We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our hotel in Victoria...twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Loved our hotel in Victoria...twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We started our vacation on Vancouver Island in Victoria and ended it there about 10 days later. This is a lovely hotel, very central, walking distance to the water, to main thoroughfares - Douglas, Government, etc - chock full of restaurants, bars, stores, coffee houses, pubs, and still walking distance, maybe about 10 minutes to Empress Hotel. We found it good value, very well maintained, very clean, and with an exceptionally nice staff. Our first time, 3 nights, we had a room on the 5th floor, one of the smaller ones, but made larger by some architectural design by its proximity to the elevator . We did not hear the elevator, just enjoyed the extra space. The only inconvenience was the tight space between the sink, which was outside of the bathroom, and the closet opposite the sink, with the bathroom door always in the way. A nice large TV gave us access to the FIFA and Wimbledon matches.There is a restaurant in the hotel - Stone's Throw - where we had a substantial breakfast and good service. When we checked out and reminded the young woman at the reception that we will be back for one more night, she offered us complimentary upgrade to a larger room with a kitchen. indeed, when we returned to Victoria after a fabulous excursion through the gorgeous Vancouver Island, we were taken to our larger suite on the 4th floor, a large spacious room with a full kitchen, a sitting area, and a bathroom with the sink inside and no conflict with the closet. So sorry we had only one night, as we were on our way back home. We had a rented car that we parked with the hotel, actually it was valet parking, as everything else efficient and done with a smile, for $13. Staying at this nice hotel enhanced our visit to Victoria. We hope to return one day to the land of the Pacific Ocean, and we know which hotel we will return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Good Morning. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here on the Island and our hotel enough to come back again on the return trip! Our central location is what attracts most travellers to the hotel, and the staff do their best to ensure your stay is amazing so that you return again. Our suite rooms typically run $20 more per night than the traditional rooms and include a full kitchen as well as a pull out sofa and seating area for those needing a bit more room. Our parking is $13 a night, and does come with a 24 hour unlimited valet service. Please come back and see us again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    234
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
165
236
57
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Location, location, location! It's perfect for not being right on the water. Central to all the happenings of Victoria. Clean, the staff are simply amazing! Will definitely
come back here to stay. They even have bikes to borrow for a couple of hours/day. We had a suite which was just like aN apartment. Perfect way to keep expenses down when you can buy some
local produce and keep it fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello! We're so glad that you enjoyed all that Victoria had to offer. We do have bikes available for guest use. They are available during daylight for up to three hours at a time. We provide helmets and water, and any directions you may need. The Kitchen suites are fabulous for those hoping to do a little cooking, and our proximity to the Hudson Market, Bastion Square market and several grocery stores makes whipping up a few meals a breeze. For those hoping to eat out, there are great options just steps away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in a suite that accommodated 6 adults. The kitchen was more than adequate, the suite spacious. Not much of a view, but it was a great location, and easily walkable to anywhere. Staff was helpful, and we had no issues checking in/out.

Room Tip: No pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for this quick and kind review! Our location is one of our strengths as we're right in the downtown area just steps away from all the restaurants, sights, and attractions. The suite described is great for those needing a bit more space, because the full kitchen and pull out sofa can help accommodate a larger crowd. Guests can feel free to call us directly at 250-388-5513 and we can help choose the prefect room for your needs! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, being made smaller by locating the washbasin outside the bathroom in what was a corridor from the room with the wash basin one side and the wardrobe and safe area the other. Occasionally this could be inconvenient if one person was using the washbasin and the other wanted access to either the bathroom, of clothes. The staff were uniformly helpful and efficient. The lobby area is attractive. Most downtown attractions are within walking distance. The restaurant is a separate concern, owned by the chef. Friends complained that it was understaffed to the point of being chaotic at breakfast. We ate out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for this kind review! We have many different rooms types and variations, and strive to choose the best fit for each guest. Our traditional rooms are available with typically either two double beds, or one Queen. We also have a selection with a King, or with two Queens. These rooms contain a mini fridge as well as a coffee/tea station. Our suites (which cost an average of $20 more per night) are fabulous for guests hoping to cook, or spend more time relaxing at the hotel as they include a full kitchen and a seating are which includes a pull out couch to increase the sleeping capacity by two. We are well located within the downtown core, walking distance to all of the sights, attractions, restaurants and cafes!

Thank you again for choosing our property, we hope you will think of us again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Man
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed in Victoria for three nights during tour of coastal Washington and BC. Good, clean, and comfortable room facing onto Johnson St. Bathroom was disappointing as wash basin area separate from bath and WC which was inconvenient. Substantial construction noise in immediate vicinity during early morning but no doubt this is temporary. Reception staff very helpful. No attached restaurant but used conjoined Stones Throw restaurent for dinner and breakfast. The latter was disappointing. Much better bet - used for breakfast and lunch - is John's Place (5 mins away) recommended by hotel reception. Bikes and helmets availabe free of charge from reception.

Recommend tour of BC Parliament and also Harbour Air Services (seaplane air tours or flights to Vancouver and elsewhere).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing us! Our comfortable and clean rooms are the perfect landing point for any traveler. We are just walking distance from sites, attractions, restaurants and cafe's and our friendly front desk staff are always delighted to share their favourites. Our bikes are available for any guest to borrow during daylight hours for about 2 hours at a time. No charges apply, and we of course supply a helmet! Just stop by the front desk to sign a waiver and take one for a spin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotels in Victoria is rather expensive, and I did not want to pay twice as much to stay in a Hilton property in Victoria BC. This one is down town alright. The hotel provides valet parking for a much higher rate, but if you happen to be checking in at the weekend, you can park in the street for free until Monday morning. We had no problem of finding street parking around the corner. Location is good, if you are taking the ferry from Port Angeles, it is a few minutes drive from the ferry terminal. It is within walking distance to the inner harbor, the parliament and Chinatown. The hotel's room is very outdated, it is in need of upgrade and renovation. The service is ok, nothing stands out. The lobby is funny, you have to wheel your luggage around the back of the house to get to the elevator. There is a restaurant in-house -- Stone Throw, and I had not try it, because there are so many choices to eat around the property. By the way, the rate does not include breakfast. There is suppose to be a gym too, but I drove away in the early morning and had not tried the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review our property. We do have parking available for $13 per night which is standard in the downtown core. As it is offsite, we include a complimentary 24 hour valet service which is unlimited. Parking on the street is pay in the core, except for Sundays and Holidays. We are in the heart of downtown, and just steps away from many restaurants and hot spots! Our comfortable and clean rooms are the perfect launching point to everything that downtown has offer, and I promise, despite the scary filter on the pictures included with this review- are very bright a cheery :)

We have two elevators located in the hotel, one is smaller located directly in front of the entrance and adjacent to the front desk. There is another large elevator located at the far end of the lobby, which is accessible by taking a few steps down into a sunken reception area (with entrances to the nail salon, hair styles and clock repair store) or by taking a ramp, which does loop behind the elevator passing our guest laundry facility.

Please come back and visit again, and be sure to try the Stone's Throw next time for breakfast, their waffles are amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our stay at Carlton Plaza in 2011 was special as it was me and my wife's honeymoon hotel. We came from Butchart Gardens by bus, and the bus driver/guide dropped us off at the Carlton Plaza. When we checked in we told them it was our honeymoon and so they gave us a free upgrade to a suite. It was a big room with 2 beds, a sleepaway couch in a small living room with a flatscreen tv. Plus a bathroom and a kitchenette with a small stove and microwave, and small dining table. It was perfect for our two night stay there and right in the middle of downtown so everything was fairly close, and buses were nearby too so we could get to places like Craigdurroch. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with us finding places to go, the bus stop and where the closest bank was. I used the small fitness center which had some good exercise equipment to use when my wife was napping. Rate costs more but that's because of the location, but we spent a little more since it was a special occasion. But I recommend it if you'd like to stay downtown and don't want to get an overly ritzy and pricey hotel.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice if that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Congratulations and thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion! I'm thrilled we were able to upgrade you into a suite for your stay. They are wonderful for those guests spending more time at a hotel as they include a full kitchen and seating area with pull out couch. Our central location makes us the perfect spot for those visiting Victoria, we're just steps away from all that the city has to offer. Call us when you book your next anniversary trip, we'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.