We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Save Saved
You added Swans Hotel & Brewpub to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Pandora Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIALS
Ranked #24 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Angela at the front desk was very helpful upon check in. We told her of the very expensive cab ride we had from the ferry ( $65 including tip) and she suggested that we take a bus back to the ferry when we were ready to leave several days later. It took us within a block of the ferry terminal.

We had a one bedroom loft and were very surprised at how large the room was, more like a suite! It had a full kitchen, dining area and a nice gas fireplace in the living room. The upstairs loft area as very nice especially with the skylight. The bed was very comfortable too. The only drawback was that there was no bathroom upstairs. The decor here was beautiful, the artwork was great as well.

The food at the pub downstairs was wonderful with a very large selection. It was fun to be there marveling at all the beautiful wood structures and all the artwork and carvings. We didn't get a chance to go listen to music at night, but others said it was alot of fun.

This hotel was very reasonable and you get alot of comfort for the money. It is more of a place for couples than for families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsaacMtz, Front Office Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to meet your expectations with food and service as well. We take great pride in our art collection and are always happy when guests also appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    51
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
67
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really liked this hotel. The lobby was very small and cozy, so we expected the same when we reached our room. We were wrong! Our one-bedroom suite was as large as a decent sized one bedroom apartment! Beautiful artwork adorn the walls, which we understood to be art from the original owner's personal collection. It had a nice, fully-appointed kitchen, and the bed was a dream it was so comfortable! The place was clean, clean, clean! The location makes for an easy walk to many of Victoria's historic sites. A couple of things to note: the bedroom is upstairs, a loft you'll find at the top of steep stairs. The one bathroom is located downstairs. My husband has a serious heart condition, and after a scary episode walking back up the stairs after a nocturnal visit to the bathroom, he had to opt for sleeping on the downstairs sofa. Overall though, this is a really lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three beautiful days at this hotel. Everything was within reasonable walking distance. Great variety of beer, food, music every night, and no rain! Lots to see near beautiful harbor. Beds were comfortable, staff very courteous. Parking is one block off property. We never used the car, occasionally taking bus service, which was great. Buchart gardens is only 20-30 minutes away, a must-see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights in Swans, and it was not a particularly pleasant experience. However, I will begin with the strengths of the hotel, which are its front desk staff. Both of the staff we encountered were pleasant, helpful and quite competent. The cleaning staff did a cursory tidy-up. Where things went downhill was in the physical layout of the rooms (dark, bizarre layout, and no air conditioning or airflow whatsoever in the bedroom). It was stifling hot in our room. Add to that the bizarre nature of downtown Victoria- some time of festival in an open-air market across the street with music so loud you could feel it in the walls of our room until after 1 am. 3 out of 10, and those 3 are due to the great front desk!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsaacMtz, Front Office Manager at Swans Hotel & Brewpub, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. While some things we cannot change due to being a heritage building we do appreciate your comments. It is unfortunate that the music festival going on while you were with us was so loud and very late. We were not aware that this would affect our guests as much as it did that weekend and will hopefully be able to warn our guests if this festival returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we had a 2 bedroom suite and it was very clean and spacious. Also great location near restaurants and harbour. Downstairs is a brewery and restaurant which we ate in for dinner. This is a good value place to stay and we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Small, European style hotel, but wonderful option for families with children. Our room was a very comfortable two bedroom suite, all for less than most other single hotel rooms. We had two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs, a full living room and kitchen studio downstairs. With three children too young to stay in a room on their own, we couldn't have had a more perfect set up, with a small patio to boot.

Tiny lobby with just a reception desk, but very helpful and gracious staff. Popular brewpub and restaurant downstairs, but no noise problems. (Great beer.) Some of the facilities and furnishings are a bit worn, but great value for the cost. Not luxury service, but that wasn't as important to us; the place has a really great vibe, so different than a big chain, more like a European inn. Location was fantastic, easy walking distance to a wide range of restaurants and most downtown attractions, but far enough away from the harbor to avoid the cruise ship crowds. Very interesting shopping-boutiques in the surrounding blocks.

I'd strongly recommend Swan's to most.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites were great value for families with 2 or more children that need to stay in one ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My two sisters and I spent a wonderful week in August at the Swans Suite. We booked a one bedroom suite. The suite downstairs included a kitchenette, bathroom, dining room, living room (with a fold out couch) and a bedroom with a king size bed upstairs. As we are all pretty restless sleepers, we were able to get a cot which allowed us to all have our own beds and sleep very comfortably. We found the suite to be quite roomy for three adults. Hugh at the front desk was very kind with showing us directions and letting us borrow a laptop and helping us get a taxi. The evening live music and the food at the Pub within the hotel was wonderful. The location of the hotel was within walking distance to most things we wanted to see and do. There is a coffee maker in the room and morning coffee offered in the elevator lobby which was very nice and a newspaper delivered to our door every morning. There is however construction close by but we were usually on the go most days and it didn't bother us too much.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
#24 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#24 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swans Hotel & Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.