We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Pacific to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location and a very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Arriving late we got a good rate and were shown to a large room on the 2nd floor. Everything was fine, beds were comfortable and bathroom was lovely. Staff helpful. Great location 5 mins walk to harbour and centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    347
    120
    26
    16
See reviews for
265
426
43
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great rate with a MasterCard one day free option for ou 7 day stay. Family with two adults and two children (8 & 6 yrs old). Suite with harbour view was good and the location is excellent right next to the Inner Harbour. Kids enjoyed feeding the ducks with Joe. The big, big let down was room service and general dining facilities, poor staff with limited English as waiters, and an aburd cost of U$100,00 for a in-room breakfast with each item (Croissant, muffins etc.) charged separately at an absurd rate. The main restaurant had very limited options and they had closed down their top end restaurant. Overall for the rate we obtained and as a family option I would recommend this hotel, but I think there are better options in Victoria for couples or business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmoryHaines, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying at the Hotel Grand Pacific. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your room and that your children enjoyed feeding the ducks.

I am surprised to hear that you found the options for dining limited as we have a very large selection of items.

I would like to highlight that we do offer a variety of dining options in the Hotel for breakfast; the Pacific Restaurant offers a breakfast buffet which is the largest and most extensive option at $19.50 per person, along with a selection of a la carte options ranging in price from $9 for lighter fare to a $13 - $16 range for full breakfasts. Additionally, we have our Courtyard Cafe on the Concourse level which offers breakfast sandwiches, pastries, oatmeal, egg dishes and parfaits for guests who are on the go or who prefer a less formal dining option. The average price of these items is $6.50. The Courtyard Cafe also offers lunch items, the most popular being our selection of Panini’s at $8.50 and Asian Rice Bowls at 7.50. The same culinary team who produce the meals in the Pacific Restaurant also prepare the offerings in the Courtyard Café. We have children menus in both that are quite inexpensive.

We regularly complete comparisons between our menus and pricing and those of the hotels and restaurants surrounding us and have found that we are offering more choice than most and charging less than some of the well-known local restaurants on particular items!

There are many other options available in Victoria for dining and if you choose not to have breakfast with us. Please let us know next time and we will be happy to outline some of them for you.

As a hotel that has built its reputation on service I am sorry that you felt that the prices were excessive. I hope I have made clear the many inexpensive dining options at the Hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope that we see you again.


Regards,
Emory Haines
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June. We had 2 rooms and a Suite overlooking the inner harbour. The hotel has excellent facilities, was spotless and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant as we arrived late on the Friday night and the food was superb! The hotel is in a terrific location, just leave the car and walk everywhere. I would highly recommend The Hotel Grand Pacific.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is as Classic as the Empress without all the Hype. It's on the harbor with the Legislator Building next door and a short walk to the Royal BC Museum. The nice part is the lobby is not full of tourists wandering around for High Tea.
Our room faced the harbor with a great view from the balcony but far enough away from the harbor so as not to be a nuisance Starbucks coffee in the room with a refrigerator and bottled water with turn down service. The excellent staff is friendly and efficient.
The Breakfast buffet was not the extravaganza that some would expect but the food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

When I made our reservation at this hotel, I specified I did not want a room near the tour busses and garbage trucks. That is exactly the type of room we were booked into. We had a very, very early awakening as a result. When I took this up with the management, Scott, the Manager of Guest Services, graciously upgraded us to a corner suite with a lovely harbor view. He seemed to really care that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

The rooms and the public spaces were well appointed and immaculate. We ate in the dining room quite late on the night of our arrival, and the food was very good.
All in all, I would stay here again even without the upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I travel a great deal and find my stays at the Grand Pacific are something to look forward to. I rely on the friendly staff and excellent facilities to make my stay enjoyable. The fitness facility is better than the one I use at home and it is convenient to use morning or evening. Whether I eat at the hotel's restaurant or coffee shop the food is always good. I've taken my family on business trips and they agree their stays at the Grand Pacific are like a mini vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but the views are great out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Within easy walking distance of Victoria Clipper terminal (Even with luggage) and right next door to the beautiful Parliament Building the hotel is perfectly located for all of the harbour area of Victoria. The Black Ball Ferry building is directly opposite the hotel for regular services to Port Angeles, Washington State.

On leaving the hotel and turning right the bus depot for the service to Vancouver is about 300 yards along the road.

We had a Pacific View room at the front of the hotel and all the harbour activities could be watched from our balcony including the constant take of and landings from the seaplane terminal opposite.

Room Tip: Choose a Pacific View room for views over the harbour from the balcony where you can sit out and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate your senses - breathe invigorating sea air from your private balcony, pamper your dining pleasure by indulging in cuisine prepared with fresh local ingredients in The Pacific restaurant, Courtyard Cafe, Pacific Lounge; renew your energy in our health and leisure facilities; and experience genuine intuitive service delivered by our professional staff. We are here to make your stay memorable and personalized. Customize your mini-bar, pamper your pet, and partake in yoga and fitness classes in our Victoria Athletic Club. Facing the Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, Recent Conde Nast Travelers Choice award recipient, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.