We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swans Hotel & Brewpub to your Saves list
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Pandora Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Zurich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very charming boutique hotel, a really fun place. The suites are huge, on two floors. The sleeping rooms are upstairs under the roof, so be aware that they may get quite hot in the summer. The location is great to explore the old town. We enjoyed the live music in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    67
    18
    15
    8
See reviews for
48
86
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We've been staying here nearly 20 years and I can attest that it has maintained its standards of charm, friendliness and cleanliness throughout this time. We've stayed in a number of hotels in Victoria, but always come back to this one. It's one of the coolest, funkiest "boutique" hotels around!

Prices have gone up as anywhere, but it's still very reasonable (but not cheap.) Free wifi. The furnishings are well maintained, the beds comfortable and the ambience is novel and interesting. Families: check out the two bedroom / two floor suites -lots of room for lots of people. (Only downside is there's only one bathroom.)

The artwork throughout the building is excellent and the late owner had quite the eye for PNW Native American/First Nation carvings. (If you ask nicely, one of the managers can arrange a tour of the penthouse suite, the former residence of the late owner, filled with artwork - that's worth a visit!)

The Swans restaurant/pub downstairs shares in that art tradition as well and has a fairly broad range of dishes and an excellent draft beer selection. The attached Wild Saffron restaurant offers a bit more "upscale" dining. There is live music (and dancing) nightly at the Swans and on weekends it can get quite crowded. (There are a lot of regulars there so don't be surprised if the surrounding tables clear out at the first sound of music and the floor is filled with some pretty fancy high-steppin'!)

Due to the nightly music, if you have young children or are of the "early to bed" persuasion yourself, be sure to ask for rooms not above the restaurant as it can get a little noisy depending on the band playing that night. (Not too bad, though.)

The staff is very friendly and helpful (- that counts for a lot in my book!) The location is great, just at the edge of Chinatown, and about 10 minutes from the ferry dock in the inner harbor.

Check out the Swans next time you're in Victoria - and have some fun! Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms not above the restaurant are quieter at night due to the live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Though this little gem just off the heart of down town Victoria and one block from the sea may look a little dated... It is the place to stay! Food was amazing, they brew their own beer ( with a beer tasting card when you check in). Live music every night and attention to detail with a patio pot of herbs, basket of apples with coffee available in the morning and not once did the desk clerk for get to greet us with a hello and a warm smile!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I loved the location of this hotel because it was close to the boutique shops and chinatown, which had more of a 'local' feel in my opinion than downtown areas. We stayed one night and the room was nice, but I think this is better suited for people staying for a longer duration since there is a full kitchen we never even utilized. We were situated above the bar and luckily we went to bed late or else we would never be able to sleep due to the noise. We were not warned of this by front desk when checking in. I think our room was directly above the bar, so the noise is inescapable. If you like a quiet night I highly suggest staying far from this area of the hotel. We had really loud neighbours above us until 3ish am and had to involve the concierge twice to keep the noise down. He did exactly that and I was very pleased with the service. I realized the walls (and floors) are paper thin. Our window faced the creepy old building across the street but we did have a bit of a view of the water.

Overall, it was a nice stay but I would not recommend to people who won't be using the kitchen area, because why pay that much extra for something you won't be using?

Room Tip: Rooms that are not directly above the Bar will be quieter, since they play live music every night, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very comfortable hotel. More spacious than most, with the bedrooms up stairs & bathroom on main level. A bit of a draw back if you need to go in the night...
Parking was around the corner in an open lot.
Many shops nearby & across the street. Lots of non-chain little cafes and restaurants. I prefer to frequent non-chain coffee shops and there are a few choices up the street frequented by locals. I had a very decent breakfast in one of them [forgot the name now].
The area has become gentrified and now includes an interesting variety of home decor/design shops, including Capitol Iron, and Opus for art lovers & makers. There's all the touristy shops and so forth in the other direction along Government.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice location, very spacious suites and great beds. Only tiny littel minus is that the bedrooms in our suite were upstaurs and the bathroom was downstairs, but apart from that would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice hotel, that isn't a like every other hotel out there. We had a nice room, with a small kitchenette, and kingsize bed. The room was fairly newly renovated, and was really comfortable, with great vaulted ceilings with a french balcony. It's located right downtown, and walking distance to the parliament, restaurants, and chinatown.

We were on the second floor and the bar below wasn't overly loud, but we could hear it, so any light sleepers would be wise to ask for a third floor apartment. Parking was not free ($9.50 a night). However, all things considered it was a great hotel, and I would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#8 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#16 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,475 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 58 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Victoria
#25 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swans Hotel & Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.