We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Harbour Road, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 0G1, Canada (Victoria West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stayton
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good hotel with great staff ( especially the bellman, who helped us with shuttles and great city advice ).
We have stayed here several times, but this is the first with our grandkids.
The primary reason for this review is how the hotel staff handled an emergency evacuation at 5:00 am. The alarm went off in our room ( 340) with an announcement to evacuate the building at once. We gathed the kids and trooped down the stairs with everyone else. The night manager soon let us know the fire department was checking everything out and apologized for our discomfort. After several minutes the night manager told all of us it was safe to go back to our rooms.
By 7:00 am we had a letter from the hotel manager explaining the situation and apologizing for our inconvience.
This was a situation that could happen to any hotel ( I've experienced two others, previously ) but this hotel seperated itself by the professional and compassionate way they handled everything. The night manage was in control and made us all feel safe.

Room Tip: Great view from bayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaVictoria, Manager at Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Delta Ocean Pointe and for your excellent review of our property on your most recent stay with us. - We are pleased you were able to bring the grandkids along this time! Your comments regarding our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be passed on to the team.

We would like to apologize again for the fire alarm that occurred during your stay, and your kind comments will be passed to the night manager and team who were working that evening. We pride ourselves on the seriousness of a fire alarm and our guests safety is always our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Warm regards,
Preston Rissley
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    254
    64
    17
    7
See reviews for
221
363
33
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for the last two nights of our 16 day trip to Canada. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and was planned to be "the icing on the cake" of our holiday.

It got off to a very bad start when we were shown to a room (419) which had a brick wall almost immediately outside the window which we could not see beyond. Having seen all the pictures of the hotel this was certainly not what we were expecting and was totally unaccceptable. I phoned down to reception immediately to complain. They offered us another room (548) which was in a much nicer position. The person who showed us to the new room said that it had been mentioned to him before that room 419 should be used only as a store room as it was not fit for hotel guests. In that case why was it deemed fit for us!

Unfortunately the saga did not end there. On our last night in room 548 we were awoken at 3:00 am in the morning by very inconsiderate noisy neighbours. Our room had an adjoining door to theirs and we might as well have been in the same room as the sound proofing was non existent. I phoned down to reception at 4:00 am and the party next door was broken up. We had a very broken nights sleep and were very tired for our long journey back to England. I notice that another guest had complained on Tripadvisor in March about the lack of soundproofing and the Manager had promised to fix the problem but obviously it has not been resolved.

This hotel does not seem to be taking customer feedback into consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaVictoria, Director of Operations at Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I was very sorry to hear that your experience wasn't up to our usual standards.
We wish we would have known it was your anniversary, as we would have certainly done everything possible to ensure you a fantastic stay. In regards to your noise concerns, I'm sorry for the disturbance caused by neighbours, please be assured we do take customer feedback very seriously and appreciate any feedback that can make us better at what we do. I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future so that we may provide you with the a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,
Mark Jeanes
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautiful bc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for a last minute trip to Victoria. Got a deal on the room, so the price was good, although we didn't have an harbour view. We were out and about though, so saw lots of it then.

The rooms are super nice, very clean and comfortable. I liked the mini fridge, however they put a bunch of items for sale in it (pop, beer, juice) so there's not much room for your own items. Big thumbs up too for the TV setup. They provide HDMI and Video inputs so you can plug in your own media and watch it on the TV, so we were able to watch a movie off Netflix one night. Finally, a hotel that gets it, and lets you choose your own entertainment options. Wifi is free as well.

Staff are all very friendly and super attentive.

Hotel is very close to all downtown amenities, just cross the bridge and wander. They also offer a shuttle for hotel guests as well.

Only downsides were the cost for parking ($16/day) and their policy to pre-authorize your credit card for the whole amount of the stay plus $100, then they bill the actual amount once you check out. We were told this was hotel policy, nothing could be done about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in an upgraded room. The harbor view was magnificent. The room was very comfortable and updated. We had the breakfast and happy hour included which was tastefully done. Just a short walk across the bridge to many shops and eateries which was great. Entire staff was friendly and efficient, from front desk to housekeeping to shuttle van drivers and concierge. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night so that we could have a front row seat to view the Canada Day fireworks. The room itself was a little bit small but there were five of us in one room with a cot so that is probably why. Our view was directly overlooking the inner harbour and even with all the boats and float planes coming and going it was quiet. I heard more from the people going down the hallway than outside. The room was a bit dusty which I found a little strange as the rest of the room looked clean. But the clock and phone both had a layer of dust on it. The bathroom was a nice size and they even had a robe to use. We did have to call down to housekeeping to get more glasses as there were only two glasses for the five of us as well as only one teeny bottle of shampoo and conditoner. The front desk staff and especially the valet guy (I wish I'd gotten his name) were super friendly. The location is great. Its a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel to the inner harbour and directly across the bridge, about 5 minutes away, are a ton of restaurants for every taste. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was ok. Not the best but ok although service was pretty slow. Overall its a nice hotel with lots of ammenities, friendly staff and a fantastic location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaVictoria, Manager at Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your front row seat for the Canada Day fireworks! Please know that I have addressed your concerns with our Team. It is feedback like yours that allows us to continuously improve. I hope to welcome you and your family back again soon!!!

Warm Regards,

Celyne McDonald
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Delta, although Victoria was not what i expected it to be. The staff was great and the rooms are very modern and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaVictoria, Manager at Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, TheRemus,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Delta Ocean Pointe! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms, and your comments about our staff will be passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Preston Rissley
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were booked here for two nights on short notice. The facility was clean, comfortable and impressive. The staff went above and beyond in every way, from the valet to the maids. Our group had three rooms, and upgraded accommodations. The courtesy breakfast/happy hour facility was clean and well-tended. The staff was friendly and out-going, offering many welcome tips and suggestions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Harbour Road, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 0G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Victoria West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Spectacular Setting Where People Work & Play in Perfect Harmony Situated on Victoria's breathtaking Inner Harbour, the newly renovated Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort and Spa is just steps from downtown shopping, restaurants and attractions. This beautiful hotel offers a modern waterfront setting for unsurpassed guest service, exceptional dining, and full resort amenities, including an award-winning Spa, complimentary health club, indoor swimming pool and tennis/racquet courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort And Spa
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Hotel Victoria
Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort Spa
Victoria Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.