We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good price and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was very lucky to find the Best Western Carlton in Victoria. I am constantly travelling to Victoria for business and need to keep the bill on budget. The Best Western offers a good price, but they also offer top notch service as well. Not always the case with an affordable price point. And the location is great! The valet parks my car for me when i check in, I can walk to all my meetings throughout my stay, no worries about parking. It's perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Jennifer and thank you again for your kind review! It's always a pleasure to see that our repeat guests are happy. Parking at the hotel is $7 a night in the winter and $12 a night in the summer season, and comes with our unlimited valet service. The hotel is walking distance to most everything in the downtown core, and many guests choose to leave their vehicles in parking for the duration of the stay. We look forward to having you back again the next time your meetings bring you to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    252
    67
    15
    12
See reviews for
174
249
61
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Plus in Victoria, BC in December 2013. The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to my favorite places in Victoria. The Public Market was a 10 minute walk. I found some of the best restaurants during my exploration of downtown Victoria.

The staff was extremely friendly and make suggestions for deals on nearby restaurants. The front desk clerk even made my reservation for my hotel in the US and made sure that reward points were added.

I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I chose a room on the front side because I like to see the everyday coming and going of city life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing us, and for your kind review! The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is certainly a gem. Walking distance to restaurants, sights, the new Victoria Public Market located in the old Hudson Bay building and proximity to transit means that you are never far from where you need to be. We look forward to seeing you again on your next Victoria visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Make sure you get a room on the top floors. The bars in the nearby area are noisy if you are on the 1 - 4 floors. Rooms are nice. Beds comfortable. Walking distance to nice Asian restaurants. Parking costs $7 per day extra which I did not notice when booking. Its all valet parking. Hotel is cheaper than many Best Western's so that makes up for some of the hassles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write this review. As the reviewer stated we are a downtown property, and though we do not have on site parking we do offer it at $7 a night in the winter. Our parking comes with a valet service, is 24 hours and unlimited in/out privileges. Though we are in an urban setting, rooms on the back side of the hotel are especially serene for even the lightest sleepers and tend to be popular no matter what floor. We hope to see you again on your next Victoria visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a nice place to stay in Victoria. If you don’t want to pay what the Inner Harbour hotels charge, stay here. It is a great location downtown. You can walk to lots of nice restaurants and pubs. There is lots of shopping nearby. The inner harbour is a short walk. The area feels safe and it is very pretty at night.

The room is what you expect from a Best Western…good mattress and pillows, fairly roomy and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room had a small fridge. There is an exercise room on the first floor that has a lot of equipment. The valet parking at this time of year is $7 per night. I think that is a good price for downtown.

We only had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was good and the server very congenial.

My only complaint with the room is that the drinking glasses were plastic and the coffee cups were Styrofoam. I guess that does assure that they are clean.

I would stay here again and probably will!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing us on your recent trip to Victoria! We find our our location ideal as well, close to all the businesses and attractions of downtown, walking distance to everything and part of a vibrant neighbourhood. We do offer parking for $7 a night in the winter, and $12 a night in the summer. While we do furnish the rooms with to-go cups for guests, we're more than happy to provide glass and ceramic for those that prefer it as well. We hope to see you on your next journey down to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've been going to Victoria regularly for over 30 years and usually stay at the Bedford Regency, but decided to be different this year since I was getting tired of their 12 year old mattresses and 19" tube TVs. Saw the Carlton was nearby and gave it a try. Great price, nice downtown location and found the valet parking convenient. Rooms were "corporate" when compared to the Bedford (which has a "charm" to it), but if you look at a hotel primarily as a place to sleep or freshen up and spend most of your time out enjoying the city, the rooms are perfect as they were well lit and everything worked. Only issue is what other reviewers have raised: Get a room on a high floor, as there is a nightclub in the basement. It was not a problem for us on the 6th floor, but I felt sorry for anyone on floor 3 or lower...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Good Evening and thank you for giving our hotel a chance on your latest trip to Victoria! Our comfortable rooms are in the process of being updated, keeping the feel of the rooms fresh and cozy. We have both traditional rooms and suites available and for any guests planning on spending more time relaxing at the property, or preparing their own meals, the suites are a great option as they include both a full kitchen and seating area with pull out sofa for additional space. Thanks again for choosing us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel is in good shape. rooms are clean and air conditioned.
it is close to attractions and you can just walk from the hotel to downtown.
the only weak point is that they don't offer breakfast service. However there are plenty of restaurants around and you can find something.
It was a nice stay and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you Ehsan for your kind review. While we do not offer a continental breakfast at the hotel, the fabulous independent Stone's Throw restaurant is on site, and available for full service meals from 6:30 am onward. They offer an all day breakfast which has many great options, as well as their famous triangle burger, hand made on a Portofino bun. With our downtown location, there are many great options for a variety of cuisines just steps away from the hotel. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

i was extremely pleased with every aspect of your hotel, my room upgrade, the friendly helpful staff, the quiet, comfortable guest room, bed, shower, i used my kitchen which was great. i interacted with all the staff at the reception desk and all of them were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Nancy, thanks for taking the time to fill out this review. The suite described in this review included a seating area with pull out couch and a full kitchen. They are a great option for travelling families and those looking to avoid having to eat at restaurants for every meal. They are $20 more a night than a traditional room, and are extremely spacious and comfortable. Come back again and visit us any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.