately we are always happy to store any luggage you have and register your car to park so that you may go and enjoy the city without the burden of finding parking, or carrying bags. On the departure side, our check out time is at eleven a.m and we are of course happy to lock up and bags, and keep the car until later in day if you are planning on spending a bit more time in Victoria before departing. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pro-- good location close to Chinatown and walkable to the Inner Harbour area
Good staff throughout the day and night
Clean and maintenance in the lobby going on( painting)

Con-- noisy street noise and noise in the hallways from other patrons
Could hear the thump of the music from the pub

Biggest nuisance is the valet service. They take your vehicle away and you have to request it when you want to use it. Definitely found it hard at night to find a place to park it and then have them 'valet' it . We drove around the block 4 times before we found a spot to park it for the valet. Perhaps the hotel or the City street department could paint lines in the parking zone so the vehicles took the appropriate space allowance. This would reduce frustration for the hotel patrons trying to enter the hotel to register etc.

Room was smaller than what we are used to, but understand this is a downtown hotel. Liked the toilet being in a separate room from the sink area.

Next time we will look elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room not close to the pub and avoid a room on Johnson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing our property and writing this review. As stated, we do our best to keep the hotel clean, comfortable and refreshed by ensuring ongoing maintenance and updates. I must apologize if you experienced any extended waits with our valet service. As with the majority of downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking and a result we park in a gated area off site. It does take 10-15 minutes to retrieve vehicles from this lot, though we are always able to pre-schedule any car to be waiting out front of the hotel whenever it will be needed. On occasion when our loading zone is very busy, our valets need to be quite quick in clearing space in the zone. Our parking costs $13 per night and if a guest would prefer to drive their own vehicle, we are more than happy to accommodate this, and will have a valet escort them to swipe them in and out of the gated areas. Thank you again for choosing us on this last trip to Victoria, and I hope we see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers
Harbour Towers
#22 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#17 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.