We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel to end our V.I. Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel to end our V.I. Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. From arrival to departure of our 2 night stay we were treated courteously and with consideration. Front desk and staff were consummate professionals. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The morning breakfast ( included with the room) was uniquely offered (cooked to order from an open kitchen) and the selections offered were well thought out and delicious. Having the added benefit of dining outside enhanced the morning repast. Complimentary evening canapés on this same patio rounded out a typical day at this hotel.
The location is top notch with easy walking access to all the typical tourist venues and countless good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    51
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
470
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff are terrific, the rooms tasteful and comfortable, the location quiet and convenient. Most of all, there is a lovely atmosphere to the place - as guests gather at 5.00 for complementary appetisers (and,in our case, a glass or two of local beer) you are in an oasis of calm, sitting in the pretty garden and already thinking of the next morning's tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent a night here and the room was superb. Had to carry bags up three flights of stairs, which was no problem for us. Staff was very warm and welcoming. Super nice happy hour food spread. Breakfast was excellent. This was a splurge for us, but we were satisfied.

Room Tip: The older building is a bit farther from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on a short trip to Victoria and would have gladly stayed for much longer. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and assist with any query or question willingly and quickly. It is an independent hotel and the building is beautiful, sympathetically restored with perfect furnishings for the age of the building. Breakfast was the best we ate whilst travelling through British Colombia and Alberta and the service was impeccable. We had a lovely comfortable bed with good quality bed linen. We missed the appetisers but other guests stated they were delicious. We were able to walk from the bus station to the hotel in about fifteen minutes ( after getting slightly lost). It is a ten to fifteen minute all to the harbour. We would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent two nights at Abigail's and can't say enough good things about it. When we first arrived we were running late for high tea at the Empress. We were quickly checked-in and our bags were brought straight up to our room. We were given directions for the short walk and made it right on time. That evening we mentioned that we wanted to take the ferry from Victoria to Seattle in two days. They recommended that we make our reservations right away, and then brought up the website and helped us do it. Just two examples of the fabulous service we received.
The room had a fireplace and a spa tub large enough for two. A fantastic breakfast was also included.
I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs and small hotels. Abigail's is the finest we have ever stayed at. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are well equipped, and the amenities are great. The breakfasts are ordered off a changing menu and are excellently prepared. Each evening at 5 pm substantial appetizers are set up in the lobby adjacent to a comfortable library for socializing and relaxing. For us early risers, fresh coffee is set up in the lobby. The location was great and we were able to walk to restaurants for a couple of dinners. If it gets better than this, I'd like to know where.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Abigail's Hotel for two days while visiting Victoria. A lovely hotel within easy walking distance to the waterfront downtown area. Very comfortable rooms and cozy beds. The service is excellent! Breakfast is also outstanding - so fresh and delicious! Enjoy your stay at this convenient and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.