We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Empress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Empress to your Saves list
The Fairmont Empress
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we were very impressed. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely atmosphere and in a very good location. Our room was very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and professional. We had some documents that needed urgent printing and scanning and the staff were very accommodating. We had a fantastic dinner at a nearby restaurant which was recommended by one of the staff. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    538
    256
    116
    55
See reviews for
429
836
81
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ladysmith, bc, canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently attended the BCAHA Conference and had four wonderful nights at the Fairmont Empress. The rooms were lovely and having booked six months in advance and prepaying a month in advance I had requested that we all be placed on the same floor - centrally located near the elevator and I was told that there would be no problem as I had given them plenty of notice.. On arrival we found that we were scattered around the hotel on different floors and a quick word with the front desk staff and it was sorted. Although we were all placed on the same floor we were not located near the elevator and it was quite a jaunt to our rooms. We forgave them quickly as our rooms were lovely and the staff could not have been more attentive. We had 9 rooms for 4 nights. I must say that the food was very nice at the restaurants however we found food provided with the conference subpar. Although we had 334 at the conference from all over BC the same comments were made. The food was cold and disappointing. I guess that is what you get when you have to feed that many people at once. Breakfast our last morning was undercooked bacon and very cold scrambled eggs. Breakfast at the dining room had been awesome. Crab cakes with peached eggs.......
I must admit that the staff was second to none - always courteous and helpful with the right mix of humour

Room Tip: ask for something near the elevator. this is a very large hotel and if you are in the lower numbere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Ladysmith,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the mix up with your rooms but very pleased to hear that our front desk staff was able to assist you. Thank you for sharing your comments on your food and beverage experience during the BCAHA Conference. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage who will be following up with their teams. Our goal is to provide excellent food and beverage and I can see that we have fallen short of accomplishing that goal. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What can you say that hasn't already been said about a hotel like the Empress? A hotel in the grand tradition of fine European hotels with history, location and architecture going for it! Service was spectacular and everyone was truly committed to making our stay a memorable one. I didn't realize that there was really a hotel within the hotel? If you go with the gold level you have your own check-in, concierge and lounge on the second level. The room's view of the harbor was brilliant! Location was super for everything, including a little shopping with plenty of stores within a few easily walked blocks. Walking felt very safe no matter what the time of day. Coming from our home province where the winter seems like it will never end, this was a much needed break. The Butchart gardens were in bloom and a must visit even if your girlfriend makes you ride on the carousel, (actually it was fun). The Butterfly museum was also great with colors and activity you usually only see in the jungles of countries much further South.

Room Tip: Take the time to Join the Fairmont President's Club! It's free and as you stay the benefits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the much anticipated opportunity to stay at this lovely hotel for a conference and extended my stay with the special rate offered to attendees of the conference. My first room was a small room and was quirky but so cute and comfy. The bed was so comfortable with the duvet and lots of pillows!

I moved to a large King bed Harbour view room. The ceiling was high with beams, the window looked out to the harbour, and once again the bed was so comfortable!

We went down to the Bengal lounge for a later evening snack and a glass of wine. The service and food were incredible. The lounge is so lovely with all the historic appointments. I love the classic beauty of the hotel.

The food for the conference was very good and the access to the conference center facilities was so easy and convenient. It was great.

Room Tip: I had requested a room on a higher floor with a good view. Both of my rooms were on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fairmont's Gold rooms, service and ocean-view, intimate lounge/breakfast and snacks room, rival those of the most outstanding boutique hotel. Service is impeccable with attention to detail. The dedicated staff are friendly and attentive.... always a smile!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent the weekend in Victoria with my wife as sort of a mini-babymoon and we had a deluxe harbour -facing room for the weekend. The room itself was full of the authentic charm promised by the exterior of the hotel. Our room had old volumes of classic books lined up along the dresser as well as a cozy nook overlooking the water to settle in for a read. Victoria is very compact and the Empress is an excellent "basecamp" to explore the unique shops and dining options within a 10 minute radius.
The staff were excellent and the doorman greeted by name each time I came and left. I took advantage of their easy-check-in procedure and my keys were waiting for me at the door when I arrived so I didn't even have to visit the front desk.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe. I stayed in a Fairmont (entry level) room last time, and I'd say it was may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontEmpress1908, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Vancouver,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you took advantage of our email check-in option. It certainly is a great way for our guests to check in and avoid the possible line ups at the front desk. It is great to read all of your wonderful comments. I will ensure they are shared with our team. I hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria for your baby-moon. Best wishes from all of us on his or her arrival. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Empress when your travels bring you to Victoria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Context: a two night getaway in Victoria
Pros: Historical building in a perfect downtown Victoria location
Great views of the Victoria Waterfront
The Empress Dining Room - Yum
Excellent staff who bend over backwards to help
Excellent old-world hotel
Easy to get around the hotel and never have to wait for the elevators!
Easy and fast valet parking service

I'm often critical of the Fairmont Hotel chain because, in the past, some of their hotels that I have stayed at have not lived up to their reputations. The Fairmont Empress, on the other hand, is beyond excellent. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Splurge for a waterfront facing room on a high floor. You'll see the sparkling lights of the BC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#10 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Empress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.