We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel but a little overpriced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct!
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel but a little overpriced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Abigail's last week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We tend to love a nice room with a view in a boutique hotel and are willing to pay extra. Vacations for us are not reduced to a list of things to see but rather plenty of time alone together in a sumptuous room just looking at the view. I knew Abigail's would not have a view of the water and luckily we avoided a view of the parking lot - not bad. The room was elegant and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast & evening snacks were good and the staff was excellent. They really try hard to provide any little thing you might request. The location is great. Only a few minutes walk to the harbor area and restaurants but you still have free off-street parking. We would both definitely recommend Abigail's but be aware it's overpriced by about 25% compared to other boutique hotels we've stayed at in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ante up for an Opal Room and ask for one at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    50
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
460
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
munich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in room 1A which was very small (sink is in the main room) but had a comfortable bed, a small chair and a table. The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly and they try to accommodate your needs in any way possible. The breakfast was excellent, especially the home-made granola.
WIthin 10 minutes of slowly walking you are in the city center, the hotel gave us great recommendations for restaurants and if you do walk along the harbor, I recommend catching a little aqua bus back to the city as it is a real treat.
All in all, a recommendable hotel for your stay in Victoria.

Room Tip: maybe try to get a room other than 1A, where you have the sink in the bathroom, aka, more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Carolinbeck,

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other prospective travelers and are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We take considerable pride in our property and service delivery and are grateful to receive high marks from you in many aspects of your stay.

Room 1A which you booked is one of four identical entry-level rooms in our Amethyst (Standard) room category and as detailed on our website and booking engine, while very beautiful, are only 185 square feet in size and have a pedestal sink within the room. Our room offerings and respective pricing cater to a range of travelers, some of which value larger rooms at higher cost and some of which place greater emphasis on our breakfasts, amenities and common spaces while opting for smaller rooms at lesser cost. We have four different room categories among eight different room configurations or styles. Our categories are: Standard, Deluxe, Superior and Premiere, with room sizes ranging from 185 square feet to 350 square feet.

We are sorry to read that your room experience did not meet your expectations. Sadly we do not always have absolute control of the descriptions of our product on various external booking sources and the best source of information on our rooms is always directly at the property level, either through our website and online booking engine or through our 1-800 telephone line. On our website you will find accurate and detailed room descriptions as well as honest photography that should help when determining which of our rooms best suit your needs.

Safe travels are we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in future travels to Victoria.

Warm regards,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place replicates the old B & B's with it's conscientious staff, good breakfast and being made to feel valued as a client. It seems so many places have cut out their being special by burnout or the economy. Here everyone from the front desk to the breakfast staff to the cleaning staff are friendly and efficient. The afternoon snack is beyond expectations and they do an excellent job of working with gluten intolerence and allergies. When comparing another facility you should consider the free parking, wifi, breakfast, cocktail hour (5 to 7) into your thoughts. Here you are not ignored or felt like you are asking to much.

Room Tip: If you like fireplaces or tubs they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whole experience was beyond perfect! Room was perfect. With the most comfortable bed, fireplace and little extras like home baked cookies. Staff were excellent while being very courteous but not over- bearing. One small criticism - breakfast was strange and you could order toasted barn with yogurt - and a sine of bacon and potatoes? We had some fun !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found Abigail's on TripAdvisor actually and the hotel exceeded our expectations. They have an amazing three course breakfast, evening cocktail hour with excellent cheeses and other tasty bits, free parking, free wifi, wonderful library with excellent reading, movies, and games, and the most incredible bathtub/shower combo in room 2D. The staff could not have been more helpful, making reservations, checking in to see how we were doing, and just being very friendly. We love Canada! While Abigail's is in a great location to walking many places, it is somewhat squeezed between a road and a slightly drab neighborhood. But no matter - bucolic scenes aren't far away and when you're inside the hotel, you could be anywhere in the English countryside.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the quiet cul de sac in front and with one of their amazing tub/showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Ruby King room, service, gourmet breakfasts and evening appetizers were beyond any expectation. The proximity to all attractions while not being in the middle of the "tourist zone" is perfect. Chef Matt is a brilliant gourmet and all taste pairings, spice, textures seem to be considered in planning daily breakfast menus. We will not only be back, but compare all other hotel stays to this trip!

Room Tip: The Ruby King room has the most amazingly comfortable bed I've ever seen in a hotel, and the rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel within walking distance to the main shopping precinct and waterfront. The decor is superb and the staff could not have been more helpful. We loved the breakfast and the 5 pm finger food and hot apple cider. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#18 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.