We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a small intimate hotel close to the centre of Victoria, this is the one. Great hospitality from all the staff and superb breakfasts to set you on your way each morning. Attention to detail makes Abigail's a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amethyst Room which was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    51
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
470
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What an awesome experience we had staying at Abigail's! We spent four nights in an Emerald Room in the Coach House and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations and level of service. Enough cannot be said about the staff and the hospitality they exude. We were greeted warmly every time we entered the property and breakfast room. A special shout out to Melissa! The offerings at breakfast and the evening noshing were terrific. The furnishings and linens were superior and the room cleaned impeccably. Recommendations for restaurants were spot on. Very easy to walk everywhere and the Hotel was very easy to find with our directions printed from the internet. Abigail's....you set the standard high!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff are incredible, always there for you and eager to help. They made excellent suggestions for restaurants, tours, places to go, etc. The room was very clean, neat, had everything we needed and was charming. We also loved the breakfast, made to order by one of their chefs. The ladies at the front desk were fabulous.about 7-10 minute stroll to downtown or waterfront and Empress Hotel, great location and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: I think any room chosen would be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This Bed & Breakfast had some good aspects as well as some shortcomings. My husband and I were on a road trip that included BC, Canada and Washington and Oregon. So, there was a lot of luggage. We were booked in the Abbey Rose Room which I thought was on the third floor; however, from the parking lot, you walk down a floor to access the building, resulting in walking up 4 flights of stairs to the Abbey Rose Room. There were only young girls attending when we checked in, so it was up to us to carry the heavy bags up the 4 flights. The girls offered to carry them for us, but, my husband wasn't going to let them do that. The room itself, though small, had nice furnishings and comfortable bedding. There was an odd odor that we had to get accustomed to. BUT the worst things were: the tiny sink with NO space for our grooming supplies, and the "open" fireplace between the bedroom and bathroom. There was no privacy when in the bathroom. Had I realized this, I never would have booked it. The upside: the food and snacks were very good and the staff could not have been friendlier. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, with secure parking, but beware McClure street was difficult to find. Worth noting also is Abigail's is less than 15 minutes from the ferry that takes you to Port Angeles, Washington.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigails_GM, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear “Pickygirl09”,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with this community and for your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to read that your experience with us was only “Average”. Clearly we did not measure up to your expectations and for that I apologize.

Indeed we are an intimate 23 room, limited services property that by virtue of our size cannot offer some of the amenities or services expected from large hotels. We believe that we disclose these facts in significant detail on our website and in our correspondence (both phone and email) prior to arrival. Aspects such as our service offerings, amenities, directions to find us and the physical characteristics of our rooms and room locations are all detailed. If you found something to be specifically missing from any of these facets of communication please let me know as I would not want us to have any more misaligned expectations in the future. Please know that we do offer baggage assistance from strong and healthy housemen from 9am to 5:30pm, seven days a week. If there was a miscommunication from our desk team regarding this fact upon your check-in, we once again apologize.

Our Main House is three storeys height above ground, which under British convention means the top floor is our 3rd floor (it requires only three flights of stairs to get to). Under American convention I appreciate that this is called the 4th floor and this is indeed a cultural difference between our two countries.

Thank you for the kind words you had around our furnishings, bed comfort, food and the friendliness of our staff. Should you wish to discuss any aspects of your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards and safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Abigail's is a complete treat !! It was everything I hoped for - charming, elegant, a completely spoiling experience for my sister and me. The Staff is SO friendly, and helpful...the breakfasts are SO delicious, and different every morning. I have stayed in many hotels and B and B's and not many offer the comfort and attention to detail that Abigail's does. Abigail's is an easy walk to any other central Victoria attraction...my sister and I walked to dinner every night (which the the hotel staff booked for us before we arrived.) It was, quite simply, perfect. Keep it up, Abigail's - and thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I came to Victoria for our honeymoon and stayed at Abigail's for the length of our visit. Even though we booked the smallest room that the hotel offers, the level of elegance was still outstanding! Abigail's provides a gourmet breakfast with a varying menu, great friendly staff that can answer questions about the area, as well as a fantastic location to walk and explore. Highly recommend for couples looking for a romantic getaway!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have just spent three wonderful nights at Abigail's Hotel. It's two trip advisor awards for 2012 and 2013 will hopefully extend to 2014 as it was literally one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It's not an easy task to think of many more positive adjectives to describe this hotel, suffice to say, check all reviews!! Thank you Abigail's for your courtesy, your breakfasts, early evening snacks,your beautifully clean room, comfortable bed, garden patio in the sunshine and permanent smiles from all. We have told our Canadian family and they are keen to experience Abigail's when next in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.