We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfptable and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swans Hotel & Brewpub to your Saves list
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Pandora Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfptable and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We loved our extended weekend at Swans Suite Hotel. It is near everything. The service was personal, friendly and quite helpful. Our Loft Unit was huge. It had an entry area, closets, kitchen and very large and comfotable living room. I suspect the couch came out into a bed, but don't know for sure.

Above it all was a huge King Bed Loft, open to the lower floor with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for some time.

One caveat, the steps are steep. There's a rail and all, but you sleep upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs. I'm not sure how safe it would be for someone who stayed too long at the pub.

That said, I do want to mention that as much as we liked the hotel, The restaurant was a dud for us. It is crowded, so it is popular for many, but our one night's meal was with overcooked dry fish and beef and the beer wasn't anything special to us. Either an off night or we were fussy, but there are an incredible number of like pricecd and less expensive opportunities close to the hotel Ask about the Italian restaurant or the pizza place around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from where you can hear the pub's music at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    56
    12
    13
    7
See reviews for
40
73
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Swans Suite Hotel with our 2 children. The combination of multiple bedrooms and the living room / kitchen suite were perfect. The only thing keeping this review from being a 5 star rating was the location of the bathroom of the suite we stayed in being quite a bit aways from the bedrooms. The onsite bar was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I Travel to Victoria many times a year and after trying various Hotels in the area I now stay at Swans exclusively. It has wonderful charm and character that cannot be found at larger(newer) hotels. The loft bedrooms and full kitchen are ideal for a person like myself who is on the road a hundred days a year. The Brew Pub downstairs has something going on everynight of the week and the food is great. The hotel is within walking distance to everything downtown. The staff are wonderful, always ready to help and very courteous. I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed at Swans a few times already, always with family or friends, as they have great 1 and 2 bedrooms suites. The suites are set up so that the bedrooms are upstairs, and the living area, including kitchen and bathroom downstairs. We think this works wonderful as the kids can go to bed and stay asleep even if we're watching TV or having friends over for drinks in the living room.
You stay above a pub with live music - and yet we've had no noise issues. On the contrary, we've once received a coupon upon arrival to redeem some small beer samples (not sure that still gets done) which we loved. We also used the conveniently located liquor store! Kids in bed at 7 pm after running through the Museum, going to the Bug Zoo, watching a movie (from reception), and then parents can crack open a cold one.
We've visited a few times between Christmas and New Year when they seem to have special pricing on for their suites.
Walking distance to everywhere in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just stayed at this lovely little hotel for the first time and I can't believe it took us this long to find it! The brewpub and restaurant downstairs have been favourites for years and we have had MANY delicious lunches there. I think the hotel will now become a favourite as well.
First, the location. RIght in the heart of things. It's not on the Inner Harbour but it is walking distance to anything you might want to do in downtown Victoria, including the harbour, the parliament buildings, shopping, great restaurants, history, culture, name it. It's an older building, I believe it's a heritage building and has been restored and designed with that in mind. As soon as I walked into our suite I felt like I was in a small European hotel. Wonderful window/door that opens up to the street below. Very well equipped kitchen, with a stove, fridge, microwave, dishes etc. This suite would be ideal for small families staying in Victoria for a few days or more, as you could save money by eating meals in the suite.
The sleeping loft is pretty cool as well, although the stairs would certainly be an issue for some. A pretty long flight of stairs leads up to a king size bed, desk, tv, closet with terry robes. Two big windows, so lots of light.
I would definitely stay here again. The only down side could be the location, which is also one of the best things about it. There is a pub downstairs, and it IS on a pretty busy street, so although it wasn't noisy when we stayed there (Saturday night) I suppose it could be. Also not for people with disabilities.
Other than that, we had a lovely stay. Also forgot to mention it's incredibly reasonable for a suite! We paid $129. for the night. Well worth it. AND there is a cold beer and wine store right downstairs. Doesn't get much better than that!
If you are looking for new, shiny, luxury hotel- don't come here. If you want something a bit different and interesting at a great price, check out this boutique art hotel. Very cool indeed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Victoria. Our suite did have the bedroom located upstairs, which was a bit of a problem for me as I will be having knee surgery in a couple of weeks, but I realize after reading the reviews you can request a room without stairs, which in hind site I probably should have done. I would request a room on the 3rd floor if at all possible also, I think they are a bit brighter. Our suite was clean, comfortable bed, lots of pillows, quiet, great kitchen area, and had a small patio. No air conditioner, but it always cooled off enough at night to cool the room so it was never a problem and we slept wonderful. They do have large portable fans in the bedroom which are great also.

The brew pub downstairs had incredible food and excellent beer...we ate there more than once....delicious and great prices!

The parking is right across the street, never a problem and very secure.

Hotel is located within walking distance of downtown with lots of great restaurants and the harbor.

Staff was friendly and helpful...loved this suite hotel and would return!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, not above pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swans Hotel & Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swans Hotel & Brewpub

Address: 506 Pandora Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swans Hotel & Brewpub 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swans Hotel & Brewpub offers 29 unique and comfortable suites and is conveniently located in the heart of historic "Old Town" Victoria. We are a short walking distance to downtown's Inner Harbour, museums, galleries, events, entertainment, shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swans Hotel & Brewpub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swans Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swans Hotel & Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.