We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abigail's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Abigail's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off 3 or more nights
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place replicates the old B & B's with it's conscientious staff, good breakfast and being made to feel valued as a client. It seems so many places have cut out their being special by burnout or the economy. Here everyone from the front desk to the breakfast staff to the cleaning staff are friendly and efficient. The afternoon snack is beyond expectations and they do an excellent job of working with gluten intolerence and allergies. When comparing another facility you should consider the free parking, wifi, breakfast, cocktail hour (5 to 7) into your thoughts. Here you are not ignored or felt like you are asking to much.

Room Tip: If you like fireplaces or tubs they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    40
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
355
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whole experience was beyond perfect! Room was perfect. With the most comfortable bed, fireplace and little extras like home baked cookies. Staff were excellent while being very courteous but not over- bearing. One small criticism - breakfast was strange and you could order toasted barn with yogurt - and a sine of bacon and potatoes? We had some fun !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found Abigail's on TripAdvisor actually and the hotel exceeded our expectations. They have an amazing three course breakfast, evening cocktail hour with excellent cheeses and other tasty bits, free parking, free wifi, wonderful library with excellent reading, movies, and games, and the most incredible bathtub/shower combo in room 2D. The staff could not have been more helpful, making reservations, checking in to see how we were doing, and just being very friendly. We love Canada! While Abigail's is in a great location to walking many places, it is somewhat squeezed between a road and a slightly drab neighborhood. But no matter - bucolic scenes aren't far away and when you're inside the hotel, you could be anywhere in the English countryside.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the quiet cul de sac in front and with one of their amazing tub/showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Ruby King room, service, gourmet breakfasts and evening appetizers were beyond any expectation. The proximity to all attractions while not being in the middle of the "tourist zone" is perfect. Chef Matt is a brilliant gourmet and all taste pairings, spice, textures seem to be considered in planning daily breakfast menus. We will not only be back, but compare all other hotel stays to this trip!

Room Tip: The Ruby King room has the most amazingly comfortable bed I've ever seen in a hotel, and the rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel within walking distance to the main shopping precinct and waterfront. The decor is superb and the staff could not have been more helpful. We loved the breakfast and the 5 pm finger food and hot apple cider. Just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am finding this one a bit hard to review. It is certainly attractive, lovely surrounds beautiful decor if a bit twee. Service was good staff are lovely and attentive. It is romantic in the tradition of a Victorian novel eg fireplace, ruffles etc but as a heritage property it has some problems too. We were in the opal room, and for the first night it was lovely and quiet and I was only woken up by the lovely smell of bacon cooking. The second night was different the room next door was occupied and the occupant I felt sorry for, as he obviously had some problems as we could hear every time he went to the washroom. Imagine being a newly wed!! There were some lovely touches fresh cookies in the room, afternoon snacks, soup and hot apple cider. Breakfast menu was creative, but very rich and I like a simple breakfast. The cook was obliging and cooked to our request.

Room Tip: Choose one which has no common walls if that is possible, on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsaklas, General Manager at Abigail's Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for choosing Abigail’s Hotel for your recent trip to Victoria, we appreciate your business and would also like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on this site.

We are sorry to read that you had some mixed feelings in regards to your stay. If you would like to discuss your experience further I would very much like to hear from you and can be reached at Nick@abigailshotel.com. Specifically I am interested to know which exact room you were in as we do not actually have any rooms that share a common wall between the bathroom and bedroom of neighbouring guest rooms. You also make mention of our breakfast menu being rich, yet say we tailored a breakfast to your request; which is confusing. Our daily-changing breakfast menu always consists of three options: a light breakfast, sweet breakfast and savory breakfast and we always accept, within reason, individually customized orders.

We appreciate your patronage and your balanced review which also gives us top marks for service, location and cleanliness. Should you wish to give us the pleasure of having you back please feel free to contact me directly at any time to arrange a future visit.

Safe travels,

Nick Saklas
General Manager
Abigail’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights and loved every minute! The staff was terrific, always there to meet any need. They gave great advice on things to do in the area and setup reservations as needed. Breakfast was excellent, and the evening snacks were great, enough to be our meal after a heavy lunch or afternoon tea (yes, do this too somewhere!). Each morning we woke to the smell of breakfast being made for some earlier risers. There was always apple cider, coffee, and tea available with many great flavors to choose from. The fire place was a hit with us too - I like the "real" log version they have that you lite with a match. Getting there, I thought the Garmin was lost as the street looked residential, but nope, it was right at the end of a dead end so that the hotel is actually on the main road with parking access in the back. It is a short walk to all the downtown attractions from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria
Address: 906 McClure St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abigail's Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in romantic downtown Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's Hotel is an adult oriented boutique bed-and-breakfast hotel that offers a distinctive and charming experience. Abigail’s is an intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's heritage Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. We are known internationally for our cozy ambiance, dynamic three course gourmet breakfasts and personalized attention to details. Ideally situated for romantic getaways, uninterrupted business travel, or an exciting Victoria outdoor weekend, Abigail's has something for everyone and is in close proximity to all the best that Victoria has to offer, located just three blocks from the downtown inner harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.