We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Pacific to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I reviewed this hotel on Trip Advisor before going to Victoria having never been to this area nor knowing anyone who could advise me. I found the Grand Pacific to be perfect for myself and my wife while we were in town. Its location to all the downtown area is great, short walks to restaurants etc (or lovely food within the hotel to choose from). We arrived in Victoria by taking the Pacific Coach option from Vancouver (the coach picked us up at the Vancouver hotel, took us on the BC Ferries Ferry and then drove us from Swartz Bay to their Victoria downtown depot)...this depot was a short walk (with suitcases on wheels) to the Grand Pacific Hotel. We left Victoria to go via Victoria Clipper Ferries to Seattle..This is also a short (even shorter) walk from the hotel. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the harbour (Id book the harbour view room for sure...the price was very reasonable)...we were there in early July 2013....Would stay there again for sure if we were lucky enough to revisit this beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: I would absolutely pay for the harbour view room. The cost seemed very reasonable to me after having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your "perfect" review. I'm happy to hear that our previous guests' reviews and experiences were influential in assisting your decision to stay with us. I know your review certainly will as well. Your tip is absolutely perfect, the Harbour View rooms here are spectacular, and not to be missed.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

James Fry
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hi, this is not an expensive hotel, but could still do with a refresh!
We had the Victoria Suite.
The carpet, decor and bathrooms are 2 stars. Our Shower didn't spray right and ended up soaking the floor through the shabby shower curtain.
The beds are pretty good.
The buffet breakfast ok, nothing special but very attentive and friendly staff.

We used the laundry service, and my husbands t-shirt came back completely shrunken. Instead of the Manager offering the waive the laundry fee, my husband went through hoops to get it resolved. The Manager initially offered a discount of $14 from the $60 laundry fee for our trouble and a ruined t-shirt. Was a shame we had to push to be compensated. We finally had $40 off the laundry bill, but it didn't need to be that difficult ( and wouldn't have been in a better hotel).

Really, a cheap hotel and you will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at end of our 10 day Vancouver Island vacation. Great facility located in a great location walking distance to inner harbour. Motivated staff strive to male your stay comfortable and relaxed. Dubious policy of charging $30 per night for wear and tear on cots must mean every third user must completely trash them. Cost seems high considering other hotels supply cots at no charge. Eventually the $60 charge was reversed after repeated complaints and only after it was pointed out that one employee stated there would be no charge. If that hadn't happened charge probably would have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketman1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our location on Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour. It is truly one of the best located hotels in the city.

I am sorry that you were displeased with our cot fees. Our room rates are valid for single or double occupancy which is not always the case in some hotels. I am sure you are aware that cots have additional costs attached to them and that is the reason for the fee. Finally, please be assured that we are competitive with other luxury hotels in Victoria and elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Reid James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed her on the night of July1 - Canada Day. We had a harbor view room which had great views of the fireworks and of course, the harbor. I can't imagine many other hotel rooms in the city having a better view at the prices here. Rooms are immaculate. The décor is not in the latest style, but it was much less dated than I expected from the pictures on the hotel website and here. Service was friendly. No problem getting a pack-and-play crib for our infant daughter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadifor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Pacific at the end of June. Excellent location and walking distance to almost everything. Hotel staff were excellent, especially the restaurant staff. Rooms were clean and were kept clean. Excellent gym and pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSportsDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Here is the checklist:
- Good value YES
- Clean rooms YES
- Great location YES (right on the harbor and within walking distance to old Victoria
- Great staff YES - even the chambermaids were happy
- Helpful Concierge YES - all recommendations were excellent

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJoseMikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtead
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perfectly located opposite the harbour make a great location for visiting Victoria. The rooms are large and luxuriously appointed. It is worth the extra for a harbour view.

We felt the breakfast was no where near as good as other similar hotels we have stayed at being only adequate in our opinion. We would stay again.

The bell staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Fairmont Empress
#18 of 57 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 57 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 57 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 57 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 57 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Victoria's Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, recently voted World's Best, Top 500 places to stay by Travel + Leisure Magazine, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing