We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne hotel on beer budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Champagne hotel on beer budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel looks out directly at the harbour, is an easy walk anywhere around the city centre of Victoria and is simply the best of bargains. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the staff are terrific, the pool and spa are a bonus, the restaurants terrific. And best of all the prices are very attractive. Hard to believe really. The design is attractive and the circular driveway imposing and inviting. Don't stay here if you're not interested in watching the comings and goings of float planes, ferries, small craft, people strolling, and horse drawn carriages passing by daily.

Room Tip: Waterfront view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    313
    104
    25
    11
See reviews for
223
357
42
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this property a couple of times at the end of September having been directed there by Hotwire on a very good rate. It's location next door to the US ferry and Clipper terminals is handy and it's a shortish walk into the shopping and commercial area. We had been told that the rooms in the west wing were slightly newer but having stayed in both wings, there is little to choose between them. The rooms are a bit dated although clean and functional. The best feature is the athletic club within the property which has a 25 meter lap pool, squash courts, yoga and pilates. I also had a spa treatment which was good. In the past I have stayed at the Delta and the room decor is much nicer (having been refurbished last year) but at twice the price of the Grand Pacific and a smaller pool I would happily return to the Grand Pacific.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great hotel, clean rooms and a super staff

would go back every time we visit Victoria

every one was treated like Kings and Queens.

If I fill in any more information no one would visit

200 characters is a little too much

Room Tip: close to everything, awesome view from the 17th floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a corner suite which had two balconies and a harbor view. It was stunning! The room was very large, clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping service was excellent! The room was well worth the money and we will stay here again. Beautiful hotel!!

Room Tip: 6th floor Corner Suite which has 2 balconies and is very roomy. There are several windows which make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Its been a awhile since I stayed here, but I love to visit it every time I am in Victoria. The property is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious and I love the down filled comforters. Roomy shower with excellent water pressure, fragrant amenities (love the shampoo) and the whole guest room was spotless. Fair sized balcony with a view of the ferry terminal across the street and the inner harbor. Excellent location to walk to the Empress, the Inner Harbor, and all the other shops. And the food - what a culinary masterpiece!!!

Room Tip: Get a view of the harbor, you wont regret the piddly difference in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed our room on the eight floor. Watched cruise ships docking to the west, and the Scenic Parliament buildings are just out to the east. Our room was airy with high ceilings and was just fine for our two nights.
We discovered we had no corkscrew and the front desk provided one with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the past 7 years when travelling on business.
Rooms: decor is a bit tired but consistently clean and rooms meet my needs. Wifi in rooms much better than it used to be.
Amenities: best pool area/hot tub/sauna/steam room that I have found in the city. Nice to have all these options. On-site eateries are convenient but pricey. You are better of checking out the great variety of other choices the city offers.
Location: doesn't get any better. The harbour views are stunning but even if you get a residential view, the property is in a great location.
Service: hit and miss. I am now used to rooms usually not being ready until later in the day and just work around it. The valet and concierge are always friendly and helpful. Front desk totally varies. They have a few great, friendly, customer-oriented staff but there a a couple who seem rather disinterested at times. However, I have never had any problems with billing, reservations, etc.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate your senses - breathe invigorating sea air from your private balcony, pamper your dining pleasure by indulging in cuisine prepared with fresh local ingredients in The Pacific restaurants, Courtyard Cafe, Pacific Lounge, and 24-hour room service; renew your energy in our health and leisure facilities; and experience genuine intuitive service delivered by our professional staff. We are here to make your stay memorable and personalized. Customize your mini-bar, pamper your pet, and partake in yoga and fitness classes in our Victoria Athletic Club. Facing the Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, Recent Conde Nast Travelers Choice award recipient, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.