We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old fashioned hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
kent uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“lovely old fashioned hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

we stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September and what a delight!!! There were 4 of us in the ruby room and there was plenty of room...breakfast was yummy and the staff were courteous and helpful. there was a bit of a mix up with the bill at the end of our stay but it was dealt with quickly and pleasantly!!! Must say the coffee on tap in reception was a welcome extra when I was up at 4.30am in the morning.....and I took a cup through to the library where I was able to connect to wifi easily and research our next stop !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    52
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
484
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The only room available was one without AC (we booked very late) and we were a little concerned. No need -- I guess in September AC is not necessary. The room was very luxurious. The daily breakfast was amazing. The staff was very helpful arranging tours for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A truly lovely hotel, spotless room, comfy bed and well equipped bathroom. Located down a dead end street so nice and quiet. A good breakfast with endless tea and coffee all day. Only negative would be no lifts so have to drag suitcases upstairs, and our room overlooked the car park..ugh, but nevertheless a charming old fashioned building.
Ate at the Flying Otter on the waterfront..excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacoast NH
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Conveniently located a short walk from downtown this small hotel is welcoming and comfortable. Arrived in time for the lavish 5PM hors d'oeuvres which we enjoyed outside in the gardens. The desk staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable proffering excellent advice regarding the area's attractions. Our room was large and comfortable with a beautiful stylish claw foot well appointed bath tub with rain forest shower head. Breakfast brought a choice of 3 entrees, plus an additional meat choice, fresh fruit, and a choice of baked goods. Eat inside or outside in the garden. Ample off street parking. I'd stay there again with eager anticipation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Abigail's hotel is the ultimate in luxury. The staff are a credit to the establishment, they are very attentive and helpful but not intrusive. The hotel offers aperatives each afternoon between 5-7pm enabling guests to socialise in the library area. The bedlinen is the height of luxury and is smooth and soft. The beds were also very very comfortable. I loved the digital alarm that had an ipad docking station and various types of sleep music. When we arrived it was switched on and was playing a restful tune, I recommend the nature one. It felt like home even though we were only visiting a couple of nights. Nick, the manager was very attentive and showed us round the rooms when we arrived ensuring we were familiar with all the amenities, he is what every hotel manager should aspire to be like. The hotel was 15 minutes walk from the centre of town and the dockside where there were a choice of whaling and seaplane trips. Nick made sure we were familiar with how to get wherever we wanted to go and gave each of us a map on which he had highlighted various places. Breakfast was prepared by the chef in the kitchen which was on view from the dining room. The menu changed daily, had 3 courses, catered for various tastes and was delicious. It was very quiet at night. Wish we could live there.

Room Tip: They are all fabulous, no duff rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Best hotel we stayed at in Canada. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast is amazing worth staying just for that. Our room lived up to our expectations. It is well situated in Downtown. We stayed in September and it was warm enough to sit outside. If we come to Victoria again we will be staying here. Thank you for such a wonderful, memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at Abigail's Hotel (which is a misleading name - it is a quaint, comfortable in every way, INN). Our room, though small, was charming. The breakfasts were delicious, The restaurant recommendations were excellent. But most of all the staff was PERFECT. Friendly, helpful, welcoming, everything you could ask for. The location, although a bit hard to find, was perfect for walking to town.

Room Tip: I suspect that the rooms in the newer coach house, though more expensive, would be spectacular. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.