We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Marmalade Restaurant & Catering

Lady Marmalade Restaurant & Catering
608 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 967 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ukiah, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This restaurant is small and unassuming when you walk by but the smells of fabulous food draw you in and you will be glad you took the chance to try it. The fusion flavors of Mexican food and the sauces are awesome! The whole wheat breakfast crepe was delightful. Locals know this is the place to go for breakfast!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“What a great find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were roaming the streets of Vancouver... Hungry for breakfast and in a mood, when we happened upon this little gem. All-day-breakfast! I had hue is rancheros with fresh coriander, avocado, chili. Heaven! Kids had the most delicious French toasts and waffles. Only idea for improvement: we'll the coffees and cappuccinos are good by anyone's standard I guess. However in such a cool, hip and delicious place I would whoosh for barrista-style coffee (the heart of milk, you know what I mean)..,that would make this place perfect...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwood, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Downtown Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was in downtown Victoria yesterday and needing a good hearty breakfast. We wound up at Lady Marmalade on Johnson Street because John's Place was too busy. So one thing you will have to get past right away. The decor is . . . well to be honest there really isn't a decor . . . just an odd collection of tables and chairs.
So if you can get past the look (btw it is very clean) go in and try the Huevos Rancherettes with a side of Bangers. That is what I had and I was very impressed. In fact everyone in our group thought the food was great. When the bill came, for three people, plus tip , it was less than $50.00. Give this a try. It is worth the effort.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chill atmosphere - GREAT food~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I can't belive only 4 people have reviewed this place, and that one person complained so much! LM is an excellent brunch place that offers unique takes on classic fare. There are lots of veggie options and the place is decorated like my grandparents' cabin if my grandparents had suddenly turned into hip hippies;)

Definitely recommended!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“They garnished the parfait with a bagel - intense food experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Love the Lady Marmalade in Toronto so I had to stop by. Did no disappoint. The staff are a bit more tattooed than in Toronto, the music louder and funkier. The food is fresh, excellently prepared, service is great. Has the feel of a local hang out rather than a tourist location. Coffee was perfect, I ordered a parfait and it came garnished with a bagel. (!!!) That they started blaring "Venus as a Boy" when my breakfast was set in front of me only added to the positive experience. Would absolutely go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Marmalade Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Lady Marmalade Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Marmalade Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.