We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Empress

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Empress to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersGold level
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Fairmont Empress for our anniversary. It was our second stay there. We had a nice room overlooking the harbour. The hotel is older but quite well kept up. We usually stay at a Fairmont if possible because we love the service. Checking in was easy and pleasant. The staff was helpful. We had a beautiful view to watch Canada day from! We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    866
    458
    223
    105
    42
See reviews for
362
693
69
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location, and beautiful grounds, but in need of a face lift. Room was small, bathroom was tiny, beds were very comfortable, no AC in room, relied on windows. Furniture was worn and scratched, and needed some modernization. Hallways, and common areas were very dated, some areas of the hotel smelled like moth balls. Pretty much paying for the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. We had the opportunity to upgrade to gold status, which was wonderful. Our own concierge, lovely sitting area, with drinks, snacks and buffet breakfast ( not one of those ordinary continental breakfasts either!) The room was elegant and the bathroom spa like. The room had a fabulous view. And, a must.....tea at the Empress! What an enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Room 362, corner room, large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent one night in July. This is a lovely old hotel with a perfect location to the inner harbor. The public rooms are lovely with all of the old carvings and wall coverings. But, the rooms and bath rooms are small. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning. But, this would not have been a problem so much if one could open the windows. We were on the 5th floor and could only open the window 3 inches. I recommend you enjoy the public rooms and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have spent 2 or 3 nights in June (my birthday) at the Empress every year for about 8 years. The minute we step onto the grounds we feel relaxed and at ease with the knowledge that our room is going to be exceptional and, that the Bengal Lounge and the Empress Room are going to be superb. We always take advantage of all the amenities available to us when we visit and we have never been disappointed. The staff is wonderful, from the first face to greet us to the last. The Hotel is wonderfully located in the center of everything, if you need anything, all you need do is ask. Rooms are clean and very quiet and the beds are the best! We look forward to this little get-away every year. Thank you Empress Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Seattle,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that we have had the opportunity to welcome you back for your birthday for the past 8 years and that our staff have treated you so well over the years. I will personally be sharing your comments so we may celebrate the positive efforts of all of our colleagues. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.

Kind regards,
Don Fennerty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited this place in May. Grounds were spectacular. Hotel was very clean. A very formal hotel. Bathrooms very small. NO air conditioning and it was pretty warm that day. Could open windows but too much noise from streets. Afternoon tea was fun but you're paying for the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Best location in the city from which to explore the harbourfront, shops on Government St., the Royal BC Museum and the BC Legislature. Friendly and caring service by all the staff we met, beautifully appointed hotel rooms and a wonderful Fairmont Gold Lounge with a million dollar view of Victoria's Inner Harbour. We had such
a great time exploring Victoria and having The Empress as our base made this just the perfect getaway weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#11 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Empress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.