We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Marine Route

Scenic Marine Route
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Fairfield)
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 Attractions in Victoria
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic running and hiking trail along the Pacific.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Always a beautiful drive. I grew up in the Victoria many years ago and always take this drive when I get the chance. I was disappointed to see the old Oak Bay Beach Hotel gone and replaced by a building that was nothing like the old hotel - a beautiful new hotel but very different.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    64
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Curvy scenic driver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Awesome homes and water views. Where else can you see cliff jumpers and drive through a golf course?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable drive through the scenic route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Drove, loved it, rainy day, fresh breeze, not crowded, stopped to take pictures in many locations, was really enjoyable and relaxing. I went to dip my feet in the Pacific Ocean for the first time ever -:) Great unforgettable experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic on a nice day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We used a Gypsy guide (talking GPS) to take us ont eh Scenic Marine Route. I'm sure it can be done easily by just following the roads, but I can't comment on that.

The route takes you along the SE side of the island along luxury houses with great views of the Sound. We went in May, so the flowers were great. Each lawn is perfectly manicured. There is definitely money in this area!

There are several nice stops along the way where you can take nice photo's across the sound to Washington State. We went in late May, so there wasn't any traffic on the roads - but I can imagine the traffic would be crazy on a pretty day in the middle of the Summer.

Very nice way to spend 1+ hours driving around and dreaming. This tour would be best for elderly individuals that like to "view" things instead of a physical activity. Of course, the cost is free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rent a car and drive this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

You only need to rent the car for a day and it is easy to drive if you are used to the opposite side of the road like us. Stunning drive and so many places to stop that a bus tour won't do it justice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Marine Route also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Scenic Marine Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Marine Route, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.