We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Architecture in Victoria, B.C.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Columbia Legislature Building

British Columbia Legislature Building
501 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X4, Canada (James Bay)
250-387-3046
Website
Improve this listing
Visit British Columbia Legislature Building like an insider
Private Tour
$706*
and up
Private Tour: 3-Day Wine-Tasting Tour Through...
Ranked #5 of 150 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, the Parliament Buildings are open to the public year-round. Visitors are welcome to join one of the regularly scheduled guided tours, stroll through the buildings on their own self-guided tour, or even have a bite to eat in the Legislative Dining Room.Free guided tours are available Monday through Friday throughout the year, and seven days a week during the summer.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic Architecture in Victoria, B.C.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

First trip to Victoria, B.C., and I must say I was impressed overall . The legislature (parliament) building was a fascinating experience...and the tour was free. You will have the choice of a group tour or you can wander the building alone, if that is your thing (though I believe this is weekdays only). At night, the front of the building is lit up with hundreds of lights. It is a very nice sight to see. It is a magnificent building, inside and out, and a must for fans of buildings from the late 1800s...and it is free!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    317
    59
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised: good attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I took the free tour, and was very pleasantly surprised. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and the Victorian era actors did a great job of presenting their historical stories, and staying in character. I've done similar tours in other parliament buildings in Canada and Europe, and thought this one was quite well done. Good fun, but not an absolute essential "must do" unless you are particularly interested in BC's political history. I was also glad to see that students are being employed to lead the tours and play the historical characters.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Tour in Victoria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I couldn't believe it was FREE.
I would have paid for that tour.
The actor who portrayed Francis Rattenbury did an AMAZING job!
Honestly found it to be the *highlight* of our Victoria vacation.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“outstanding architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Take a look at some of the neatest architecture around....learn the history of the building before you visit it. Nice eating place there too, not expensive.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The tours are free and seem to be every hour. The tour guide was very pleasant. Some characters appear in period costume too. Considering it was a free tour its definitely worth doing and its only 30 mins in duration so easily done. In our trip around Victoria today it was one of the highlights. It was interesting to see the British influences from the past been a Brit too...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Columbia Legislature Building also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to British Columbia Legislature Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Columbia Legislature Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.