We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
munich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in room 1A which was very small (sink is in the main room) but had a comfortable bed, a small chair and a table. The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly and they try to accommodate your needs in any way possible. The breakfast was excellent, especially the home-made granola.
WIthin 10 minutes of slowly walking you are in the city center, the hotel gave us great recommendations for restaurants and if you do walk along the harbor, I recommend catching a little aqua bus back to the city as it is a real treat.
All in all, a recommendable hotel for your stay in Victoria.

Room Tip: maybe try to get a room other than 1A, where you have the sink in the bathroom, aka, more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Carolinbeck,

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other prospective travelers and are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We take considerable pride in our property and service delivery and are grateful to receive high marks from you in many aspects of your stay.

Room 1A which you booked is one of four identical entry-level rooms in our Amethyst (Standard) room category and as detailed on our website and booking engine, while very beautiful, are only 185 square feet in size and have a pedestal sink within the room. Our room offerings and respective pricing cater to a range of travelers, some of which value larger rooms at higher cost and some of which place greater emphasis on our breakfasts, amenities and common spaces while opting for smaller rooms at lesser cost. We have four different room categories among eight different room configurations or styles. Our categories are: Standard, Deluxe, Superior and Premiere, with room sizes ranging from 185 square feet to 350 square feet.

We are sorry to read that your room experience did not meet your expectations. Sadly we do not always have absolute control of the descriptions of our product on various external booking sources and the best source of information on our rooms is always directly at the property level, either through our website and online booking engine or through our 1-800 telephone line. On our website you will find accurate and detailed room descriptions as well as honest photography that should help when determining which of our rooms best suit your needs.

Safe travels are we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in future travels to Victoria.

Warm regards,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    56
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
516
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place replicates the old B & B's with it's conscientious staff, good breakfast and being made to feel valued as a client. It seems so many places have cut out their being special by burnout or the economy. Here everyone from the front desk to the breakfast staff to the cleaning staff are friendly and efficient. The afternoon snack is beyond expectations and they do an excellent job of working with gluten intolerence and allergies. When comparing another facility you should consider the free parking, wifi, breakfast, cocktail hour (5 to 7) into your thoughts. Here you are not ignored or felt like you are asking to much.

Room Tip: If you like fireplaces or tubs they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whole experience was beyond perfect! Room was perfect. With the most comfortable bed, fireplace and little extras like home baked cookies. Staff were excellent while being very courteous but not over- bearing. One small criticism - breakfast was strange and you could order toasted barn with yogurt - and a sine of bacon and potatoes? We had some fun !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found Abigail's on TripAdvisor actually and the hotel exceeded our expectations. They have an amazing three course breakfast, evening cocktail hour with excellent cheeses and other tasty bits, free parking, free wifi, wonderful library with excellent reading, movies, and games, and the most incredible bathtub/shower combo in room 2D. The staff could not have been more helpful, making reservations, checking in to see how we were doing, and just being very friendly. We love Canada! While Abigail's is in a great location to walking many places, it is somewhat squeezed between a road and a slightly drab neighborhood. But no matter - bucolic scenes aren't far away and when you're inside the hotel, you could be anywhere in the English countryside.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the quiet cul de sac in front and with one of their amazing tub/showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Ruby King room, service, gourmet breakfasts and evening appetizers were beyond any expectation. The proximity to all attractions while not being in the middle of the "tourist zone" is perfect. Chef Matt is a brilliant gourmet and all taste pairings, spice, textures seem to be considered in planning daily breakfast menus. We will not only be back, but compare all other hotel stays to this trip!

Room Tip: The Ruby King room has the most amazingly comfortable bed I've ever seen in a hotel, and the rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel within walking distance to the main shopping precinct and waterfront. The decor is superb and the staff could not have been more helpful. We loved the breakfast and the 5 pm finger food and hot apple cider. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am finding this one a bit hard to review. It is certainly attractive, lovely surrounds beautiful decor if a bit twee. Service was good staff are lovely and attentive. It is romantic in the tradition of a Victorian novel eg fireplace, ruffles etc but as a heritage property it has some problems too. We were in the opal room, and for the first night it was lovely and quiet and I was only woken up by the lovely smell of bacon cooking. The second night was different the room next door was occupied and the occupant I felt sorry for, as he obviously had some problems as we could hear every time he went to the washroom. Imagine being a newly wed!! There were some lovely touches fresh cookies in the room, afternoon snacks, soup and hot apple cider. Breakfast menu was creative, but very rich and I like a simple breakfast. The cook was obliging and cooked to our request.

Room Tip: Choose one which has no common walls if that is possible, on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for choosing Abigail’s Hotel for your recent trip to Victoria, we appreciate your business and would also like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on this site.

We are sorry to read that you had some mixed feelings in regards to your stay. If you would like to discuss your experience further I would very much like to hear from you and can be reached at Nick@abigailshotel.com. Specifically I am interested to know which exact room you were in as we do not actually have any rooms that share a common wall between the bathroom and bedroom of neighbouring guest rooms. You also make mention of our breakfast menu being rich, yet say we tailored a breakfast to your request; which is confusing. Our daily-changing breakfast menu always consists of three options: a light breakfast, sweet breakfast and savory breakfast and we always accept, within reason, individually customized orders.

We appreciate your patronage and your balanced review which also gives us top marks for service, location and cleanliness. Should you wish to give us the pleasure of having you back please feel free to contact me directly at any time to arrange a future visit.

Safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 58 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#16 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#9 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.