We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Rooms and Helpful Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Romantic Rooms and Helpful Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We came for a relaxing overnight anniversary trip sans kids. All of the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly from the manager to front desk staff to housekeeping staff. We were early and they got our room ready for us. The room was romantic with comfortable furnishings (coach house). The appetizers were excellent and much more than I'd expect from a typical B&B - sashimi, shrimp salad, and a selection of cheeses with crackers. The common room was warm and inviting. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and very good (check listings, it seemed that this came with the room if we booked on their website, but may have been extra if booked from a different website). They also provided maps, recommendations about restaurants and other activities. While the nightly price is more expensive then some other places in the city, Abigail's offers many amenities that are not a part of the typical hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Dear Kirsten2010,

Thank you for the very nice praise. We are happy to hear that we were good hosts for your anniversary retreat and we wish you many more romantic retreats in the future.

Have a wonderful New Year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    43
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
381
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The employees and manager were simply terrific, giving lots of helpful hints about restaurants and activities. We thought the hotel provided very good value, and we'd definitely return if we go back to Victoria!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
NancyinLA,

Thank you for the kind words which I have shared with our team. It isn't always easy keeping up-to-date on events or restaurants in Victoria (they change as often as our wind), but we sure do enjoy trying!

Best regards and safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Abigail's Hotel is a lovely place filled with friendly (but not obtrusive) people. Our room was ultra comfortable and welcoming. Staff was friendly, professional and willing to provide for whatever needs we might have. Breakfast was delicious-the 3 berry crepes were delicious and the cheddar chive scone was one of the best I ever had. If it's possible, I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Jgranjan,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. The scones are a personal weakness for most of us around the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Everything about our stay in this small hotel was perfect. The outside aspect of the hotel is lovely - the grounds are beautifully planted. Inside, the furnishings are in the best taste and appropriate for the period. Our room with two double beds and bath was spacious but toasty warm. At 5 pm we were offered hors-d'oeuvres which included the most delicious thin salami I have ever tasted. We were served a several course breakfast in the morning with the chef available over a room divider for conversation with the guests. The employees of the hotel were extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a lounge beautifully furnished with wide-screen television, DVDs available, books, games and comfortable seating. I have nothing negative to say about this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Joziev,

Thank you for the glowing comments which I have shared with the staff. The comments we receive on review sites such as this are a great motivator for our team. Wishing you safe travels.

Sincerely,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

A beautiful hotel, warm & friendly staff, unbelievable breakfast and more that just an "evening snack". Don't miss out on this gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Gen131,

Thank you for the praise! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards and safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

It was great to wake up to the smell of fresh pastries in the morning which made it slightly easier to leave the warm and comfortable bed and head down for breakfast. The study / library was the perfect place for us to hide out from the early morning rain with a warm coffee and a good book. Early afternoon cleared up and the hotel was well located for a walk to the city’s inner harbour and local sights. From the front desk to the restaurant staff, everyone was fantastic. We’ll be back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

A wonderful, peaceful and charming Inn. I cannot rave enough about our stay at Abigail's. The staff is helpful, friendly and most accommodating. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The breakfasts were delicious with a different selection each morning. The early evening snacks were a nice treat after a day of touring. Abigail's is centrally located, and yet, in a very peaceful, residential area.
When in Victoria, if you do not stay at Abigail's, you will be missing out on a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.