We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Pacific

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Pacific to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bed and Breakfast Special
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I booked the Hotel Grand Pacific as part of a two-night travel package with the Victoria Clipper. It is a short walk from the terminal and the location is perfect for Victoria sightseeing. We were able to walk everywhere in Victoria and to catch a tour bus from the hotel for a visit to Buchart Gardens. The hotel is quite nice and calm. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and had a great view overlooking the harbor area, including the Empress Hotel, at which I also considered staying. However, after visiting the Empress, I was glad I chose the Grand Pacific. Mainly, this is because I did not find the Empress as opulent as I expected it to be, and I enjoyed sitting out on the balcony of our room at the Grand Pacific. There is a cafe at the hotel for a morning latte, and the lounge was nice for a nightcap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    383
    135
    31
    16
See reviews for
297
479
47
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

For the same price as the Empress we got a much newer, bigger room. Great value when you get the clipper package.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Next door to the Parliament...Our king size bedroom was overlooking the harbour and partial downtown. High quality bed linens and accomodations. Only problem was due to the structure of the building ( an L shape) the rooms across can look right into your room,on your bed, in many cases. We were all the way up on 7th...can't imagine being any lower. You also have no privacy on the balcony......but it's still nice to have one! Staff is a little snooty.

Room Tip: High floor away from center where building turns...if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. It is outstanding in so many ways which includes: superb rooms, excellent restaurant, customer service was outstanding, gym is the very best including a phenominal pool. It is centrally located for easy access to the downtown area, British Museum and IMAX, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are particulary fantastic with excellent views of the Empress, Harbor, and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Grand Pacific. The hotel is next to the Parliament building and the Best Western.

I was expecting an older hotel, but it seems fairly new. I don't know how old it is. The lobby is nice and the hotel staff were polite, but not as friendly as some other Canadian hotels.

Our room was on the third floor looking back, and we found out that the big tour buses park there. Constant noise and the smell of diesel fume prevented us from opening the balcony sliding door and enjoying the fresh air. The king bed was comfortable and the room size was decent. Not sure if our room was recently renovated. You may want to avoid lower floor rooms facing back. The parking isn't too bad, and is located under the hotel. Easy to get in and out of.

VIctoria is fairly compact so it is easy to walk around. I saw numerous other hotels, all pretty close to each other. I don't think you have to worry about any hotel in Victoria being too far away from the harbor.

Overall, a very good stay, perhaps not exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great location on the harbor with harbor views a few steps from down town and ferries to seattle

Room Tip: harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We pays extra for a harbor view which isn't that great. The room smells like cigarettes and the tv controller doesn't work. The rooms have double, not queen, beds.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrosesk, General Manager at Hotel Grand Pacific, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your harbour view room. Our two bedded guestrooms in the west wing feature queen beds.

Believe it or not, despite a $250 penalty, guests occasionally smoke in our rooms. We do our best to prevent this and when it occurs, we do our best to freshen them up.

I apologize for the weak battery in the TV remote control. I assume you contacted the Front Desk for assistance?

Please contact me directly, should you choose to give us another opportunity, and I will make sure that you enjoy your stay.

Kind regards,

Reid James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Pacific

Address: 463 Belleville Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuriate your senses - breathe invigorating sea air from your private balcony, pamper your dining pleasure by indulging in cuisine prepared with fresh local ingredients in The Pacific restaurant, Courtyard Cafe, Pacific Lounge; renew your energy in our health and leisure facilities; and experience genuine intuitive service delivered by our professional staff. We are here to make your stay memorable and personalized. Customize your mini-bar, pamper your pet, and partake in yoga and fitness classes in our Victoria Athletic Club. Facing the Inner Harbour and adjacent to the British Columbia Legislature, the Hotel Grand Pacific, Recent Conde Nast Travelers Choice award recipient, is 2 blocks from Victoria's downtown restaurant and shopping scene, 2 blocks from the Victoria Conference Centre and 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, a working harbour surrounded by an array of food kiosks, unique shops and ecotour adventures. The Victoria of today is urban, outdoorsy, culinary and hip. Experience Victoria today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.