We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #16 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a great price considering the quality of your room and it's distance to attractions in downtown Victoria. Bus lines run up and down the next block taking you to the gardens, the mansion, or where ever you'd like. It is steps away from Chinatown and right across from one of the most delicious Indian restaurants in Victoria. The staff was on point about restaurant suggestions, directions, and general service. I never felt unsafe in this location and although it does share the block with a night club, I never heard the bass!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I would like to thank Anilyn for this wonderful review. As Anilyn mentioned, we are centrally located just a few blocks away from China Town and 10 minutes away from many other tourist attractions in downtown, Victoria. There are many buses going by the hotel which make your trip more convenient. All our staff are real ambassadors of the city. We are always happy to assist guests with recommendations, directions, and other information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    191
    53
    12
    8
See reviews for
140
193
51
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location was very ideal though the staffing levels could have been higher. Was a very busy Sunday morning and they had 1 person on front desk and 1 in the restaurant, needed at least 2 at each, or assistance from a manager...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Tracie for staying with us and writing us a great review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We do our best to be attentive and prompt with our service all the time. We will make sure to keep it up. Thank you very much again, Tracie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Needed a room last minute in Victoria BC ( missed my ferry home). Not only were they able to accommodate me, they gave me a AA discount. The room had wi-fi, separate sleeping (2 dbl beds), living, dining & kitchen areas all very nicely furnished. No parking but for a very reasonable $7 they provide valet parking service and bring your car to the front of the hotel at the time you need it the next day. Beautiful room, very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Peejaay for this lovely review. We do offer a discount if guests book a AAA rate with the hotel, please let us know at the time your are making the reservation and don't forget to bring your card with you. Our rooms vary from a traditional queen room, to a one bedroom suite with two queen sized beds, kitchenette and a pull out sofa. We're more than happy to answer any questions you may have while reserving, to get you into the room most suited to your needs. Thank you again for the review, please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

By avoiding the waterfront, the hotel can charge a reasonable price for rooms. I had a suite with kitchen and living room for less than an ordinary waterfront place. Within a few blocks are dozens of restaurants and great stores. Don't miss Marigold for breakfast and the world-class Green Cuisine vegetarian restaurant just down the street. China Town was close by, and many coffeehouses. The staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. At night there are a few street people hanging around on the sidewalks in neighboring blocks, but nothing most cities don't experience. Parking cost $12 a day, with unlimited in-and-out valet service. My wife and I look forward to returnig here soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Robert, for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is centrally located with fabulous shopping, restaurants and sights within walking distance of our door. Although we are not a waterfront property, the hotel is only a 5-10 minute stroll down beautiful Government Street to the inner harbour. Into our winter season now, parking is only $7 per night and does come with the unlimited valet service, 24 hours a day. Thanking you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo,CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We are on a 3 week road trip vacation from S.Calif. to Vancover and the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza in Victoria is definitely the best hotel of our trip. They upgraded us to a room that has a kitchen and a living room area. WOW! and the staff is so pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review. Yes, our suites are perfect for anyone looking for a little more space. Typically they are twenty dollars more per night than a standard room. The suite contains a kitchen, pull out sofa sofa and seating area and a larger floor plan. Most guests who bring cars to the hotel choose to park with us at $7 per night, we offer a complimentary valet service with our parking that is 24 hours, and unlimited access. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start and finish of a biking trip on Vancouver Island. The hotel was clean and nice and the staff was very helpful. We were able to bring our bikes into the lobby and unload them and then the staff took them to the basement to store them safely and returned them to us in the morning when we were ready to load them and ride. The hotel was very convenient to stroll into town for dinner and close to the Johnson Street Bridge to begin our bike trip on the Galloping Goose Trail. Our rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you Sofie, for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay here. We are very centrally located, perfect for any guests walking to restaurants, sights and attractions downtown. For those guests without their own bikes, we do have four to borrow for our guests for two hours at a time, complimentary. Thank you, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here one night on September 8, 2013 when me, wife, and an adult son visited Victoria for the first time. Picked this hotel in a package deal from Victoria Clipper (catamaran ferry between Seattle, WA and Victoria) that also included The Butchart Gardens. I could have picked another hotel from the list offered by Clipper, but being a BW Rewards member, I chose this hotel. We were given Room 415. It was well appointed, but it smelled vomitus. It was hard to tell where the smell was coming from. Maybe a previous occupant puked in the room. Since we were only staying one night and we came back to our room late after a night out in the city, we did not make a big deal out of it. Of course, I told front desk upon checkout. Also be forewarned - - of all the BW properties we've been to, this is the only one that does not provide complimentary breakfast despite its being a BW Plus

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
First of all thank you for bringing this issue to our prompt attention. We do take pride in our clean rooms and housekeeping department here at the hotel. Though our housekeepers are incredibly vigilant, certain issues remain undetected until more time has been spent in the suite. Upon checkout, we were able to notify our housekeepers who were able to rectify the situation. I thank you again for taking the time to write this review, and for letting us know of your issue with the room on checkout. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel to your Saves list