We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Really Care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Pacific to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gas Card
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
eugene
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They Really Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

When I made our reservation at this hotel, I specified I did not want a room near the tour busses and garbage trucks. That is exactly the type of room we were booked into. We had a very, very early awakening as a result. When I took this up with the management, Scott, the Manager of Guest Services, graciously upgraded us to a corner suite with a lovely harbor view. He seemed to really care that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

The rooms and the public spaces were well appointed and immaculate. We ate in the dining room quite late on the night of our arrival, and the food was very good.
All in all, I would stay here again even without the upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    363
    129
    27
    16
See reviews for
276
449
44
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I travel a great deal and find my stays at the Grand Pacific are something to look forward to. I rely on the friendly staff and excellent facilities to make my stay enjoyable. The fitness facility is better than the one I use at home and it is convenient to use morning or evening. Whether I eat at the hotel's restaurant or coffee shop the food is always good. I've taken my family on business trips and they agree their stays at the Grand Pacific are like a mini vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but the views are great out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Within easy walking distance of Victoria Clipper terminal (Even with luggage) and right next door to the beautiful Parliament Building the hotel is perfectly located for all of the harbour area of Victoria. The Black Ball Ferry building is directly opposite the hotel for regular services to Port Angeles, Washington State.

On leaving the hotel and turning right the bus depot for the service to Vancouver is about 300 yards along the road.

We had a Pacific View room at the front of the hotel and all the harbour activities could be watched from our balcony including the constant take of and landings from the seaplane terminal opposite.

Room Tip: Choose a Pacific View room for views over the harbour from the balcony where you can sit out and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel every thing was first class. The location is perfect overlooking the harbour and and next to the Parliament building you can walk to all the shops and restaurants. Only regret wish we could have stayed longer.

Jim Mc

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a very good property in a perfect location to explore beautiful Victoria. The Harbour was at our doorstep; Parliament was right next door; The Empress is a five minute walk as is the Victoria Clipper. Twenty minutes to the left is Fisherman's Wharf and twenty to the right is the heart of the Harbour activity.
Not having reliable internet was a real inconvenience. Posted letters explained timed upgrades but they never seemed accurate. We would
return only if this issue was resolved. (As a matter of fact I was kicked off line as I was writing this review at 5am.) A few hours w/o wi/fi is ok......several days is a real
downer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistent internet service during your recent stay with us. Regrettably, we had unforseen challenges with our wireless upgrade that caused intermittent service interruptions. I do hope my colleagues informed you that both the internet service in our public areas and business centre was operational throughout this period?

This upgrade is now complete and our wireless internet is consistent and faster than ever.

Thank you for your feedback and your patronage.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I rate this property at a five because of excellent service, comfort of the bed and work space, cleanliness, and location, being within walking distance to all of downtown Victoria. However, the view of the bay was limited. It was interesting and enjoyable, given that it included a fair amount of downtown and inner, inner harbor. But disappointing in that one did not get the sweep of the greater bay that other properties offer. The small patio, outdoor space was very nice. i might try for a view of the broader bay on my next trip to Victoria, but overall, the experience here was excellent. I add that our work conference was held at this property, and the food was wonderful, the accommodations for the conference were excellent. I also took a guided hike and that was an amazing experience. See my review of Rainforest Tours. Pick up and drop off at the hotel made this hike very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay, perhaps the broadest view possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The facility was a perfect location for sightseeing, shopping and restraurants. The staff were all helpfull but Mr. McMullen went beyound required in arranging our transportation back to Vancouver. His suggestion was not only less expensive but much easier than what we originally had planned on our own. He called and cofirmed the details not just relying on the internet for the internet special we were obtaining. The price seemed to good to be true. I would recommend this hotel and would select again. Beautiful and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a horbour facing room.....the view is priceless from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate your senses - breathe invigorating sea air from your private balcony, pamper your dining pleasure by indulging in cuisine prepared with fresh local ingredients in The Pacific restaurant, Courtyard Cafe, Pacific Lounge; renew your energy in our health and leisure facilities; and experience genuine intuitive service delivered by our professional staff. We are here to make your stay memorable and personalized. Customize your mini-bar, pamper your pet, and partake in yoga and fitness classes in our Victoria Athletic Club. Facing the Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, Recent Conde Nast Travelers Choice award recipient, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.