We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Pacific to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I reviewed this hotel on Trip Advisor before going to Victoria having never been to this area nor knowing anyone who could advise me. I found the Grand Pacific to be perfect for myself and my wife while we were in town. Its location to all the downtown area is great, short walks to restaurants etc (or lovely food within the hotel to choose from). We arrived in Victoria by taking the Pacific Coach option from Vancouver (the coach picked us up at the Vancouver hotel, took us on the BC Ferries Ferry and then drove us from Swartz Bay to their Victoria downtown depot)...this depot was a short walk (with suitcases on wheels) to the Grand Pacific Hotel. We left Victoria to go via Victoria Clipper Ferries to Seattle..This is also a short (even shorter) walk from the hotel. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the harbour (Id book the harbour view room for sure...the price was very reasonable)...we were there in early July 2013....Would stay there again for sure if we were lucky enough to revisit this beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: I would absolutely pay for the harbour view room. The cost seemed very reasonable to me after having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your "perfect" review. I'm happy to hear that our previous guests' reviews and experiences were influential in assisting your decision to stay with us. I know your review certainly will as well. Your tip is absolutely perfect, the Harbour View rooms here are spectacular, and not to be missed.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    314
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
225
358
42
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hi, this is not an expensive hotel, but could still do with a refresh!
We had the Victoria Suite.
The carpet, decor and bathrooms are 2 stars. Our Shower didn't spray right and ended up soaking the floor through the shabby shower curtain.
The beds are pretty good.
The buffet breakfast ok, nothing special but very attentive and friendly staff.

We used the laundry service, and my husbands t-shirt came back completely shrunken. Instead of the Manager offering the waive the laundry fee, my husband went through hoops to get it resolved. The Manager initially offered a discount of $14 from the $60 laundry fee for our trouble and a ruined t-shirt. Was a shame we had to push to be compensated. We finally had $40 off the laundry bill, but it didn't need to be that difficult ( and wouldn't have been in a better hotel).

Really, a cheap hotel and you will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at end of our 10 day Vancouver Island vacation. Great facility located in a great location walking distance to inner harbour. Motivated staff strive to male your stay comfortable and relaxed. Dubious policy of charging $30 per night for wear and tear on cots must mean every third user must completely trash them. Cost seems high considering other hotels supply cots at no charge. Eventually the $60 charge was reversed after repeated complaints and only after it was pointed out that one employee stated there would be no charge. If that hadn't happened charge probably would have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our location on Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour. It is truly one of the best located hotels in the city.

I am sorry that you were displeased with our cot fees. Our room rates are valid for single or double occupancy which is not always the case in some hotels. I am sure you are aware that cots have additional costs attached to them and that is the reason for the fee. Finally, please be assured that we are competitive with other luxury hotels in Victoria and elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Reid James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed her on the night of July1 - Canada Day. We had a harbor view room which had great views of the fireworks and of course, the harbor. I can't imagine many other hotel rooms in the city having a better view at the prices here. Rooms are immaculate. The décor is not in the latest style, but it was much less dated than I expected from the pictures on the hotel website and here. Service was friendly. No problem getting a pack-and-play crib for our infant daughter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Pacific at the end of June. Excellent location and walking distance to almost everything. Hotel staff were excellent, especially the restaurant staff. Rooms were clean and were kept clean. Excellent gym and pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Here is the checklist:
- Good value YES
- Clean rooms YES
- Great location YES (right on the harbor and within walking distance to old Victoria
- Great staff YES - even the chambermaids were happy
- Helpful Concierge YES - all recommendations were excellent

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perfectly located opposite the harbour make a great location for visiting Victoria. The rooms are large and luxuriously appointed. It is worth the extra for a harbour view.

We felt the breakfast was no where near as good as other similar hotels we have stayed at being only adequate in our opinion. We would stay again.

The bell staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate your senses - breathe invigorating sea air from your private balcony, pamper your dining pleasure by indulging in cuisine prepared with fresh local ingredients in The Pacific restaurants, Courtyard Cafe, Pacific Lounge, and 24-hour room service; renew your energy in our health and leisure facilities; and experience genuine intuitive service delivered by our professional staff. We are here to make your stay memorable and personalized. Customize your mini-bar, pamper your pet, and partake in yoga and fitness classes in our Victoria Athletic Club. Facing the Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, Recent Conde Nast Travelers Choice award recipient, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.