We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaconsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beaconsfield Inn to your Saves list
Beaconsfield Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   998 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Oak Harbor, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two Night Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This Edwardian Mansion rests in a quiet residential neighborhood only a few minutes from the hub of Victoria and the waterside. Its hosts provide exquisite gourmet breakfasts, such as crepes stuffed with fresh salmon or small lemon pancakes dressed with blueberries in a delicious syrup. Each room or suite is different from the others, beautifully designed and decorated, or if you prefer you can have early morning coffee, afternoon tea, or a bit sherry in the early evening in the library where you'll feel like this elegant home is yours, and your biggest challenge will be deciding which marvelous restaurant the host will reserve for your evening meal. I can't praise The Beaconsfield Inn and staff enough to do them justice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Beaconsfield Inn!
We all do our best to make our guest's stay as relaxing as possible, and to create a welcoming atmosphere so they can feel at home.Our sherry hour in the Library is a wonderful way to unwind and relax whilst deciding were to go for dinner!
We use local seafood in our breakfast dishes, glad to hear you enjoyed our smoked spring salmon crepes.
We look forward to hosting the two of you on your next two night getaway!

Gary and Warren
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
210
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Such a lovely place! Our room (The Veranda) was perfect for us, as was the bathroom. The Inn is larger than it looks, and the attention to detail is notable. The hosts could not be more helpful. Warren got us tea and dinner reservations, and they had many suggestions for restaurants and visits. They worked really hard to make us happy! It was especially important for us to be within walking distance to the city, and this Inn definitely is!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on your return visit!
The bathroom in your room is wonderful with the double corner jetted tub and corner shower!
It is always fun to help make dinner reservations for our guests and talk about their experience from the night before.
See you for your next anniversary!
Warren, Gary, Arland and Cora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were blown away by the ambience and charm of this building. The staff were over the top as the friendly, helpful hosts were more than ready to share the history of the house and to offer suggestions of things to see and do in Victoria. Breakfast was cozy and plentiful and very, very tasty. The Emily Carr Suite was huge and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are happy to hear you had an "Incredible Experience" at the Beaconsfield Inn! We are always so excited to share what we can about exploring beautiful Victoria, and helping in arranging sightseeing tours, tickets etc while our guests re staying with us.

See you on your next trip to Victoria!
Warren, Gary, Arland and Cora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We very much enjoyed this relaxing B&B. The location was perfect and we did not have a car. It was in a quiet neighborhood but walking distance to downtown (15 minute walk), five minutes to Cook Street with shops, restaurants, cafes, and grocery stores, and a few blocks to Beacon Hill Park. We stayed in the smallest room The Hideaway and we found it perfect for us. It was tucked away in the back on the first floor and it was quiet and cool, which was nice since it was a bit warm outside. And a good value. The room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. We relaxed in the library, met some nice couples over breakfast and enjoyed a run thru Beacon Hill Park and then along the water. It was gorgeous! The staff was friendly, available and very accommodating. A lovely old B&B in a lovely neighborhood. We highly recommend Beaconsfield Inn if you want a quiet place to stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write.
We cant agree more that the location is perfect! Trendy Cook St Village with shopping, cafes, and coffee shops. We know you enjoyed your runs through Beaconhill Park each morning before breakfast, what a great way to start the day. The library certainly provides a relaxing atmosphere to meet other guests, and to enjoy afternoon tea or complimentary sherry in the vending.
We look forward to hosting you for your next trip to Victoria!
Gary, Warren, Arland, and Cora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Beaconsfield Inn, in the Hideaway room. My only regret was I could only stay 2 nights. I found the room to be very comfortable. The 4 poster bed was a pleasure to sleep in. As I am 188 cm tall, this was a godsend.The room was quiet and well appointed with all you would need. The breakfasts were excellent. There were different menus each day and definitely meet the 5 star service one would expect. Gary, Warren and Arland made me very welcome. They took tome to make you feel at home and you, apart of a family. We were able to joke and have a laugh together. The location is excellent as it is only a short walk to the center of the downtown area (city).

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower north area would be quieter, but I found the area to be quiet and all rooms to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hello!
Great to see that you made it back to Australia safe and sound. It is such a pleasure for all of us to meet people from all over the world!
All our rooms feature new pillow top mattress's with feather bed toppers for the ultimate in comfort.
Thank you for choosing the Beaconsfield Inn and welcome to our extended family!
Gary, Warren, Arland, and Cora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Beaconsfield Inn in Victoria. So we could celebrate our 1st year Anniversary. The place so close to downtown,just 10 minutes walk. or 3-4 minutes driving to the harbour. If you love antique or old stuff and paintings and combine into a modern era...you will love this place. I love it specially their library. The building surrounded with trees and flowers - fabulous atmosphere, great and hot breakfast.The staff are very polite, helpful and the service was always with a smile. They will treat you not as a guest...but as a Family who mattered, from the time you arrived to the time you left. They will help you to book your tour as well and give you ideas in some places you want to go. The room we had was tastefully decorated and suited for any romantic thing you want to planned for and we had a very comfortable nights sleep.
We highly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in Victoria.The accommodations and level of service provided were beyond reproach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
It was truly a pleasure to host such a lovely couple for their first Anniversary.
It was jut as exciting to help you plan your days, dinner recommendations, and the surprise horse drawn carriage ride.

Welcome to our extended family and we look forward to hosting your for your next anniversary if not before!

Gary, Warren, Arland & Cora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Beaconsfield Inn in Victoria this past weekend, and it was truly amazing. The hotel was very well kept, The staff were wonderful, so accomodating, friendly, and very knowledgeable about things to do there. The breakfasts were the best I've ever had. I would absolutely recommend this bed and breakfast, and I'd certainly stay there again. I would like to say a big thank you to the owner and all the staff involved in making this stay a very wonderful
experience.
Mr and Mrs Watson

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary and Warren P, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are happy to hear you arrived back home safe and sound!
It was a pleasure hosting the 3 of you for your recent stay.
There are so many things to see and do we are excited to recommend to people.
It was great to have you share your previous day's adventure's during breakfast and promise to keep the coffee flowing for your husband!

Gary, Warren , Arland and Cora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaconsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Inn

Address: 998 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaconsfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Beaconsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaconsfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.